Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Bennigans Monte Cristo Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bennigans Monte Cristo Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on September 29, 2002

      Boy were these babies good! I really liked making this recipe, and it didn't take very long. We had a nice lunch of these sandwiches and fruit salad. All of the flavors together were so good. Thanks for sharing this keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      Since our local Bennigans recently locked its doors, I was lamenting that I may never enjoy a proper Monte Cristo sandwich until I found this recipe. I just made 3 sandwiches today for my family and they were fabulous. I followed some advice found on another site and prepped the sandwiches last night, wrapped them tighly in plastic wrap (uncut) and stored them in refridge overnight. They stayed together well during cooking without needing toothpicks. The ingredients I used were: Oscar Mayer Deli Fresh Shaved Oven Roasted Turkey Breast Oscar Mayer Deli Fresh Shaved Honey Ham Jewel Brand Swiss Singles Jewel Brand American Singles Jewel Brand Wheat Bread Smucker's Red Raspberry Preserves I've posted a photo of my success with this tasty recipe: http://www.flickr.com/photos/30507067@N07/2856368581/

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      Followed recipe exactly and fried in deep fryer. Tastes amazingly good even without perserves to dip in. Thanks for a wonderful recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      My 3rd time on this recipe...another hit. We all dined elephantly!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      These came out perfect! I used hot pepper cheese in place of the American. I also pre-made the sandwiches, cut them in half, tightly wrapped them in plastic wrap (unbattered) and put them in the fridge for a few hours. This keeps them together while dipping them into the batter, without using toothpicks... In response to the "recipe hint" from Djemcee: your sandwiches only "sucked up grease" because your oil was not hot enough. When your oil is the right temp it will instantly seal the batter and prevent any oil from soaking into the sandwich. An oil thermometer helps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      Oh and I used self-rising flour also because it was on sale..I sense a theme here! Anywhoo..The turkey ham and roasted turkey breast and white bread with strawberry jam made my heart sing a little. nothing says yummy to the tummy like deep fried!! Not something to eat everyday but in moderation deelish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      Oh. My. God. FABULOUS BATTER. Aside from sandwiches, you can also dip OREOS and Ferrero Rocher chocolates and whatever else you have laying around that needs to be batter dipped and fried...seriously, I couldn't help myself! LOL Thanks! When my son finds out about batter fried cheese sandwiches, he will never be the same. I am thanking you in advance for adding an extra couple of pounds to my skinny guy!!!! (he's 4 ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      I left out the middle bread, but the real key isn't that third piece anyways. The batter was delicious, only Monte Cristo I've had better was at Disneyland. Keeper recipe for sure

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      These were really good. Though I had a little difficulty getting the batter to stick where my fingers were. Ended up trying to hold them by the toothpicks while dipping, my injuries will heal. LOL! The left over batter made an excellent funnel cake too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2011

      I simply adore Monte Cristos and this is reminiscent of my all time favorite from a MO restaurant called Cheddar's, and since I'm 5000 miles away, this baby made my day! I used Kings Hawaiian bread (only 2 pieces), but otherwise followed the recipe and it was an easy and wonderful lunch!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      I actually found the batter to be too thin and the resulting breading just didn't have the right texture compared to how I remember the Bennigan's Monte Cristo.

      To remedy this I doubled the dry ingredients, then separated them into 2 different bowls. In one of the bowls I added milk instead of water, but only enough till I got a thicker, more pancake-like batter. Then when it came time to batter the sandiwches (held together with a couple of toothpicks) I dipped them in the wet batter first, then let the excess drip off for a few seconds and tossed them in the dry mix, then quickly into the fryer.

      This method gave me a little crunch to the breading rather than the more french toast like covering.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      This was absolutely wonderful!!! Will make it again and again. I have really missed our local Bennigans. This Monte Cristo Recipe will help to ease the pain of their closing. The batter was unbelievable. I am not an experience fryer, but it turned out perfectly. I plan on using this batter for other things as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      SO GOOD! my b/f loved them and ate them 10:30 at night and again in the morning. Only used two slices of bread for each sandwich

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      Great! I left out the third slice of bread, used exactly 1 1/2 oz each of honey ham and shaved black pepper turkey breast. Cooked for 90 seconds on each side in a heavy cast iron skillet. Perfect! We didn't even need the jam.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      Recipe Hint Enclosed: Super good. I use only the top and bottom slice of bread. Bennigans is a triple decker, but I think adding the middle slice of bread allows it to suck up even more grease. It's sooooo friggin' greasy, but good. Try leaving out the middle bread. You get more meat and cheese (the best part) and a little less grease. We don't have any more Bennigans in So Cal, but it's actually a good thing as I would have a heart condition if they did. Disneyland has some great Monte Cristo's and I think they may be baked or something. They don't taste as greasy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2006

      Accuracy wise this recipe is essentially spot-on....just a few adjustments. To make a true monty cristo EXACTLY as Bennigans does, use 1 1/2 oz (2 med slices) each of honey ham and smoked turkey, a commercial tempura mix (we use sun luck brand), and double-dip each half of the sandwich. be sure to fry each half after cutting, fry for 3 min 10 seconds, turning halfway through, and sprinkle the powdered sugar on RIGHT after taking from the oil. Enjoy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2014

      I love this sandwich! Thank you for this recipe. I use rasberry jam & honey mustard & powdered sugar (just my taste, sweet freak!) I've had Bennigans & Cheddars this is great! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2013

      I tried this recipe this weekend, and it got devoured! I used 2 pieces of cheese each side, and 2 pieces of meat, and then cut the sandwich in half to press the edges, batter and fry.<br/><br/>It. Was. Awesome. Cheesy and tender on the inside, crispy on the outside, with the sweetness from the jam adding just the right amount of contrast. <br/><br/>I then used the batter on chicken tenders and they were awesome too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2013

      FANTASTIC!!! I made this for my family and they loved it. DS didn't want the powdered sugar or some of the preserves, he just ate it plain. We all loved it . thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2013

      The picture does not do this tasty treat justice. My family loved this recipe. It is a bit time consuming, but well worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bennigans Monte Cristo Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (291 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 619.9
     
    Calories from Fat 146
    23%
    Total Fat 16.2 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 8.4 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 96.8 mg
    32%
    Sodium 1365.3 mg
    56%
    Total Carbohydrate 87.6 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 7.4 g
    29%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 29.7 g
    59%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cooked turkey

    cooked ham

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes