15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made these last night for New Years! These were so good. I used less beer to make the batter thicker, as well as using Miller Genuine Draft beer. This is definitely a keeper. I will be making these tonight again at DH request.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iron Woman January 01, 2008

Very delicious and crunchy. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aidanb89 October 14, 2012

These are great! Some recipes for Fried Mushrooms, the batter is so thick all you taste is batter - yuck! These came out just right - not to thick, not to thin. Next time, I might use 1 tsp salt, and 1 tsp seasoned salt. Just a personal preference. Great served up with a horseradish sauce, or Bloomin Onion Sauce. Mmmmmm.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth A. August 02, 2009

Really good recipe. I used baby button mushrooms and cooked them about 4 minutes. The batter was perfect and the mushrooms were perfectly cooked. I used 1 pound and halved the recipe. WONDERFUL! Dipped 'em in a little soy sauce and enjoyed! Thanks so much! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wyojess September 23, 2012

Delish! I used Foster's and added a little extra to get the batter to our desired consistency. The batter stayed on the mushrooms very well and came out a beautiful light golden color. Also used this recipe for onion rings and zucchini! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheGrumpyChef July 08, 2011

Sheer Delight! WE tried it with corona and panko and it was killer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kendra6488 January 17, 2011

Very tasty, will make again. Used 1 bottle of Corona Light, rolled in breadcrumbs before frying.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heather_1357 September 19, 2009

Terrific. I have ruined many batches in the past, trying to come near to the fried mushrooms that I used to love from Kennett Square, Pen. The most successful in the past before, was to use a batter for Yorkshire Pudding.Sorry that I forgot to give this 5 stars it really id terrific although I do roll the battered mushrooms in breadcrumbs with shilli flakes and salt added. I then fridge them to set before frying in my deep fat fryer

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mooloolaba Denise July 30, 2008

Made these as an appetizer for my son's bday dinner. I halved the recipe and it was the right consistency. I used Corona Beer and they were delicious. I salted them a little after frying. We had four platefuls with ranch dressing. My grandson wanted more. Oh, I did make one change - I rolled them in Panko breadcrumbs before frying and they were nice and crunchy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mewmew May 04, 2008

This was really easy to make. I used an ale and I think its a little too strong for my taste. Next time I make it I'll use a lighter tasting beer. It came out nice and fluffy. The batter didnt slip off when bitten. I used this on onions, zuchini and mushrooms. It came out really good. I love it. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starslight November 27, 2007
Beer Batter Fried Mushrooms