Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Buttermilk Southern Fried Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Southern Fried Chicken

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on August 31, 2001

      Aha! Someone stole my recipe! I've been using something close (the recipe, not the method) to this for some time now and it is my favorite. A couple of twists on the theme... 1. I use a packet of powdered chicken bouillon in my flour mix for more savory taste....especially if you are using the frozen chicken parts. 2. For one flavor variation of mine, I add about a tsp or less of curry powder to the flour mix...not enough for an East Indian taste, but as a nice spice. 3. Another flavor is to crush just a small amount (a big pinch) of anis (anisette) in a mortar&pestle and add that to the flour. This flavor is very popular here in the Caribbean...in fact I think this is one of the secrets of KFCs recipe. Sounds weird, but try it! 4. And, of course, MORE salt and black pepper! -Bill Vieques, PR

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2001

      I added cayenne and increased the spiceyness but otherwise followed the recipe and it was great. Can't believe I made fried chicken (first time its been edible)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2002

      I've been using this same recipe for years and if you are going to take the time to make fried chicken, this is the recipe to use! Absolutely delicious! No doubt about it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2011

      Breading on this chicken was delicious. I finished mine in the oven on 350 for about 35-40 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      This is a great fried chicken recipe. I made this last night for dinner and we enjoyed it very much. I was a bit leary about "crowding" the pieces after browning but it turned out great. And it makes fantastic gravy after frying. I will use this again adn again, thank you so much for sharing this with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Super juicy and delicious! I used boneless skinless chicken breasts and fried them until golden brown. Placed them in the oven for about thirty minutes and was amazed and how great they were. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      We loved this chicken! The only change I made was to add Tony Chachere's Creole seasoning to the flour mix. It gave it a little kick and worked nicely with the other ingredients. We will have this again soon, as everyone ate it like there was only one piece left! Thanks KC!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2003

      This is delicious Fried Chicken, I usually don't make fried chicken,But Dh was wanting fried chicken. So I decided to try your Recipe. It is great, fairly easy to make and has a good taste. I made it just like the recipe said. DH loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2003

      Excellent fried chicky recipe! Moist and tender on the inside and crunchy on the outside, just like fried chicken should be. I served it along with mashed potatoes and gravy and corn on the cob. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2002

      Something missing in the flour,everything else was simple and turned out crunchy (I used legs), but just needed something. If anyone else does it let the rest of us know what to add to the flour. I read the other comments again but nothing really different to change the flavour much. I will deffinetly do again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2001

      Oh boy is this good!!!! made it just how its written. Try it with Mark Hendricks fried okra. =) Eve

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2012

      Great recipe. I doubled the amount of onion and garlic powder due to personal tastes and it was delicious. This was my first time making fried chicken and I will be making this again. Thanks KC_Cooker for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2012

      This was a total failure for me when I covered my chicken it got completely soggy and all the breading fell off. I had company and I was so embarassed to serve this. The flavour was ok a little bland. I will not use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

      This is the first fried chicken recipe that worked for me. In the past, I have always ended up burning the chicken before it's done. Thank you! I was generous with all the dry mixture ingredients and the crust tasted amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      Who doesn't like fried chicken? Addition of buttermilk makes it super tender. I made a giant skillet of this, hoping for leftovers for lunch but that didn't happen! This was finger-lickin' good and no nasty preservatives like store bought fried chicken. Thanks for a tasty chicken recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      This was really easy but really good. My whole family (including my father-in-law and husband's uncle) raved about how good it was. I made a basic cream gravy with the oil and crispy bits, and it was amazing!! Thank so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      Delicious finger licking good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      I almost gave up on making fried chicken, because I could never get it right. This turned out great! I followed the suggestion of another member and finished cooking it in the oven uncovered at 375 degrees to make sure it didn't burn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      I used this recipe with 1/2" slices of a pork ribeye roast and used EVOO and butter for frying. VERY GOOD! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      Absolutely wonderful chicken! I opted for the garlic and onion powder in ours. I used 1 tsp. of each. You have to try this recipe if you haven't already! It's so yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Southern Fried Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (386 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 655.3
     
    Calories from Fat 321
    49%
    Total Fat 35.7 g
    55%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 175.6 mg
    58%
    Sodium 1451.8 mg
    60%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 49.7 g
    99%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites