Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Baja Fish Tacos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baja Fish Tacos

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on August 21, 2003

      These are pretty good and a different way to eat fried fish. We all especially liked the cilantro/sour cream sauce! I've prepared this two ways: First just as it's written. I found that if you're not using a deep fryer, the battered fish pieces don't fry as well. All of that batter makes for a really messy skillet! We liked the taste so well though, until I tried something different the second time. Here, I battered, then slightly refloured, and chilled the pieces in the fridge prior to frying. The fish turned out so much better and things weren't as messy. Also, we've used both flour and corn tortillas and like the flour ones better by far for this recipe...personal preference. Sorry this is so long, but we did enjoy it and I will prepare it again. Thanks for submitting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2013

      I would give this five stars if the recipe did not use "taco seasoning" It is so easy to make your own and you can adjust it to your taste. The spices would be chile powder, cumin, oregano, a bit of garlic salt, salt, and top the taco with fresh cilantro. Don't use fresh cilantro in your cooking it will lose its flavor if you cook it more than 5 minutes. If you are using frozen fish, cut it while it is frozen it is easier. It will thaw quickly after cutting. If your fish is greasy, your oil is not hot enough. I cook mine at about 400 to 425 degrees and drain the bites on paper towels. I use a long handle slotted spoon and I gently stir the bites once or twice as they fry. I use a deep fryer or a 4 quart saucepan. Make sure the oil is fresh and hot enough and add your pieces of battered fish. When the fish is floating and golden brown it is ready. We top our fish tacos with pico de gallo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      I used red snapper and only covered the bottom of the pan to fry the fillets. Still, the fish was too greasy even after placing on paper towels. However, everything else was fantastic. I served black bean and corn salsa salad as a side. The only other issue we had was that we couldn't stop eating!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      pretty good! the whole family enjoyed them.t he only thing that went wrong was that my fish was greasy but that was my fault....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      These were delicious! I especially loved the cilantro-lime sour cream sauce. I also made salsa to go with them and shredded some romaine. The only problem I had was the beer batter was really thick so I just added more beer. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      These were excellent! I used the fresh sea bass my husband caught that day. For the batter I used half flour and half tempura mix and seasoned it with the taco seasoning as another reviewer had done. We loved the lime juice and cilantro in the sauce. Everything was superb! I used flour tortillas and added a bit of shredded cheese, which I know does not make it an authentic Baja fish taco, however that's what we prefer. So good we had them 2 nights in a row.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      I used tempura batter mix instead of plain flour and seasoned it with the taco seasoning. I squeezed lime juice on the pieces of whiting fish then dipped them in the batter. I followed the recipe from there and my husband loved them more than i thought he would. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      Thank you for putting up an authentic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      Fish batter is very yummy! Great flavor. I will cut the amount of lime juice in the sauce next time...it was a little too much for my family's taste. I also used crunchy shells as we like those better for fish tacos!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      I did a trial run today for superbowl sunday==delicious,was gonna wait to review but dear,why wait,this is great...!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      I tried this recipe and was very tasty. I too enjoy fish tacos from ensenada. I also tried this recipe with tilapia and found it was just as good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      We LOVE this recipe! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2006

      Loved this !!!! I love catfish so this was the one for us ! I did fry in a skillet w/o any problems and used corn tortillas as that is what we use here in Arizona.I am planning to make these again tonight and am looking forward to having them again ! I will serve with Gus's spanish rice which is my recipie they go very well together .. must be the cilantro lol !Thank you for posting !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2006

      Instead of using tomatoes and cabbage, substitute the tomatoes with a slice or two of avocado, and eat with a jalapeno. Simply great and delicious!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2005

      Good recipe...I grilled the fish instead of frying and heated my corn tortillas in oil on the skillet. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2004

      make sure you use corn tortillas and cabbage... or else it wouldn't be a baja fish taco.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baja Fish Tacos

    Serving Size: 1 (227 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 329.2
     
    Calories from Fat 88
    26%
    Total Fat 9.8 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 51.5 mg
    17%
    Sodium 185.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 17.0 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes