Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Calamari Special Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Calamari Special

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 16, 2010

      This recipe guided my first attempt at home-made calamari. I made several alterations, but I thought that one observation was important enough to share. I used fresh calamari, and like others, found that the breading stuck, but was rather fragile and easy to knock off while frying. I would try the milk bath next time. I don't have a deep fryer any more, so I just increased the cooking time in the frying pan by about 30 seconds-1 minute. This yeilded nice golden brown breading. A note of warning- do to the heat of the oil, I would wait to add the chili paste and garlic till the last say, 30 seconds of frying. Also, I very much recommend using a splatter guard, as the oil goes crazy when you add the chili paste. An excellent recipe, I look forward to trying this one again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      I was pleasantly surprised. Made this as written except for hot sauce didn't have any. It was so quick and easy and delicious. I used frozen calamari and had no problems. Now my hubbie can stop ordering it in restaurants and paying a lot for it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Awesome recipe. Alot of the breadcrumbs fell off though - I would try the egg substitution next time, or a combination of the two. I used regular breadcrumbs and red pepper flakes. Came out really good and completely disappeard!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      Tried this recipe but substituted egg for the milk only because I had a similar experience with chicken wings where the breading stuck to the pan. After reading highplainsdrifter review made this adjustment and it came out fine. Everyone loved it . . . will make this again in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      This is just the recipe I have been looking for. It's wonderful. We didn't use the red hot pepper flakes because of the kids. We made Marmalade Sauce for Shrimp or Calamari (Just like Outback) to dip in (marmalade sauce). Thank you!! 5+ stars

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      I'm not rating this because I must have done something wrong. I flash fried them, then when I reheated in the oil/ sambal oelek all of the coating came off and it was a big clumpy mess. Squid is pretty inexpensive around here, so I may try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      Wow! Another great recipe. These turned out much tastier than what we usually get in restaurants. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      *8 Jan 2007 review:* I love calamari The flavours an texture of this dish didn't let me down. I halved the vegetable oil for frying as I thought it was a bit to much. The flour/crumb mix didn't stick to the calamari as much as I expected to stick. However I would make it again maybe dip it into a liquid first then the flour/crumb mix. I didn't need to serve it with a dip as the garlic and sambal oelek flavours was excellent. Thank you Uncle Bill *Update* I finally found wonderful calamari and I wanted to try this recipe again, this time I used a milk wash to make the breadcrumbs/flour stick better and it worked! I also didn't fry the calamari just added a little oil in the pan but kept everything else as written. The flavours were still outstanding.. Thank you again Uncle Bill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2006

      WOW, This is a great easy way to prepare calamari, the result was superbly tender and delicious. I served this at a b-b-q and got rave reviews. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2006

      Great calamari! I made this for a Greek party. They loved dipping the calamari in the Tzatziki. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2006

      Uncle Bill, thank you for this wonderful recipe! I made this for an appetizer dish for a small get together over the weekend. I increased the ingredeints for 3 pounds of calamari, I followed your directions exactly, and fryed them in batches then kept them warm in the oven. I did add in some onion powder in the flour/panko mixture. The calamari was absolutely wonderful! I can't wait to make this again! thanks so much for your wonderful recipe!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      I enjoyed this. I found I needed only about 1/2 as much flour and panko as indicated. The sambal oelek added a nice flavor. (Editing as I left off the stars!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Squid Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Calamari Special

    Serving Size: 1 (92 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 314.6
     
    Calories from Fat 258
    82%
    Total Fat 28.6 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 47.1 mg
    15%
    Sodium 34.8 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sambal oelek

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites