23 Reviews

The flavors of the chicken marinade were delicious. I tried putting some oil on them and "frying" them in the oven. Not a good idea. It didn't work out very well. But, I'm pretty sure it was my fault for trying to make this more healthy. Next time, I'll just go ahead and clog my arteries. Also, I learned on the food network that a single kernel of popcorn pops at exactly 350 degrees. So, if you put one in while your oil is heating, you will know when it's hot enough when the kernel pops.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Red Bug October 14, 2008

Oh, yum! I did make a few changes. I used roasted red peppers and canned roasted tomatoes. I think roasted or grilled summer squash would be good in the meat mixture as well. The grilled chicken is wonderful. I will use that marinade often. I used what I call the "hubcap grill." It's one of those stovetop grills that looks like a hubcab. The chicken came out just delicious. I did not deep fry these. I used flour tortillas and baked them at 350 till crisp. I did spray them with a bit of cooking spray before putting them into the oven. Outstanding!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diannejm April 09, 2007

I substituted a jalepeno for the pasilla and used chipotle chili powder but otherwise followed the ingredient list as written. Also, I baked the taquitos in a 350 oven until crispy instead of frying. I cut 8-inch flour tortillas in half and rolled filling tightly to make 2 taquitos from each tortilla. Had no problems with keeping the taquitos rolled because I used flour as opposed to corn tortillas. The DH loved them and they are so much healthier than the frozen food aisle type! Kept the leftovers in the freezer for quick snacks. Will be a favorite to keep on hand in the freezer!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino p.o. prn April 03, 2007

Very versatile filling, moist, not too hard to make, kids loved them. I got fed up trying with the corn tortillas and used flour tortillas instead, which were easier to handle and tasted just fine. I used toothpicks to hold them together, and fried them in a pan. I doubled the batch, put in extra cheese and lime, with no chilis so the kids would eat them...and I barely got one for myself! They went like hotcakes at a party! Next time I might try cilantro too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MmmYummy February 14, 2010

I agree with other reviewers that the marinade was outstanding! I ended up using the chicken for fajitas instead of deep frying as recommended (as a healthier option) and I'd definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baking Bunny February 19, 2013

My tortillas wouldn't fry correctly so I took the filling out, and fried the tortillas in wedges to make nachos. Excellent with all the filling. Topped with sour cream and avocado sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound February 11, 2013

These are the best - I made them with a friend a few weeks back and we both said they were a lot of work but worth it. I just made them again for a party......still worth it! I did make a couple changes due to poor planning. I didn't have time to marinade so i grilled the chicken and tossed the shredded chicken with about half the marinade. Thanks again for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracy GB October 09, 2012

I had a friend over and we decided to make these. they are a little time consuming, but well worth the work. they are the best taquitos I have ever had. Thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. September 23, 2012

I guess since I am coming back to make this recipe AGAIN I should write a review. I don't always make the taquitos but this is my go to recipe to marinade the chicken. It's always nice to hear your kids say "mmmmmmm... you should make this more often." Thanks for a great recipe. No tweaks from me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cisbum September 04, 2012

To soften your corn tortillas here is how I do it: wet 2 paper towels with water, squeeze out excess. They should not be dripping. Wrap tortillas with paper towels. Microwave for 30 seconds. If not softened microwave an additional 30 seconds. Hold taquitos in oil with tongs so they do not unroll. If I make alot at once I will hold them shut with butcher's twine, then snip off after cooking. I haven't tried this recipe, but here us how we serve tawuitos here: drizzle with taco sauce. Add chopped cabbage or lettuce. Diced tomatoes, onions, or green peppers. We usually use mozzarella on top of everything. Sour cream if you like. Eat 'em with your hands. A meal all on it's own!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ambailey May 29, 2012
Chicken Lime Taquitos