Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Carolina Crispy Buttermilk Fried Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carolina Crispy Buttermilk Fried Chicken

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on August 23, 2009

      We loved this! Fried at 350, it came out perfect. Make sure you don't over crowd the pan or it brings the temp down, and then when you turn it up you can take a chance of burning the chicken!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2013

      My family has been asking me to make fried chicken. I've made many different recipes over the years but haven't found the "keeper" recipe -- until now! The chicken was so moist and the coating was very crispy. i have never brined chicken before but it was pretty easy and I'll definitely do it again. The only tweaks I'm going to make is to increase the amounts of sweet paprika, hot sauce and pepper since we all agreed the coating was a bit bland and needed to be kicked up a notch or two. Other than adding more spices, the chicken was perfect -- a definite keeper. Thank you NcMysteryShopper for posting this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2012

      Sorry but I made this recipe and found the chicken coating to be way too bland. I think the inside of the chicken was moist, but the coating lacked flavor. I just tasted too much of the flour and not enough spice on the coating. I also really didn't taste the buttermilk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      very good indeed! first time i have ever made fried chicken and it was a success! i omitted the sugar and added onion powder and garlic powder to the flour. the whole family loved it,will definately be making this again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      First time cooking fried chicken ever! Very good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      Awesome fried chicken recipe. I did reduce the sugar to ¼ cup, but used the full amount of salt and washed well after marinating. I think next time I will definitely reduce the amount of salt, it was quite salty. Other than that, it produced moist meat with a nice and crispy coating that stuck to the chicken quite well. I call this recipe a success!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      Everyone that was at dinner last night said this recipe is a definate keeper. Moist and crunchy. But I on the other had thought it was too sweet for fried chicken. The coating was crispy, not very flavorful either, but I couldn't get past the sweetness of the chicken. Next time I will definately tweek this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      This was great! I only fried 1 chicken, and unfortunately, used 2 per cent milk for the brine (won't make that mistake again). Next time, I think I'll use buttermilk for the brine, and prepare the chicken the night before. Thanks for the posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      the chicken was juicy but the outside was more burnt tasting. I tried this recipe and a couple others to find a good recipe for the 4th since the sun has disappeared here in maine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      OMG....this is so good. I have never been able to fry chicken.....I always baked it. My chicken would always be beautiful on the outside but uncooked inside. This recipe is spot on. It cooked wonderfully and the meat was tender and juicy. The marinade does wonders, so good. This is a must try for everyone. Yummy. Thank you so much for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      this recipe is sooooo good!! i was only able to marinade the chicken for about 3 1/2 hours- but it still turned out perfectly- i also fried them in olive oil (i had no peanut or veg)- and it didn't affect the flavor. the only difficult part was waiting for them to be done! thanks for a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      Well, my chicken browned very nicely, but the crispy coating did not stay on the chicken. Now, this may have been because I used skinless chicken (I always skin my chicken -- less fat). I made this to eat at home because I have never made chicken like this before. I certainly would not take this on a picnic unless someone can tell me what went wrong?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      I made this recipe exactly as written with no deviations. FOWL PERFECTION! This is an outstanding recipe, which was very well received at a picnic that I took it to. The chicken was very tender and juicy on the inside; with a sinfully crispy and flavorful crust that was not a bit oily. The chicken traveled very well and was great served at room temperature. I had made a couple of extra breasts and refrigerated them for the next day for a chicken Caesar salad- we did not make it! I ended up re-crispng them in the toaster oven on a wire rack. It was even better the next day. When I read the reviews and saw the list of ingredients, I knew it would be a good choice for this event and printed out 12 copies of the recipe to take with me. I had none left when we departed the park. Since then, I have had 7 of those people contact me and go on and on about this fabulous recipe. Comparing it to Leroux's review and the Bobby Flay recipe, it is far from being the same recipe. Thanks for an outstanding fried chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      LQQk no further!!! This is IT!!!! This is one heck of a good recipe for anyone looking for the PERFECT fried chicken! I would give it 10 stars if I could, it's THAT GOOD! The key to good fried chicken is not to overcrowd the fryer, and to make sure the heat is kept at a consistent temperature. This chicken was moist and delicious on the inside and crisp and delicious on the outside. Perfection in and out on this one! Thanks much for sharing this outstanding recipe NCMS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      fab is the way to describe this recipe...the chicken was flavorful with a slight sweetness to it, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      This is a wonderful recipe. I have used one exactly like it, courtesy of Bobby Flay. http://www.foodnetwork.com/food/recipes/recipe/0,,FOOD_9936_32215,00.html

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      Update: A year later and this is still gracin our tables! Definitely a KEEPER! Thank you for such a fantastic recipe! Wonderful! Flavorful! Followed your directions exactly and it was not greasy at all. I found I was out of Kosher salt and had to sub regular salt- NOTE Kosher salt is much less salty and the correct ratio is about 2:1 so maybe the previous chef who thought it was too salty used regular salt in the measurements stated for Kosher? I did not find this salty at all. I used 1/3 cup table salt in the marinade and 1 1/2 teaspoons in the milk/egg wash. This was so moist and flavorful I know that I will be using this recipe from now on to fry chicken. We like our chicken spicy so I will try adding some cayenne in the future. Thank you for this fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      My boyfriend loved it and so did I!! Bit confused on the kosher salt, but added less regular salt and was great. Lovenewrecipes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2006

      I made this for dinner tonight. While the spices weren't really to my taste (I like mine fairly spicy...not your fault!), the process was just right! Your directions were excellent, especially in how to fry it...an area I've always been challenged on. I'll tweak the spices til I get them the way I like them, but I wanted to drop you a note and let you know how much I appreciated your assistance in my fried-chicken "issues". PS: My DH thanks you, also...he's been dying for some REAL fried chicken! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2006

      I have made this several times. We followed the recipe exactly except I used drumsticks as those are our favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carolina Crispy Buttermilk Fried Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (582 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1445.6
     
    Calories from Fat 635
    43%
    Total Fat 70.5 g
    108%
    Saturated Fat 21.8 g
    109%
    Cholesterol 366.7 mg
    122%
    Sodium 903.9 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 108.7 g
    36%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 29.1 g
    116%
    Protein 87.7 g
    175%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes