Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Better-than-storebought Mozzarella Sticks Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Better-than-storebought Mozzarella Sticks

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on May 07, 2007

      Wow! These were so easy!! Not to mention extremely good. I made one exactly as you posted and the cheese just melted into a blob in the oil, the breading had hole in it. Soooo... I took a piece of the cheese dipped in egg mixture, then in the flour mixture, back in the egg mixture, then into the bread crumb mixture. I placed all of them on a wax paper covered cookie sheet and placed them in the freezer for about 15 minutes. Then I took them out of the freezer and cooked them in the oil for about 30-45 seconds. Then turned out great!! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      these were good. i made them healthier by baking at 375 for 8 minutes instead of frying - omitted the flour/cornstarch layer, and used fiber one cereal as my breadcrumbs. but, these will definitely be made again and again now

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      These should be good. I say should because you have to use regular mozzarella cheese sticks. I used the reduced fat ones and they don't taste right. The breading is fine it is the cheese that didn't work. Use regular cheese sticks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Good. Used Italian breadcrumbs and skipped the extra herbs.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      Followed the instructions to the T. The breading was not thick enough and as a result the melted cheese went everywhere. They tasted very bland compared to store bought or restaurant mozzarella sticks and made me nauseated afterwards.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2013

      Delicious. Loved the way they turned out. Tried other recipes on this site but weren't very tasty. These were real tasty. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2012

      YUMMMMMM!! Tried this recipe as a tester .. was deliciousss! Shame i only had 2 mozzarella sticks .. still craving more! lol i love cheese! thankyou so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      Even 3 out of 4 small picky kids liked these. My husband liked them even better than the restaurants. Great and really easy to do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      DH loved these, said even better than TGI Friday's, which he visits just to eat their mozz sticks! Thanks for posting recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

    • on January 10, 2010

      Perfect in every way, these Mozzarella sticks are everything that they should be!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      Made these and took to a staff party. Everyone loved them. They would have been better hot but I warmed them and they were delicious. Easy to make also. That's always a plus..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      Wow! these were great!! I used light cheese sticks and they were still yummy. My toddler gobbled them up! I think next time I'll make an even bigger batch so I can have some to freeze. Thanks for posting :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      fabulous...mine came out a little messy but better tha frozen by a long shot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      These are so good and easy to make!! These just aren't better than storebought, these are better than restraunt!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      Wow! I made these for a party last night and they were an instant hit! I made about 50 and none were left after about ten minutes! I did as Lacy S. suggested and dipped them twice in egg to fortify the coating, it working beautifully. My hands were a mess, but it was worth it! Thanks for a great one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      awesome. simply awesome. we made them up ahead of time and just fried them when dinner was about to start. make sure the oil isn't TOO hot or they'll burn. ' these were a huge hit. i'll definitely make them again and again. we didn't have marinara sauce or ranch, but we did have seafood sauce, they were great with and without it. if you're thinking about trying them, do it! you'll be so happy you did. they're easy to make and great to eat. way better than any you can buy. we used part skim sticks, they melted fine. no problems.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      These were really good- but I had a hard time with the coating- I had several crack open and leak into the fryer. I think next time I will cut the water down in the egg mixture or dust them in the flour cornstarch mixture before they go into the egg, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2006

      I made this for the 2006 Summer Pick A Chef Contest. I want to say I will not ever buy store bought mozzorella sticks ever again!! The taste of the spices is just the right blend. I love the taste and the texture of these. I want to mention for other peoples benefit. When you cook these, they will darken when taken out of the oil, so becareful of how long you fry them. The second is I only had 4 mozzorella sticks so I used some sliced mozzorella from a block of cheese, and no that will not work. It will not stay formed as the sticks do, its just a blob on the plate. Thank you for sharing this recipe its a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2006

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Better-than-storebought Mozzarella Sticks

    Serving Size: 1 (197 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 521.5
     
    Calories from Fat 166
    31%
    Total Fat 18.4 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 9.9 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 160.1 mg
    53%
    Sodium 937.0 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.4 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    15%
    Protein 31.4 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites