Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Chickpea Cutlets Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chickpea Cutlets

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on March 30, 2011

      The first time I made these, they turned out very chewy. I almost couldn't eat them at all, especially not the leftovers. When I made them again, I used 1/4 cup of vwg and 1/4 cup of chickpea flour instead of just vwg. Terrific! Almost like schnitzel!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      Wonderful recipe! I actually have the cookbook Veganomicon, and have made this recipe more times than I can actually count. Recently, I used a "chicken" flavored vegan broth in place of veggie (YUM). Instead of mashing the chickpeas by hand, I've been pulsing them in my food processor. I find they come out much more even that way. I also now use my Kitchen Aid mixer with the dough hook to knead the dough and liquid for the FULL 3 minutes, and I REALLY like how the texture comes out, and it saves my wrists from tiring out too quickly...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      I love these! I made a batch today, baked half, fried half, then tried grilling both. I found baking (375* for 20 min, flip and bake 8-10 min longer) gave them a less chewy feel. More toothsome. And grilling was the perfect way to top them off. I put a bunch in the freezer and will toss them on the grill later for easy dinner one night in the future when I'm running late. Yummy! Try making them both ways, you won't be disappointed. Also, I add 1t liquid smoke to the liquid part. Adds just a little something. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      I loved the flavor of these chickpea cutlets, but I'm giving the recipe 4 stars because the texture needs some help. They are way too chewy. The sensation is like attempting to chew up bubble gum (only less so). I think that cutting the Vital Wheat Gluten in half as poster Lovaskon suggested would be waaay better. Also keep in mind that these are meant to be rolled thin like schnitzel. They roll very easy so this isn't a problem. Visit theppk.com site for more details on how they should look. I served mine with Golden Gravy a Celeriac/Potato Mash, and Balsamic Roast Mushrooms . Other than the texture of the cutlets, my meal was fantastic. I will definitely be making these again only adjusting the amount of VWG I use downward. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      I've made these twice and the modifications I used the 2nd time made it a lot better. First off, make sure the chickpeas are completely mashed, the texture is better that way. I used Braggs instead of soy sauce, no zest or garlic cloves, and I replaced the spices. This is what I used: garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, dried mustard, white pepper, thyme, and Old Bay. It gave it a Cajun flavor and it was delicious! Make sure you serve these with gravy, they're pretty dry otherwise.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2013

      These were rally good. I followed the advise and only used 1/4 cup of vwg and 1/4 cup of wheat flour. Changed some of the seasoning to what I like. Will make again. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2013

      These were pretty good. We are trying to eat meatless mostly but i hate how much sodium is in all the commercial products like these. These were a little chewy but mostly yummy, easy, and inexpensive...and fills the dinner plate just like a meat would. Thanks for the great recipe emily.soulliere...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2012

      After I found this recipe in Veganomicon, this has been a huge hit in my house! I make double batches and freeze what I'm not using that day. (You can find a 'Doublebatch Chickpea Cutlets' recipe on Isa's Post Punk Kitchen site, which is what I follow. No lemon zest) They freeze perfectly and thaw quickly! We eat these in everything from burgers, chop them up and tuck them in wraps, top some homemade fettuccine alfredo, chop them up and fry them with some veggies and throw them in some quesadillas... these can go anywhere (and do if you live in my family! lol). I cook mine on my giant non-stick griddle instead of pan frying. Make sure you keep pressing them down when cooking. That really keeps them from getting too fat (and thus too gummy inside). So far I've been a seitan failure but these come out perfect every time :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2010

    • on September 06, 2010

      These are really good and would make great sandwiches. I'm gonna use vegan chicken flavored broth next time instead of vegetable broth and add some cajun seasoning for a spicy "chicken" sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

      We made these as small nuggets and fried them. They were awesome!!! Great, meaty texture and savory flavor. We made them for the kids, but the grownups inhaled them as well. Another brilliant recipe from Veganomicon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      It tasted good but was extremely rubbery. One of my relatives couldn't eat it with their bad teeth. I'm not crazy about it myself because the texture just isn't that appetizing. I didn't knead it for too long, but I baked it in the oven, and the book says that frying it gives it a less chewy texture. If I cook it again I might try that. The amount of gluten is definitely necessary for binding all the chickpeas together, but its texture is too overbearing. I can barely remember what the cutlets taste like, but I remember their rubbery (and I mean RUBBERY) texture. I served this to guests who had never had a vegan meal and I think it sent them running in the other direction, like to a steak house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      Very good. I used the oven method. Couldn't find my thume so used 1/2 tsp poultry seasoning. Flavor is good, but they're a bit soft and bready. Perhaps I should have kneaded the dough longer. The oatside edges got chewy and "meaty" but the inside wasn't going to fool anyone lol I'm going to play around with this a bit. Try adding in some tahini or PB, maybe a little less broth, or a little more gluten. Either way this one is going in the recipe box! You'd never know they're made with chickpeas either. I'll return and update if I find some phenomenal improvement :) THESE ARE DEFINATELY WORTH TRYING!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      These were very yummy topped with the Golden Gravy that is posted on here. I followed QueenKungFu's suggestion and stuck them in the oven since we are trying to cut way back on oil. I also only put one tablespoon in the cutlets. They are probably better with two, but . . . :O) Thanks so much for sharing!! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      I just tried this recipe from the Veganomicon and they were so good. Very easy to make, didn't take me very long and I'll definitely make them again. I didn't like the seitan when I tried that recipe, but this one is going in the repertoire!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      very interesting recipe. My husband and I thought it had too much gluten in it, so next time I'll try less. I ran out of olive oil, so I ended up only being able to put in half of what it called for which seemed to work out fine. Our favorite part was the crispy fried part, so next time, I will make sure to flatten them out a lot more. I might even make them smaller. I look forward to trying these again sometime. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      I adore this recipe. I like to sub jerk seasoning and garnish with mango salsa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      Delicious. I left out the lemon. Very easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      These are a little dry on their own, I recommend serving them with the mustard sauce from the Veganomicon (I think I have that recipe posted). That said, they're a nice change from tofu and seitan for me when I want a 'meaty' main dish. I also used the oven method: brush with olive oil, bake at 375 for 20 minutes, flip and bake an additonal 8-10 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      EXCELLENT! My teenage son (who's an omni) really liked these and so did I. Simple easy recipe that made enough for me to freeze for later. I served this with the Golden Gravy. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chickpea Cutlets

    Serving Size: 1 (91 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 193.5
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    38%
    Total Fat 8.2 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 781.6 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vital wheat gluten

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites