Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Apple Empanadas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Empanadas

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 31, 2008

      I also did not have the same results as some. When I went to fry the dough all it did was fall apart. As far as the filling- delicious. We ended up eating the filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      I wish I would have had the same results as the rest of the other cooks. I am not sure if I did something wrong, I was looking forward to this enjoying these empanads. :0(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      I used puff pastry to make these, using 3 layers and butter in between. I left out the raisins and used finely chopped walnuts in place of them in the filling. They were very much enjoyed as a happy ending to our Mexican themed dinner. I can see us making these very often, as my girls and I loved them! Thank you Bahill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      I've been hanging on to this recipe for quite some time, and I finally got around to making them. I made a few of changes due to family requests: I used half whole wheat flour and half white flour, added some cinnamon to the dough, omitted the raisins, and baked them instead of frying them. I still want to try them as written, but they were great even with the "healthifying" changes. I baked them on parchment lined baking sheets at 350F for about 25 minutes (until they were slightly browned). Because the ratio of whole wheat to white flour made them a bit drier, I served them warm with some warmed cajeta as a dip (definitely making them more nutritionally naughty, but who can argue with a little warm cajeta lol?). I'll definitely be making these again, because I can only imagine how good they must be with all white flour and fried! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      The Apple Filling is great! I used Empanada Dough (tagged in a game) for the pastry and it couldn't have been better! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      I love this filling! I used a diffrent dough for the recipe Empanada Dough and chose to bake them to make them a bit healthier. Very good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

      have never had empinadas sweet before and this was really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2006

      I think that the Apple Empanadas are very good. I made them for my family, and they loved them. I also mad them for a school project. My classmates loved them too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Empanadas

    Serving Size: 1 (89 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 307.2
     
    Calories from Fat 159
    52%
    Total Fat 17.7 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 17.6 mg
    5%
    Sodium 200.8 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 17.1 g
    68%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes