12 Reviews

This recipe guided my first attempt at home-made calamari. I made several alterations, but I thought that one observation was important enough to share. I used fresh calamari, and like others, found that the breading stuck, but was rather fragile and easy to knock off while frying. I would try the milk bath next time. I don't have a deep fryer any more, so I just increased the cooking time in the frying pan by about 30 seconds-1 minute. This yeilded nice golden brown breading. A note of warning- do to the heat of the oil, I would wait to add the chili paste and garlic till the last say, 30 seconds of frying. Also, I very much recommend using a splatter guard, as the oil goes crazy when you add the chili paste. An excellent recipe, I look forward to trying this one again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
highplainsdrifter January 16, 2010

I was pleasantly surprised. Made this as written except for hot sauce didn't have any. It was so quick and easy and delicious. I used frozen calamari and had no problems. Now my hubbie can stop ordering it in restaurants and paying a lot for it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bitch'n kitchen January 23, 2011

Awesome recipe. Alot of the breadcrumbs fell off though - I would try the egg substitution next time, or a combination of the two. I used regular breadcrumbs and red pepper flakes. Came out really good and completely disappeard!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Remy #186273 January 30, 2010

Tried this recipe but substituted egg for the milk only because I had a similar experience with chicken wings where the breading stuck to the pan. After reading highplainsdrifter review made this adjustment and it came out fine. Everyone loved it . . . will make this again in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toni002 January 26, 2010

I'm not rating this because I must have done something wrong. I flash fried them, then when I reheated in the oil/ sambal oelek all of the coating came off and it was a big clumpy mess. Squid is pretty inexpensive around here, so I may try again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Not-2-Sweet February 10, 2008

Wow! Another great recipe. These turned out much tastier than what we usually get in restaurants. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pesto lover February 09, 2008

*8 Jan 2007 review:* I love calamari The flavours an texture of this dish didn't let me down. I halved the vegetable oil for frying as I thought it was a bit to much. The flour/crumb mix didn't stick to the calamari as much as I expected to stick. However I would make it again maybe dip it into a liquid first then the flour/crumb mix. I didn't need to serve it with a dip as the garlic and sambal oelek flavours was excellent. Thank you Uncle Bill *Update* I finally found wonderful calamari and I wanted to try this recipe again, this time I used a milk wash to make the breadcrumbs/flour stick better and it worked! I also didn't fry the calamari just added a little oil in the pan but kept everything else as written. The flavours were still outstanding.. Thank you again Uncle Bill.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer October 29, 2007

WOW, This is a great easy way to prepare calamari, the result was superbly tender and delicious. I served this at a b-b-q and got rave reviews. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie t August 30, 2006

Great calamari! I made this for a Greek party. They loved dipping the calamari in the Tzatziki. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pokey in San Antonio, TX June 04, 2006
Calamari Special