Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Betty's Derby Fried Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Betty's Derby Fried Chicken

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2003

      My family was so pleasantly surprised that I made fried chicken! It came out wonderfully and I even used all gluten-free ingredients, due to dietary restrictions. What made me brave enough to finally try to make homemade fried chicken is that this recipe looked really easy compared to others I've read. It *was* easy. Although my chicken pieces turned out perfectly, I think I need to learn a good method for identifying when the chicken is cooked without cutting into it. And due to diet restrictions, this is the first fried chicken we've had in three years. Thank you! : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2003

      Goodness gracious this is good stuff! I made this for my family and we all freaked out it was soooooo good. Next time, I'm going to try using buttermilk instead of regular milk and see how much difference it makes. It would be hard to imagine it getting any better, but we'll see how it works out. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2003

      Excellent chicken. Though I did let the chicken marinate in buttermilk for about 6 hours, then dipped in flour, redipped in buttermilk and again in flour.The let it sit on rack about 10-15 min. before frying. Omitted the egg. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2003

      Oh! My gosh! This was wonderful. My family all loved this one. I used boneless skinless chicken breast and pounded it out for a little more tenderness. The seasoning was perfect and the color was beautiful. So easy and quick.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      When I first made this recipe back in May of 2008, I used boneless skinless chicken breasts. But I made this again on 10/16/10 using bone-in chicken legs. The amount of seasonings were doubled,but the amount of flour remained at 1 cup.As soon as it was cool enough to eat,I did a "Quality Taste Test". If any of you are planning on making this recipe PLEASE use bone-in chicken. It's makes all the difference :).Thanks again for posting and, " Keep Smiling :)
      OP on May 18th 2008:I made this on 5/18/08 as part of mine and SO's dinner.Except for using boneless skinless chicken breasts, I followed the recipe exactly as written.Since there wasn't instructions on what temperature the chicken should be fried, I fried it on a medium to medium high heat.To me the crust had somewhat of a "doughy tasting texture", but my SO said that was the way his mother made hers. If I do make this again, I'm just going to dip it in buttermilk/egg mixture then flour it, and fry.Thanks for posting and "Keep Smiling :)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      I should have rated this mpnths ago... this was one of my fav chicken dishes while preggo. Great tasty chicken!! Followed recipe exactly as posted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2004

      Very good recipe. I felt it needed a little something though. I will try this again but add some other spices to the mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2004

      Oh, was this ever good! I believe the egg is the key to making fried chicken extra crispy! I also sprinkled a little cayenne on the chicken pieces before breading them because we like our chicken a bit on the spicy side. An outstanding fried chicken recipe, this. So glad to have found it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2004

      Wow!! I LOVE this recipe and it was SO easy! This one is a keeper - Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Betty's Derby Fried Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (299 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 905.9
     
    Calories from Fat 496
    54%
    Total Fat 55.1 g
    84%
    Saturated Fat 16.5 g
    82%
    Cholesterol 316.7 mg
    105%
    Sodium 868.0 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 70.2 g
    140%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes