Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Chicken Lime Taquitos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Lime Taquitos

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on October 14, 2008

      The flavors of the chicken marinade were delicious. I tried putting some oil on them and "frying" them in the oven. Not a good idea. It didn't work out very well. But, I'm pretty sure it was my fault for trying to make this more healthy. Next time, I'll just go ahead and clog my arteries. Also, I learned on the food network that a single kernel of popcorn pops at exactly 350 degrees. So, if you put one in while your oil is heating, you will know when it's hot enough when the kernel pops.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      Oh, yum! I did make a few changes. I used roasted red peppers and canned roasted tomatoes. I think roasted or grilled summer squash would be good in the meat mixture as well. The grilled chicken is wonderful. I will use that marinade often. I used what I call the "hubcap grill." It's one of those stovetop grills that looks like a hubcab. The chicken came out just delicious. I did not deep fry these. I used flour tortillas and baked them at 350 till crisp. I did spray them with a bit of cooking spray before putting them into the oven. Outstanding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      I substituted a jalepeno for the pasilla and used chipotle chili powder but otherwise followed the ingredient list as written. Also, I baked the taquitos in a 350 oven until crispy instead of frying. I cut 8-inch flour tortillas in half and rolled filling tightly to make 2 taquitos from each tortilla. Had no problems with keeping the taquitos rolled because I used flour as opposed to corn tortillas. The DH loved them and they are so much healthier than the frozen food aisle type! Kept the leftovers in the freezer for quick snacks. Will be a favorite to keep on hand in the freezer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      Very versatile filling, moist, not too hard to make, kids loved them. I got fed up trying with the corn tortillas and used flour tortillas instead, which were easier to handle and tasted just fine. I used toothpicks to hold them together, and fried them in a pan. I doubled the batch, put in extra cheese and lime, with no chilis so the kids would eat them...and I barely got one for myself! They went like hotcakes at a party! Next time I might try cilantro too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      I agree with other reviewers that the marinade was outstanding! I ended up using the chicken for fajitas instead of deep frying as recommended (as a healthier option) and I'd definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2013

      My tortillas wouldn't fry correctly so I took the filling out, and fried the tortillas in wedges to make nachos. Excellent with all the filling. Topped with sour cream and avocado sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2012

      These are the best - I made them with a friend a few weeks back and we both said they were a lot of work but worth it. I just made them again for a party......still worth it! I did make a couple changes due to poor planning. I didn't have time to marinade so i grilled the chicken and tossed the shredded chicken with about half the marinade. Thanks again for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      I had a friend over and we decided to make these. they are a little time consuming, but well worth the work. they are the best taquitos I have ever had. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2012

      I guess since I am coming back to make this recipe AGAIN I should write a review. I don't always make the taquitos but this is my go to recipe to marinade the chicken. It's always nice to hear your kids say "mmmmmmm... you should make this more often." Thanks for a great recipe. No tweaks from me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2012

      To soften your corn tortillas here is how I do it: wet 2 paper towels with water, squeeze out excess. They should not be dripping. Wrap tortillas with paper towels. Microwave for 30 seconds. If not softened microwave an additional 30 seconds. Hold taquitos in oil with tongs so they do not unroll. If I make alot at once I will hold them shut with butcher's twine, then snip off after cooking. I haven't tried this recipe, but here us how we serve tawuitos here: drizzle with taco sauce. Add chopped cabbage or lettuce. Diced tomatoes, onions, or green peppers. We usually use mozzarella on top of everything. Sour cream if you like. Eat 'em with your hands. A meal all on it's own!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

    • on December 27, 2008

      i was feeling ambitious and made a double batch of this filling. i made homemade corn tortillas to roll them in. i made some like the taquitos in the recipe and because i was getting sick of frying taquitos (i did a big batch afterall), i rolled some filling in homemade whole wheat tortillas and browned them in a pan just coated with oil. these were great on there own or baked in a pan with enchilada sauce and cheese sprinkled on top. this is a very versatile filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      Wow these are delicious! I didn't have pasilla chiles so I substituted mild green chiles. Very good and this is going on the list of favorites! Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      This was wonderful! My WHOLE family loved this. I forgot the chiles so I just left them out and it still came out wonderful. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      I put my chicken in the crockpot, but otherwise followed the recipe. These were super good-I couldn't believe how easy they were to make. Thanks, Charmie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      I don't even know how to tell you how good these were! I did my veggies and put the marinade together in the afternoon before running errands. BF grilled the chicken for me while I was out. When I came home all that was left was to put it all together. I used jarred roasted red peppers but next time plan on roasting fresh peppers as I think it will give better flavor. Also might try a blend of peppers and maybe a stronger flavored cheese. I used large (burrito size) flour tortillas because that's what I had and got about 8. I'll try smaller tortillas next time because they might be easier to handle. Mine were pretty pathetic looking but the taste was fantastic and we can't wait to have the leftovers tomorrow for lunch! Made for ZWT3. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      These tasted terrific. You could definitely taste the lime (I zested the peel and mixed it in with the marinade). Instead of deep frying, I put a 1/2 inch depth of oil in a large skillet and cooked it on medium high (4 o'clock on the electric stove dial). Too much oil and too much heat and the critters unravel. This was a project, but enjoyed by all. Be sure to triple or quadruple the recipe if you want to freeze them for another time. They taste just as fresh when reheated in a 350 degree oven for 10-15 minutes. I plan on using left over chicken mixture for tomorrow's quesadillas! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      Chicken marinade is awesome, left it overnight. The chicken was tender and refreshing. THX

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2006

      My family and my guests loved this. The lime really shines here! I used twice the cheese, bc we like them cheesy and I needed to use it up! Great appy or main dish! Anyone having trouble rolling try this next time.... place chicken mixture near the edge about an inch in, fold tortilla over like a taco and then pull the filling back toward you using the top half of the tortilla and then roll them cigar fashion..I hope that makes sense...this will keep the filling and the tortilla tight.. without letting go reach for a toothpick with the other and insert a few into the 'cigar' shape. Fry in about an inch of oil, turning once, remove toothpicks as soon as you turn them over before the next side gets cripsy. Makes tightly rolled taquitos and/or flautas. This is a great recipe that I have been wanting to try for a LONG time, wish I had gotten around to it WAY before now! I will be maing these again and again! Thanks Charmie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2006

      Delicious! Well worth the effort. So much better than any taquitos I've had in a restaurant, and I live in Texas! The meat has awesome flavor. To save a bit on the old elbow work, pulse chicken a few times in a food processor. Don't mince too fine, just a few quick pulses. I could not find pasilla chiles. Will look for those next time I'm at Whole Foods. Used chopped green chiles which worked very well, but I'm hoping to find pasilla chiles next time I make this recipe. Wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing, Charmle777!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Lime Taquitos

    Serving Size: 1 (1575 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 163.7
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    41%
    Total Fat 7.5 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 34.1 mg
    11%
    Sodium 276.9 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 12.5 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pasilla chiles

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites