Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Beer Batter for Fish, Shrimp & Onion Rings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beer Batter for Fish, Shrimp & Onion Rings

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2010

      I live in Alaska so we have wonderful fresh Halibut. I made this batter and added some extra seasonings. It was such a hit that there was nothing left and the fillet was a good 5 pounds. They ate this along with the mushrooms, onion rings, broccoli, and fries that we made. I served the items as they were finished to avoid them getting soggy. Everybody enjoyed this because they were real hot as well. The times when I want to eat with them I cook in smaller portions and if it gets eaten I go back and cook more. I hope this helps any one. Good luck and happy eating...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      This has the exact same flavor and texture as Long John Silver's and that's quite a compliment! I even go so far as to drizzle a little of the batter in the oil to make the "crumbs" you can get there. Let the batter sit for 5 or so minutes after making and it thickens up dramatically and adheres to the meat/onions lots better. I lightly dust my onion rings with flour to help it adhere also. We eat deep-fried foods perhaps 3 or 4 times a year. After finding this recipe, it might be difficult to adhere to that. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      EXCELLENT light batter! The only thing I did different was to add 2 tsp of Old Bay seasoning to the batter. *which made the batter better* pun intended! I will always use this batter from now on! Oh yes, and I also dredged my onions and shrimp in flour before the batter so that it would adhere better…worked like a charm! Thanks for a really excellent and easy recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2013

      This was good and simple. Used it on some chicken gizzards. I think I might try it on some oysters or shrimp next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2013

    • on January 09, 2013

      This was a a very tasty batter. Can be used on many different things. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2012

      This is the best batter! Made fried fish and it was exactly what I was looking for! Can't wait to try it on other things!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2012

      Love, love, love this recipe! Hands down best fried food batter recipe I've ever tried. Thanks for a great recipe! My husband and I couldn't be happier! Daughter loves it on chicken tenders too! Great on mushrooms!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      I adore this recipe! I wanted beer battered chicken and I was liking what I was reading about this recipe and how well it holds up and sticks to your food. Spot on! It took a few trial and errors though as to concerning using chicken strips, I found I had to cook slower and lower because the batter fried up so much faster. I did have an issue somewhat with sogginess after frying but I believe it was because I had them covered. I have a lot of plans for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      Great fish batter. The fish turned out moist, The batter completly covered the fillet and was crispy on the outside while being fluffy on the inside.
      I had some leftovers in my bucket today. While not being as good as fresh, the microwave reheated fish was a lot better than most.
      I also used the same batter to make onion rings

      Edit 1-29-11 to add: Used the batter with some oysters and they turned out great. Didn't hold the shape, they puffed up, but the flavor was wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      Delicious!! All we had was whole wheat flour an I added some old bay seasoning. But it was great. Used it on snapper fillets. Served with tater tots & mixed veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      I must have done something wrong with this recipe...! I fried fish, shrimp, cauliflower and onion rings in this batter. They came out very crispy, but within 10 min. when I was ready to serve, everything was soft and greasy. I even kept the already cooked ones in the oven as I made them. The flavor was good, just not crispy like I expected. Will try again and see if I did something wrong. Donna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      Excellent! After reading CassandraD's review I didn't want to run out of batter so I tripled it for 1 1/2 lbs. of cod fillets and one huge onion for onion rings. It made all of that and I had batter left over. Everything was quite tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      I loved the way it stuck to vegetables and fish. I think I'll try various spice additions in the future. I'd like a little zing. This is a perfect basic recipe though. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      I had no idea beer batter was this easy. I didn't have any baking powder so I used 1 tsp of generic baking mix. I thought i heard somewhere that it was an okay substitute and it worked just fine. It was really good. I will use it again. I used it on cod but think it would be just as good on many other things.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      My mom and I found bags of big shrimp on sale. We decided since they were visiting we would have shrimp for supper. Mom wanted a package of beer batter...I said no way!! I doubled this for two bags of shrimp. Made it exactly as wrote. There was a dribble left after I was done deep frying them all. My dad said he hasnt had shrimp this good in years!! My dad is a beef eater for him to comment on shrimp is HUGE!! Mom thought she died and went to heaven....she took my printed copy home with her. This will be used over and over again...we fish every August and we will be taking the deep fryer next year. Thank you Sue L for an excellent batter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      This was excellent kids dont like fish so I had to make chicken first and then the fish I got rave reviews all around. After reading other reviews I coated the meat in flour firts but i dont think that it was nescessary because the batter was so thick that it adhered perfectly, I had ny son making the batter for me and at first I had him make a double batch I was running low so I had to make sure we had enough so i had him make another batch, I had more meat than I thought and he had to make another batch,,,,,, four in all, I cant wait to try this on veggies

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      Outstanding!! At last a Beer Batter that is stand alone for anything deep fried yet can be experimented with. Way to go Sue L. This is a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

    • on May 30, 2009

      Great recipe! I used it for chicken strips and fried mushrooms! I can't wait to use it for onion rings!! Thanks again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beer Batter for Fish, Shrimp & Onion Rings

    Serving Size: 1 (275 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 439.0
     
    Calories from Fat 138
    31%
    Total Fat 15.3 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 148.8 mg
    49%
    Sodium 2067.5 mg
    86%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.2 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 12.3 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites