Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Carolyn's Favorite Hot Wings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carolyn's Favorite Hot Wings

    Average Rating:

    72 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 72

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2003

      Ok I may be the first to review these but I'm sure I won't be the last. MG, these are out of this world! I have tried many hot wing recipes and was always disappointed, but not in this case. I made these last night as kind of an appie dinner menu. Followed the directions exactly. It was just the 3 of us and all were eaten! I liked that they are still crisp and not soggy. DH kept repeating, these are great. His only comment was he wished they were hotter but that was my fault as I had 4lbs of wings and didn't change the recipe as I wasn't sure so next time I will up the sauce a little. I wish I had left overs!!! Fabulous MG!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2003

      Excellent wings, MG. I served these last night and didn't make any changes except I added several dashes of Tobasco into the Franks sauce. Big raves from my guys on this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2003

      These were fantastic! Frying the wings until they are crisp makes such a difference with the skin...they doesn't taste all soft and pudgy. I must admit I did ramp up the heat in the sauce until it was a bit "nuclear" and burning my tongue off, but both me and my husband loved every bite! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      These wings did not dissapoint! I made a few changes though. For the flour mixture, I did not have cajun seasoning on hand so I used 1 tsp soul food seasoning as well as 1 tsp Paula Deen's House Seasoning that I made up myself and keep on hand. The breading was perfect--not too salty nor too bland. Prior to breading I did soak my wings in Frank's Red Hot Wings Sauce(imo the best for chicken!) for 8 hours. Just so you know if you like your wings really hot, Frank's has all the flavor but only has a little kick to it. Instead of deep frying, I baked my wings at 500 degrees(Frank's provides this alternative to deep frying on the bottle) on a rack on top of a foiled cookie sheet(an absolute must if you want crispy chicken) for 20-25 min. I've made this twice now so the last time I made one other change. Instead of 1/2 cup of butter, I only used 1/4 cup of butter because I was appalled at how much fat was still floating around the bottom of the bowl--this after all the wings had been thoroughly soaked. I did not--nor did my family notice a change in flavor by this adjustment. Thank you Mystery Girl for providing this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      If I could give more than 5 stars I would! Have used this recipe with chicken parts and made it tonight for my son's 16th birthday. He had 6 friends over and I used boneless skinless thighs and cut breasts into strips. What more could a 16 year old guy want(besides a car)? Thank's again for a great recipe. G

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2012

      I've been making wings for 20 yrs & tried several different recipes & THIS is it! The search is finally over; other than cutting back on the butter a little these are PERFECT!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      Loved this recipe. Instead of chicken wings, I used 3 pounds of skinless chicken breasts. The breasts were cut into bite size. To the flour, I added 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper and 2 tsp of Cajun Creole Seasoning. I fried them in small batches at 350 degrees with vegetable oil. Since the chicken was skinless, I fried the chicken in small batches to prevent crowding and sticky flour remnants. I served the bites with Luby's Chunky Blue Cheese Salad Dressing #55514 and celery sticks. Thank you Mysterygirl for an awesome recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2004

      This was the first time I'd ever deep fried anything, so I was pretty nervous, but it turned out I had no reason to be! These turned out beautifully! I didn't have a thermometer, so I flipped through some other wings recipes until I found a great tip; when you drop a tiny bit of bread in the oil and it sizzles immediately, the oil is ready. That same recipe also said to fry for about 12 minutes. Turns out, that advice was spot on! My husband and I don't like wings that are too hot, but these really had absolutely no kick to them. Next time, I'll add maybe a teaspoon of Tabasco or some ground cayenne to the mixture of butter and Frank's red hot sauce. Oh, and I melted the butter in just a small Pyrex measuring cup, and added the hot sauce. I removed each wing from the oil one at a time, dipping each very quickly into the hot sauce/butter mix, then immediately put into a container. That seemed to be the easiest way to do it. Next time, I'll line the container with a paper towel to absorb the excess hot sauce; the bottom layer of wings were left laying in it for a while, and were soggy, as opposed to the nice and crispy wings that were not left sitting directly in that excess sauce. This recipe is definitely a keeper! I will keep looking for one more recipe, as I'd like to have two great wings recipes; I'm thinking wings with an Asian feel would be a great alternative!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2003

      I decided to bake these instead of frying, but that was a mistake. But, the taste was sensational, the heat just right and we enjoyed them anyway. Next time I will definitely fry them. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2003

      Great wings! I only dunked half in the butter and Franks after frying as we like some with BBQ sauce too. I marinated for several hours and it really gave the wings a great taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2003

      Okay, these were great, dont get me wrong I loved them, but my BF went absolutely nuts for these, declaring them the best wings he has ever had! The only thing I changed was, instead of coating the wings at the end, I used the butter/hot sauce mixture as a dipping sauce. They were definatley a hit. I will be making these again for sure! Thanks MG for another keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2014

      Ok I found this recipe 6 months ago and made it the same night... Lets just say perfection!!! The next time I went to make hot wings I couldn't find my recipe so I googled it and could not find it so I used something similar and they did not compare. I have been searching for this recipe for a week and found it again. I am so excited I am going to make them tonight!! Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      My daughter and I made these the other night while Daddy was away--he's not into bone-in wings... well, I didn't think to thaw the wings ahead of time, so I put them in a dish with the marinating sauce and thawed them in the microwave and continued with the recipe as written. While we were enjoying them we both decided that these were the best, crispiest tastiest wings we'd ever had! And we've had BWW and many others at pizza places in many states. Definitely will keep these in My Recipe Book and will be try these boneless for Daddy very soon!! Don't know if the thawing in the marinade made them tastier, but think that may have helped--Super NomNom!!! Thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

    • on March 12, 2010

      This is a very good recipe and they are easy to fix. We will be using this recipe a lot. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Absolutely delicious. I would recommend, however, putting some extra spice in the flour mixture. Maybe some cayenne. Next time I will serve the sauce on the side as a dipping sauce since once you put the sauce on, the nice crisp breading gets a little soggy. Still, very very delicious and we'll definitely be making them often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      This is my go to recipe for wings. My husband just had a pre-bowl party at work and others brought wings. His came home saying mine were way better :) Thanks for a great and fairly easy recipe. I grow Thai pepers and usually will put some into the dry mix when we crave extra hot wings. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      Tried the recipe just now and they are really delicious! The only difference was that I added a little seasoning to the wing sauce before putting the wings in then after cooking. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      i might have giving a better rating, but i am not familar with frank or crystal hot sauce. but this sounds great. iam going to experiment before the superbowl. thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      Outstanding. Sorry Hooters, we're done with you!!! Thanks for figuring out the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carolyn's Favorite Hot Wings

    Serving Size: 1 (304 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1079.3
     
    Calories from Fat 701
    64%
    Total Fat 77.9 g
    119%
    Saturated Fat 29.9 g
    149%
    Cholesterol 323.1 mg
    107%
    Sodium 1942.4 mg
    80%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 66.1 g
    132%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites