13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was great. It truly was like the Arthur Treacher's I remember from the 70's. One comment I would like to make though is that even though I used 3 pounds of fish I had enough batter left over to coat another 10 pounds. Next time I will use one cup of soada and one cup of bisquick. Lovely fish though and it went particularly well with the Chip Shop Curry Sauce.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElizabethEstes February 19, 2002

Everyone needs to know how GOOD this fish is!!! They cook up so nice and crisp. I used fresh halibut filets. Thanks for this recipe!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz January 21, 2002

Wow.. this was delicious. It's just the taste I've been longing for. I used to LOVE Arthur Treacher's fish... yumm... with the malt vinegar or tartar sauce!... This batter really puffed up when it hit the fryer. I used cod fish fillets and they were really good. I always have canned seltzer in the fridge. Did you know that if you substitute seltzer for some of the liquid in your pancakes or biscuits it makes them lighter and fluffier? Try it.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge June 02, 2002

This was great! I cut the recipe in half and used cod filets. Just terrific! Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. DJ June 29, 2002

I really liked this recipe. I got it too thick when I scaled it down and I had to thin it down quite a bit. I still think it was too thick or my crappie wasn't a hearty enough fish for a thick batter. The taste, however, was excellent. Will try it with catfish and see how that turns out.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rorodee May 13, 2002

We don't remember ever having Arthur Treacher's fish. But DH was longing for a good fish fry. With all the great reviews we thought we'd give this a try. It cooked up so nice and crisp to a beautiful golden color. But DD and DH only gave it a 3 in the flavor department. However, we used the extra batter on green tomatoes and mushrooms and we liked them better than the fish. I guess for fish fry we should just stick to the beer battered fish we grew up on. Thanks for some delicious veggies though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom April 17, 2013

Really tasty. I used flounder fillets. I had 2 pounds of fish so I used 1/2 of the other ingredients except for the onion powder and seasoning salt. I used all of those. I had a lot of batter left over.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Pinch of This ... March 28, 2010

Excellent recipe. I made this for 26 people tonight.....10 pounds of fish....doubled the recipe and it was excellent. Great reviews!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 March 19, 2010

Very good recipe. Need to make sure you use a "thick" fish cut like cod or haddock. Will be figuring out what else I can coat with this. Left over batter is good fried too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber S. January 18, 2009

We liked this coating very much. Will make again soon. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn August 17, 2008
Arthur Treacher's Fish