Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Chicken Wings... Hot Dawgie Style Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Wings... Hot Dawgie Style

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on February 08, 2010

      I expected the sauce to be way too hot, what with all that hot sauce in it, but it was really just fine and very tasty. If you substitute another brand, you should taste as you add, because I think Texas Pete's isn't as hot as some. (Cholula's is very close.) I used the Clone Kraft's Catalina Salad Dressing, as I wanted to avoid all that sugar in the sauce for hubby's sake. (That's a great clone, well worth a try!) I'm not fond of chicken wings, because I don't like the skin. While mine browned up nicely, some were not quite done enough in the middle for my taste. So, to avoid this, I'd recommend frying all the wings, then baking for a few minutes to insure doneness, then dumping the wings in the sauce. That way, you con't have to worry about keeping them warm as you do each batch. You just put them all in a pan and then stick the whole thing in a hot oven together for 10 min. or so. I tried these with blue cheese dressing, as some others had. I really would have liked them much better with the recommended ranch dressing. While I probably won't make this recipe exactly as is again, I may make the sauce again and use fried chicken strips or nuggets instead of wings. The sauce was really excellent and so easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      WOW! This is one awesome recipe! I did however change the process for making the chicken, but kept the sauce the same which really makes this recipe. I actually used boneless skinless chicken breasts and broiled them in the oven instead of frying to make them a bit more healthy. The dawgie wing sauce is SOOO good tho! I plan on use this super sauce on many other meats and wraps to spice things up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      Best sauce I've ever had. I couldn't find any wings (imagine that the day before the Super Bowl), so I bought legs and thighs instead. I added the paprika and garlic powder (along with a little salt and peper) to my flour, and seasoned my meat the night before as well. Came out great and kept well in a crock pot set on warm. They were the hit of the Super Bowl party! Highly recomend, even if it does come a Georgia Bulldog Fan:-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      Oh yes,these were yummy!! I've never seen Catalina dressing over here,so made it from a clone recipe.I used Tabasco sauce as we don't have Frank's either.These were absolutely delicious,sweet,spicy and addictive.Even my non wing eating husband tried some,and declared he would eat them again. A great wing recipe,thanks alot guys!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

      These wings are OUTSTANDING! Loved the sauce - I used a sweet honey catalina dressing and the entire 10 oz of hot sauce and it was perfect. This is my new go-to wing recipe - everyone loved these - thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      Had DHubbie make these for a weeknight dinner and it went over with rave reviews from my kids. Hubbie and I loved it too. I did add extra chili powder to the sauce. None of us found that it was too hot. Maybe it's the hot sauce that was added. The kids made sure that dad knew he had to make it again. It's a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2012

      Great sauce for the wings and there was enough of it for another 20 odd wings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      Nery nice. Used on chicken legs that were baked. Everybody enjoyed them. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

    • on January 30, 2010

      I made this sauce using Cholula Chipotle hot sauce. The smokiness of the Cholula gives the sauce more of a "barbecue" flavor. It makes an excellent sauce for wings as well as other proteins. Thanks for the recipe, 2Bleu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      Really tasty wings! I'll admit this was my first time frying anything in oil like this. Was a little nervous but didn't need to be. I added enough oil to cover my skillet with about an inch of oil. I fried the wings for about 15 minutes which was how we like them. The second batch didn't take as long. We halved the recipe and I didn't add the full amount of hot sauce, for which I had to sub Frank's Hot Sauce. DH doesn't always like things as spicy as me. We served these up with Blue Cheese dressing, celery and carrots. YuM!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      A good recipe for wings that really is quick and makes a huge amount of Dawgie Wing Sauce that could be used for other great proteins such as ribs, boneless chicken etc. I started off by using Clone Kraft's Catalina Salad Dressing (as suggested by another reviewer) and added the full 10 ounces of hot sauce. We didn't have "Texas Pete" but had some Louisiana Hot Pepper Sauce that was about the same heat level. I wasn't sure how much oil to use, so had a stock pot that I added about 1 1/2 cups of canola oil and heated that to 375 degrees. I added the wings and away they went and were a bit overcooked at 12 minutes. Next batch took about 10 minutes, and using a instant read thermonter that registered a good 180 degrees the next came out perfectly. I doused them into the sauce which was spectacular and served with fresh celery sticks and homemade blue cheese dressing. For my heat level, next time I would add and extra hot sauce, but this was a really nice treat just the way it was. Thank you 2Bleu....will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      These were wonderful!! I used half of the hot sauce as that was plenty spicy for the kids. I think next time I might even do some boneless strips in it. Thanks, 2Bleu, for another great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      As DH arrived home from work tonite, I announced our dinner was a *Tag Nite in Iceland* . I managed 5 tags for our dinner, which included a mixed green salad (dressing tagged), this recipe & 3 other tags (another chicken wing recipe & 2 potato dishes). I will not compare the 2 wing recipes as their flavours were distinctly different. Your wings remind me of Dallas where hot wings are a near art form. The use of the Catalina dressing was new for me (I used Clone Kraft's Catalina Salad Dressing for it) & I used Tobasco for the hot sauce component. They were great for me, but a bit over the edge in heat factor for my DH & his tender Icelandic palate. He tasted mine, confirmed my suspicion & was happy that I had anticipated him & also made some w/a lower heat factor. Thx for sharing this yummy recipe w/us (me). :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Wings... Hot Dawgie Style

    Serving Size: 1 (227 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 587.4
     
    Calories from Fat 461
    78%
    Total Fat 51.3 g
    78%
    Saturated Fat 10.0 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 103.8 mg
    34%
    Sodium 1198.3 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 7.3 g
    29%
    Protein 23.5 g
    47%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes