Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Buttermilk Fried Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Fried Chicken

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on March 04, 2004

      This is the BEST fried chicken I've ever made!!! Crispy, but not greasy, with a fabulous gravy that blew me away!! I couldn't be more pleased with this recipe, Derf...thank you so much...this truly is fantastic !! Teresa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      Wow! This is amazing! I put a tbsp of Adobe in the flour mixture for some zing. A keeper for sure!!! Thank you for sharing!!! xo LA :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      This was my first attempt at fried chicken in any form, and I was satisfied with the results. Very easy recipe, although I think I need a little practice. not a big fan of the cornmeal because I thought it was a little too tough rather than crunchy, but that could have been me cooking it too long. I loved how the buttermilk coated the chicken, way better than using an egg mixture. The gravy... mmm....I"m sorry, I was drooling. ;-) Definitely going to make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      On 8/21/07 I made this recipe for a Cook-A-Thon for our dear Derf.Not sure what else I can say about this wonderful recipe that hasn't already been said,but here it goes.The chicken by itself was very good,but to me it was the gravy that made this recipe.I've never thought to use chicken broth and buttermilk to make gravy,and all can say is "WOW" it really does make a big differance.Next time I need chicken gravy,this is what I'm going to use. Thanks for posting,this will be made again."Keep Smiling:)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      all i can say is wow it will be a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2005

      The lightly fried chicken alongside brown rice, covered with a great tasting gravy provided me with needed comfort food tonight. Thank you, Derf! I think this recipe would work very well with fish too (except for the gravy--fish gravy wouldn't be very comforting). I added a couple of dashes of paprika, but otherwise kept to the recipe. An added bonus was that it was easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2004

      This gravy is delicious!!! I made this tonight for dinner, and we loved it. I cannot wait to have leftovers tomorrow. I doubled the recipe and made no substitutions. I poured the gravy over both the chicken and mashed potatoes. This would be great served with biscuits. This is a recipe that I will crave.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Fried Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (270 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 349.4
     
    Calories from Fat 146
    42%
    Total Fat 16.3 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 68.2 mg
    22%
    Sodium 653.7 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 31.2 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites