12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

OH WOW!!! In big capital letters, with lots of exclamation points after them! That's how good these are! I can't believe they've been here in the database since July 2001 and have never been reviewed, such a crime! I made these for breakfast yesterday, together with some French toast, and the French toast lay there forgotten while the Dornettes clamored for more banana fritters! I cut the bananas into large round slices, not in half, and added a little nutmeg to the batter. I shallow fried them in butter, and they were heavenly. We had them with various toppings, honey, maple syrup, but chocolate syrup won the popularity award and will now be the official topping for our banana fritters. Evie, these are the best! Thanks so much for posting!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj September 25, 2002

Awesome recipe!! The fritters are crispy on the outside whilst soft and gooey on the inside!! I used slightly overipe bananas because they cook quicker!! But you do go through a bit of oil I only fried two bananas and the level fell by about 1/2 an inch!! But that could also be because I cooked them for longer! But all in all really delicious recipe will definitely be making it again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michellepaul04 January 20, 2015

Easy to make and tastes wonderful. We made 2 recipe amendments: 1. No salt, & 2. We shallow fried the bananas and then turned them over to save oil and making it easier to drain the oil off the cooked fritter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
james_hyams November 29, 2014

These are absolutely wonderful! I did use regular sugar to roll them in instead of caster sugar, which means I may have ended up with more sugar on each fritter. I fried these at about 320 degrees.

The fritter part was so wonderful that I also tried dipping very thin slices of apple in the batter. That was really good too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherHH October 14, 2011

this was amazing! didn't take much time to make and goes wonderful with caramel glazed on top or a la mode style

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hkayem April 16, 2011

Definitely my fave fritter batter ever. Light and fluffy, crisp and not heavy with glug or oil. Delicious treat, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RubberDucky AU July 09, 2009

I just made these and they tasted delicious. I used very firm bananas, thinking that the firmer the better the frying would be, and they turned out fine. I think that I will use a little more riper bananas, as they did have somewhat of bitter aftertaste. I'll try these again with riper bananas and see if that makes a difference. I also had a hard time keeping the batter on the bananas as I fried them. I don't know if omitting the egg white will help the batter to adhere to the bananas, as it was quite fluffy for a frying batter. I will be trying these again and hopefully I won't make any mistakes again! I also ate them with ice cream as suggested and it was awesome together. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LDSMom128 March 02, 2008

excellent and soooo easy, and yummy. Light and the flavour of the banana is not 'drowned' by the batter. A new favourite, thankyou!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janine Smith May 17, 2005

My 12 year old son had to find a recipe for fritters for a school cooking class. So we looked on Zaar (of course) and he chose this one. He and his friend made it in class with no trial run at home and said it was fantastic!!! It must have been really good because nothing came home for me to try, so I have asked him to make some for the family this weekend.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiki-di May 10, 2005
Banana Fritters