Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Batter-Fried Shrimp Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Batter-Fried Shrimp

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2009

      These were nice and crispy when first taken out of the fryer, but after sitting for just a bit, the batter lost its crispiness, so by the time we'd fried the last of the shrimp, the first ones were somewhat soggy. Very easy to do though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2003

      Great, light crust! I've tried dozens of recipes for shrimp, usually with heavy flour crust--be sure to use the baking powder--this one is light, quick, easy. It has good flavor (adjust with Tony's, Ball's, etc to taste), try different oils (corn, veg, peanut) for another different taste. We chopped okra & squash ahead, dipped in leftover batter after shrimp finished--quick fried veggies for sides. Only seconds to cook, whole meal ready in a hurry--one fry pan, quick clean up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      Very good. I will reduce the salt next time as shrimp taste salty to me already.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      These were delightful and simple to make! It only took 30 minutes MAX. Rather than seasoned salt I used salt, black pepper, cayenne pepper, onion powder, and garlic powder. I also used the baking soda, as recommended. I had leftover batter, so I fried some asparagus and that was yummy, too! My DH and I put the shrimp on our salad, but they're a great pop-in-the mouth snack, too. Thanks for sharing this with us! :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      This batter was excellent! My family loved it. It was quite light and crisp in texture. I used salt,pepper, and garlic powder as seasoning instead of seasoned salt. I did use the beer and baking powder as suggested. It was very good on onion rings, too. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      My dh would have given this a 5, I would have used a 3, so 4 is the average. He loved it, I found it way to crispy with nothing underneath, no breading or batter of any kind, just a dry crunch that broke into many pieces as you bit into it-very dry and brittle. Not bad tasting, just nothing there. Personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      This was delish! Made exactly as directed. Had a little leftover batter, so I dipped some onion into it...made pretty decent rings too! I rarely ever deep fry, so I'm glad that the once a year that I did, I chose this recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2004

      Good recipe. I didn't realize the batter was going to be so thick! However the finished product was light. I used the baking powder

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2003

      I had a little trouble getting batter to stick to the prawns, next time I will try blotting off some of the moisture on the prawns, first.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Batter-Fried Shrimp

    Serving Size: 1 (181 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 341.8
     
    Calories from Fat 189
    55%
    Total Fat 21.0 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 176.7 mg
    58%
    Sodium 760.9 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 19.3 g
    38%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites