Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Awesome Egg Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Awesome Egg Rolls

    Average Rating:

    75 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 75

    Sort by:

    • on November 14, 2001

      These were great, and very easy. I used shrimp and added a little onion and ginger. You were correct about the need for almost "over seasoning". I thought I had ruined the dish but cooked them anyway and they were great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2001

      Easy and yummy. Didn't have ground beef, so used a little cut up cooked pork, but concluded they would have been just as good without. Did end up putting some sesame oil, soy sauce and ground ginger in the mix for more flavor. Who would have thought that making your own egg rolls could be so easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2001

      Can I come over to your house?? Man, everything you've submitted so far is STELLAR!!! Where did you learn to cook? These egg rolls have great color, texture, taste, and they are easy (albeit a bit messy) to make! You need lots of counter space for this one, but it's worth it! Try it with teryaki wings!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2001

      These were super and real easy to make. Will make them again sometime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2001

      The Egg Rolls, or as my family calls them..Spring Rolls are made in very much the same way. But...I place the cabbage in a pot of salted, boiling water and let simmer for about 5 minutes. Drain and let cool. Once cool, squeeze as much water out of the cabbage as you can with your hands. This softens the cabbage and makes the egg rolls much easier to eat. I also add thinly sliced shittaki mushrooms to the ground beef mixture, along with approximately 1 tsp. salt. Also I've found using white pepper rather than black gives more of a "Chinese flavor". For the dipping sauce, try adding Chinese Hot Mustard to soy sauce. Hmmmmm good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2001

      These are good. I also add the La Choy veggies and a little ginger. Mmmmmm Mmmmmmm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      I have always felt intimidated about making egg rolls because I thought it would be difficult. I was WRONG. These were easy and tasted pretty good. Of couse nothing is a substitute for authentice Chinese egg rolls, but these at home goodies stack up pretty well. The only changes that I made were adding ground ginger powder along with the salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Also, for health reasons, I opted to bake these at 425 degrees for 15ish minutes after I sprayed them with Pam. My preference would NOT be Grey Poupon Dijon. It was gross. I did like soy sauce and honey mustard as dipping sauces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      I'm currently in egg roll heaven. We wanted chinese night without having to go out, so I scoured Zaar for some recipes. The perfect egg roll has always eluded me, I almost gave up and bought some frozen ones, and I found this. I was so impressed with these! The trick to overseasoning was right...I used some jarred minced garlic AND powder on the ground beef, then dumped it over a bag of coleslaw mix (carrots, red and white cabbage). I microwaved it for 5 minutes to soften it all, and let cool for about 20 minutes as I was preparing other things. I thought I had used plenty of seasoning, then tasted and added even more, along with the tiniest pinch of chinese 5 spice, since we like the flavor. My 5 year old helped me with the egg wash, and we fried in peanut oil. Fantastic, and the leftovers froze well, and reheated in te oven beautifully. And it was EASY! Thanks so much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      These are soooo good. They're better than even the best restaraunt eggrolls I've ever had. I think it's because they're so fresh. I've done these with gd. beef and pork sausage. We've played with the recipe and added cilantro, fresh ginger, cucumber, etc. but I still love the basic cabbage/carrot mixture best. Thanks Bonnie for a fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

      Thank you. I'm a Chicago transplant, and I miss the food so much. There was a Chinatown hole in the wall named Guey Yee that I grew up on. Have never found an egg roll to compare, but this put me on the right track. Added 2T peanut butter to the filling mixture, and whoop, there it is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      These were GREAT! I added some chopped celery and chopped onion and added some sesame seed oil to give more flavor. I also used about 1 Tbs. of minced garlic along with the garlic powder when browning the ground beef. We enjoyed these dipped in My Secret Shrimp Sauce Recipe Thanks for sharing the recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      I came across this recipe recently and gave them a try tonight and found them wonderful, Only change I made was use a pound of ground pork since that is what I had on hand and while meat was browning I added a few dashes of Worchestershire sauce.along with some finely chopped green onion. Also I found along with my famikly that LACHOY Sweet & Sour sauce as the dipping sauce, we found it was much better than Dijon mustard. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      i made this for the first time tonight and they turned out wonderfully. i added curry powder and substituted fresh crushed garlic. i'll definately be using this recipe again. 5 stars.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      My son, who does not like restaurant egg rolls, loved these! I used chicken thighs instead of ground beef and 'overspiced' the mixture as suggested. Then I mixed all the ingredients together while the chicken was still hot and let it sit. This sufficiently softened the cabbage and carrots. Easy and delicious! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      If there was a better egg roll .....NOT this was as the name says AWESOME ...... SPOT ON hands down ..... slap your mother ....ooops dont tell her i said that better than u can buy miss Bonnie Trynor my hats off to you Martha Steward move over ................although i did use comlemans dry mustard mix with a bit water to make the true chinese mustard (very spice ) but easy its the comes in the yellow can (tin) says in big bold letters COLEMANS dry mustard and a tbsp/per tbsp equal amounts but bonnie ty ty ty for this egg roll i wont buy from the restaurant's again cause yours far surpassed theirs

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2001

    • on August 21, 2013

      These are yummy! I found out the hard way that you have to fry them as you roll them. I tried rolling all of mine and then frying them in batches (I doubled the recipe for a party). The rolls got soggy and fell apart on me, but that was my error, the recipe is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2012

      It was much better than a previous egg roll recipe I tried, but I really didn't like having no guide on how much salt & garlic to use. If I could flavor things well on my own, I wouldn't need recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      These were very easy to make and very flavorful but I wish it had a little something else to them just not sure what. My family ate them just fine even my 5 year old. I dipped mine in honey mustard which was good. I'm sure I'll make them again at some point! Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      I think this could use a lot more spices....I even added ginger and Chinese 5 Spice, and I still didn't get the egg-roll I was hoping for. My huband loved it though! I also bought sweet and sour dipping sauce, and szchesuan sauce to have some more variety.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Vegetable Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Awesome Egg Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (70 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 118.8
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    55%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 49.4 mg
    16%
    Sodium 60.8 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 9.3 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cabbage

    egg roll wraps

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites