Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Blooming Onion Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blooming Onion

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 10, 2009

      Great recipe but I want to offer a little suggestion and ask for advice from others who had made this. I made this as written twice but thought the crust was too dark(an unappealing almost burned brown color) at 350 degrees using my Bravetti Platinum Pro deep fryer. So on the third try I changed it to 325 degrees...MUCH better.(same frying time 10 minutes for a very large vidalia onion) Now for the other challenge the recipe did not state how long to par-boil the onion. The first try I did six minutes but flower collapsed. The second try I cut the time in half to 3 minutes but the onion was almost raw and the petals did not coat properly except on the outside. The third try I did 5 minutes which I think is about right EXCEPT the flower collapsed again after coating due to the weight. (everything tasted wonderful but was visually unaesthetic). I THINK the problem might be resolved by NOT cutting the core all the way through to the other side and instead leave the base intact 1/2"- 3/4". Anyone here have a similar experience and would like to share their strategy? One other alteration I made on the third try was reducing the amount of buttermilk from 1 cup to 3/4 cup. It may have been the brand I was using but on the first two attempts I thought the batter was too thin. After I reduced it to 3/4 cup I thought the coating clung much better. Thanks Rita for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2003

      Rita this was absolutely wonderful. We had some friends up and I made this and served with steak and baked potatoe. They were really impressed. Thanks so much. I will need to make more next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2013

      I used to make Bloomin' Onions when my boys were teenagers with huge appetites. They were always a hit....I never boiled the onions. Instead, I soaked them in ice water for a few hours. They 'bloomed' perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2011

      I'm strictly rating the sauce. I will try it again, but with more horseradish. Very nice as is, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      i watched a video how to make a bloomin onion from a chef at the outback, first off it is put in the powdered mixture first, then the wet and only once. also it is a spanish onion not vidalia. and then, you do not boil the onion at all just spread them out, your supposed to cut the wedges a finger length apart. and lastly, dont core the onion untill after it is done cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      Had to comment on this one, just like Outback. I would stick with the 10 minutes vice 12 that I cooked. It came out a little too crispy, but nonetheless awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      I was so looking forward to making a "blooming onion" at home. I followed the directions, boiled the onions so the petals spread, and coated them with milk mixure and flour mixture twice and deep fried them. But they came out with almost all of the coating on the outside and barely any on the inside; not like the ones in the restaurant that are crunchy all through. I also made the dip twice. The first time with creamy horseradish seemed too mild; when I made it again using prepared horseradish it tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      Perfect! I surprised my DH with this last week. We always eat them when we go out..now we can enjoy them at home!! I have a deep fryer and that made this so simple! And boiling the onion really helped! Thanks! I will be snacking on this again! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2005

      This is an awesome recipe. My whole family really enjoys this. So crisp and crunchy. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2005

      Great recipe! We loved it. You gave excellent instructions. This will be in my book from now on. THanks for sharing it Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blooming Onion

    Serving Size: 1 (228 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 316.5
     
    Calories from Fat 111
    35%
    Total Fat 12.4 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 56.5 mg
    18%
    Sodium 1495.5 mg
    62%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.5 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 11.2 g
    44%
    Protein 8.3 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Old Bay Seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites