72 Reviews

Ok I may be the first to review these but I'm sure I won't be the last. MG, these are out of this world! I have tried many hot wing recipes and was always disappointed, but not in this case. I made these last night as kind of an appie dinner menu. Followed the directions exactly. It was just the 3 of us and all were eaten! I liked that they are still crisp and not soggy. DH kept repeating, these are great. His only comment was he wished they were hotter but that was my fault as I had 4lbs of wings and didn't change the recipe as I wasn't sure so next time I will up the sauce a little. I wish I had left overs!!! Fabulous MG!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Cher March 09, 2003

Excellent wings, MG. I served these last night and didn't make any changes except I added several dashes of Tobasco into the Franks sauce. Big raves from my guys on this one!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise! March 09, 2003

These were fantastic! Frying the wings until they are crisp makes such a difference with the skin...they doesn't taste all soft and pudgy. I must admit I did ramp up the heat in the sauce until it was a bit "nuclear" and burning my tongue off, but both me and my husband loved every bite! Thanks for a great recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau April 02, 2003

These wings did not dissapoint! I made a few changes though. For the flour mixture, I did not have cajun seasoning on hand so I used 1 tsp soul food seasoning as well as 1 tsp Paula Deen's House Seasoning that I made up myself and keep on hand. The breading was perfect--not too salty nor too bland. Prior to breading I did soak my wings in Frank's Red Hot Wings Sauce(imo the best for chicken!) for 8 hours. Just so you know if you like your wings really hot, Frank's has all the flavor but only has a little kick to it. Instead of deep frying, I baked my wings at 500 degrees(Frank's provides this alternative to deep frying on the bottle) on a rack on top of a foiled cookie sheet(an absolute must if you want crispy chicken) for 20-25 min. I've made this twice now so the last time I made one other change. Instead of 1/2 cup of butter, I only used 1/4 cup of butter because I was appalled at how much fat was still floating around the bottom of the bowl--this after all the wings had been thoroughly soaked. I did not--nor did my family notice a change in flavor by this adjustment. Thank you Mystery Girl for providing this wonderful recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shortcakes September 21, 2009

If I could give more than 5 stars I would! Have used this recipe with chicken parts and made it tonight for my son's 16th birthday. He had 6 friends over and I used boneless skinless thighs and cut breasts into strips. What more could a 16 year old guy want(besides a car)? Thank's again for a great recipe. G

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom George January 16, 2009

I've been making wings for 20 yrs & tried several different recipes & THIS is it! The search is finally over; other than cutting back on the butter a little these are PERFECT!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
905271 May 25, 2012

Loved this recipe. Instead of chicken wings, I used 3 pounds of skinless chicken breasts. The breasts were cut into bite size. To the flour, I added 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper and 2 tsp of Cajun Creole Seasoning. I fried them in small batches at 350 degrees with vegetable oil. Since the chicken was skinless, I fried the chicken in small batches to prevent crowding and sticky flour remnants. I served the bites with Luby's Chunky Blue Cheese Salad Dressing #55514 and celery sticks. Thank you Mysterygirl for an awesome recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cristina Barry December 01, 2008

This was the first time I'd ever deep fried anything, so I was pretty nervous, but it turned out I had no reason to be! These turned out beautifully! I didn't have a thermometer, so I flipped through some other wings recipes until I found a great tip; when you drop a tiny bit of bread in the oil and it sizzles immediately, the oil is ready. That same recipe also said to fry for about 12 minutes. Turns out, that advice was spot on! My husband and I don't like wings that are too hot, but these really had absolutely no kick to them. Next time, I'll add maybe a teaspoon of Tabasco or some ground cayenne to the mixture of butter and Frank's red hot sauce. Oh, and I melted the butter in just a small Pyrex measuring cup, and added the hot sauce. I removed each wing from the oil one at a time, dipping each very quickly into the hot sauce/butter mix, then immediately put into a container. That seemed to be the easiest way to do it. Next time, I'll line the container with a paper towel to absorb the excess hot sauce; the bottom layer of wings were left laying in it for a while, and were soggy, as opposed to the nice and crispy wings that were not left sitting directly in that excess sauce. This recipe is definitely a keeper! I will keep looking for one more recipe, as I'd like to have two great wings recipes; I'm thinking wings with an Asian feel would be a great alternative!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rushed 4 Time September 12, 2004

I decided to bake these instead of frying, but that was a mistake. But, the taste was sensational, the heat just right and we enjoyed them anyway. Next time I will definitely fry them. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie October 09, 2003

Great wings! I only dunked half in the butter and Franks after frying as we like some with BBQ sauce too. I marinated for several hours and it really gave the wings a great taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff August 23, 2003
Carolyn's Favorite Hot Wings