Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Banana Fritters Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Fritters

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on September 25, 2002

      OH WOW!!! In big capital letters, with lots of exclamation points after them! That's how good these are! I can't believe they've been here in the database since July 2001 and have never been reviewed, such a crime! I made these for breakfast yesterday, together with some French toast, and the French toast lay there forgotten while the Dornettes clamored for more banana fritters! I cut the bananas into large round slices, not in half, and added a little nutmeg to the batter. I shallow fried them in butter, and they were heavenly. We had them with various toppings, honey, maple syrup, but chocolate syrup won the popularity award and will now be the official topping for our banana fritters. Evie, these are the best! Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2011

      These are absolutely wonderful! I did use regular sugar to roll them in instead of caster sugar, which means I may have ended up with more sugar on each fritter. I fried these at about 320 degrees.

      The fritter part was so wonderful that I also tried dipping very thin slices of apple in the batter. That was really good too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2011

      this was amazing! didn't take much time to make and goes wonderful with caramel glazed on top or a la mode style

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

    • on July 09, 2009

      Definitely my fave fritter batter ever. Light and fluffy, crisp and not heavy with glug or oil. Delicious treat, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      I just made these and they tasted delicious. I used very firm bananas, thinking that the firmer the better the frying would be, and they turned out fine. I think that I will use a little more riper bananas, as they did have somewhat of bitter aftertaste. I'll try these again with riper bananas and see if that makes a difference. I also had a hard time keeping the batter on the bananas as I fried them. I don't know if omitting the egg white will help the batter to adhere to the bananas, as it was quite fluffy for a frying batter. I will be trying these again and hopefully I won't make any mistakes again! I also ate them with ice cream as suggested and it was awesome together. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2005

      excellent and soooo easy, and yummy. Light and the flavour of the banana is not 'drowned' by the batter. A new favourite, thankyou!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2005

      My 12 year old son had to find a recipe for fritters for a school cooking class. So we looked on Zaar (of course) and he chose this one. He and his friend made it in class with no trial run at home and said it was fantastic!!! It must have been really good because nothing came home for me to try, so I have asked him to make some for the family this weekend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2003

      Wonderful!! I added a bit of vanilla and cinnamon and made apple slices as well. Terrific batter, thin and crispy. My men loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2002

      Evie, these were GREAT! Since we have just moved house my hubby couldn't find his old recipe for Banana Fritters, so I told him I'd check the all-knowing Zaar. We were thrilled with the results! The batter was soooo good and with a variety of ice cream flavors, set the fritters off nicely. We'll stick with this recipe from now on, it's was simply delicious. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Fruit Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Fritters

    Serving Size: 1 (317 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 387.9
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    42%
    Total Fat 2.3 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 4.2 mg
    1%
    Sodium 313.3 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 92.7 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 7.0 g
    28%
    Sugars 53.9 g
    215%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites