Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Cajun Deep Fried Turkey Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cajun Deep Fried Turkey

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 15, 2001

      what kind of oil is best for cooking turkey I used peanut oil and it was very good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2002

      It's a good idea to invest in a professional digital thermometer. You can use it to both check your oil temperature, and to determine when the turkey is done. I use mine for any kind of roasting and deep frying. It works great on poultry, beef and pork roasts, etc. If you plan on making a habit of deep frying turkeys (and it is habit forming), such a thermomter will make it much easier and safer. They are about 20$ at kitchen stores.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2003

      I love fried turkey and have done it often, so I hate to be a party-pooper or to scare anyone from trying it, but I’ve been in the Fire-Rescue service here in the south for nearly forty years and have been to many deck, porch and fully involved house fires from people trying to fry a turkey. I have life-flighted out three severe burn patients; one, a father of three, didn’t make it. There are some simple rules to follow that will make it MUCH safer. 1. NEVER try this inside!!!! 2. Use only a sturdy fryer intended for frying a turkey. Remember, it has to support 8 to 10 gallons of oil PLUS the turkey. Don’t try to rig up a fryer. Rent, beg or buy the real thing. 3. Have a Dry Chemical fire extinguisher ten feet away from the cooker. 4. Always keep the gas tank the full length of the hose away from the burner. (If something goes wrong, you may still be able to shut off the gas.) 5. The night before, as you’re preping the bird, take the pot outside and fill it with water. Slowly lower the bird into the water. When the water stops overflowing, remove the turkey and measure how deep the water is. That’s how deep your oil needs to be to cover the bird! You can add a little more to be sure, but not much. When you add a cold bird to the hot oil the oil is going to expand and can easily overflow. 6. Always wear long pants and long sleeves when frying, adding a heavy apron is even better! 7. Lower the bird into the oil SLOOOOWLY and wear gloves! 8. This is the WORST rule of all! If you are the cook, you are also the “DESIGNATED DRIVER”, leave the alcohol alone until the turkey is done and the cooker is off! Once the bird is done, there’ll be plenty of time to catch-up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      The safest tip I can give anyone atempting to fry a turkey is to turn the gas off before lowering the turkey into the hot oil, then turn the gas back on once the turkey is in the oil. Also, turn the gas off again (after frying) before lifting the turkey out of the hot oil (just in case turkey drops back into oil). DH has been frying turkeys twice a year for at least 7 yrs and still follows this safety "rule". We try to get with a friend and fry two turkeys because thats alot of oil(money) just to fry one turkey, besides, I think the second one tastes better with all those spice in the oil from the first one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2004

      Just a note to Chief Jack's warnings...When testing to see how much oil to use with water, the water should just cover the turkey when submerged, NOT so the water is overflowing. If it was overflowing oil it will ignite. A great way to get the bird in the hot oil is to lower the bird into the hot oil in steps. Submerge the bird 1/4 in oil for a few seconds then lift the bird out. wait for the oil to settle down (water will be burning off) then submerge the bird 1/2 way then out, 3/4 then out and finally all the way in. Be ready to pull the bird out if the oil is bubbling too crazy. Wear Long oven mitts Should have cooker over gravel or sand let bird rest 1/2 hour before carving Enjoy :]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2001

      The standard timing for deep frying a turkey is 3.5 min. per lb.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      You don't need 10 gallons of peanut oil to fry a 10-15lb. Turkey I agree the cost is prohibtive.My family has been frying Turkeys & Chicken for Oh so many years.I have been sucessful in straining the oil to use in frying Catfish, etc. Cajunpaul

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2005

      I rate this turkey to the highest... I made this recipe by the exact ingredients except for the 10 gallons of peanut oil, I only needed 5 gallons for a 18 pound turkey!!! It was very easy if you take every safety precaution but its worth it. This recipe is quick and easy and very delicious and trust me; Im the worlds biggest critic!!! I had to join this site after this recipe ;) We fried the turkey for Thanksgiving and Im going to fry all of my turkeys from now on and also making another on Christmas!!! Thanks for this recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cajun Deep Fried Turkey

    Serving Size: 1 (4615 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 7377.3
     
    Calories from Fat 3311
    44%
    Total Fat 367.9 g
    566%
    Saturated Fat 103.3 g
    516%
    Cholesterol 3087.2 mg
    1029%
    Sodium 16912.1 mg
    704%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 11.4 g
    45%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 931.7 g
    1863%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    liquid crab boil concentrate

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites