Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / "Chile Rellenos" Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    "Chile Rellenos"

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on June 12, 2003

      WOW! When you need a Mexican fix, this is the recipe to try. These are so easy to make and really hit the spot! I love the idea of being able to prepare them ahead of time. Thank you for sharing this. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2003

      Grandma Pam, Oh my goodness,these were so easy to do,and they were so very good. We dipped them in salsa,and they were a hit with my husband. Thank you so much!!! Darlene Summers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2004

      OMG! If I could give this recipe more than 5 stars I would! I loved the ease of prep, and the flavor was awesome! I wasn't sure which size can to use, and realized that 1 4 oz was not nearly enough...it only had 3 chiles in it. hehe So I would recommend at least 3 of those. I made up a green gravy to serve with these as well that I will be posting. Deeeeelicious!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2013

      I used to work at a Mexican Food Resteraunt in Littleton when I was in High School that is now out of business. I worked in the kitchen and this recepi is very similar to what we used to make. I'm not sure if they used egg roll wraps as our chili rellenos were actually prepared by someone in the family and brought in frozen several times a week. I have been trying to replicate their recepi and never thought of egg roll wraps but that makes sense. I'm going to try it tonight. And we covered ours in home made green chili and garneshed with chopped lettuce. Oh the resteraunt started with "Mission"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2011

      Yum! We're making rellenos tonight and LOVE the egg roll wrappers! Haven't used cornstarch yet but I'm excited to try it tonight. We usually use colby jack, mild/medium cheddar AND cream cheese! Adding cream cheese to our rellenos makes them out of this world delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2010

      These were awesome! I used fresh poblanos, roasted and peeled, and should have brined them, as they needed the punch of the brine, but they were still fantastic. Thanks for sharing one of our new addictions!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      I will give these a try. I've made them, but not with cornstarch. I'm from colorado, and the Best Chile Tellenos I've ever had is from Gordo's. It use to be on colfax, then it went to 6th and Sheridan, now it's at 44th and Wadsword. BEST CHILE RELLENOS IN TOWN! ...I can never get them as good, though..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

      Loved this recipe. I only made four as an appetizer with a freshly roasted chili and pepper jack cheese. Served it with Hot Pepper Garlic Jelly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      I grew up eating these on Football sundays. We used to fry up hundreds for the game and there would never be any leftovers. Being from CO this is the only chile relleno that I love! They are SUPER EASY to make. Super easy to eat. When I was really small my mom didn't put the chile in some just for us kids. Instead we got a whole lot of cheese. We used to use monterey jack and/or cheddar. I prefer pepperjack now because it adds a little extra something to them. We never used cornstarch (I am guessing that is to keep them from sticking together when made ahead of time). But they turn out fantastic. If you are looking for an easy appetizer recipe or just something different these are SOOOOO worth it! They taste great on their own but any kind of mexican dip/sauce would probably make these that much more yummy! Happy Eating!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      I am pretty sure I know which Mexican restaurant in Colorado..I am from Colorado too..(Grand Junction, CO) and if its the same restaurant I know of..I am crushed that they are out of business..? Anyway these chili rellenos were baked (or maybe the "warmed up" enchilada sauce was just poured over the chili relleno) in a mild enchilada sauce (after initial frying) and before serving..and they were the best...I am so glad that Colorado Cookie shared this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      Oh wow, I remember having this at a little place in Denver called the something Street Dairy YEARS AGO. They sold for like 90 cents a pop and were sooo good. It's an authentic Colorado recipe for sure. Thanks CC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      I made mine more or less the way Chef #173443 made hers - and OMG LOOK OUT! I don't think there's much you could do wrong with these, esp if you include cheese! I made these twice this week - once fried and once brushed with oil and put under the broiler (flipped once). Both worked out great! WILL MAKE THIS ONE OFTEN, THANKS!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2007

      These were pretty good. I liked the ease of preparation. You could also buy mild diced green chilies and grated cheese and put them in won ton wrappers for small appetizers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      *Wonderful!* Definately need to buy the LARGE wonton wrappers, and use pepper-jack cheese for flavor. SOOO easy and delicious. I served over a pool of left-over enchilada sauce (Cheese Enchiladas in Yummy Red Sauce) and some left-over Cilantro Creme & salsa (Lime Salsa Chicken Skewers With Cilantro Crème Sauce). As you can tell, I was "Jonesing" for Mexican food all weekend. THANKS so much for a MUCH simpler and delightful Relleno recipe. I'll actually MAKE them more often, now that they don't take an hour to construct!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      Chile rellenos are my favorite mexican food! My boyfriend and I only like the crispy ones so this recipe was perfect!!! I have to agree, the egg roll wrappers are probably the smartest idea ever came up with!!! It works so well and tastes so delicious. what cheese have u all found to be the best? The mexican restaurant I go to uses mozarella. OK well this is soooo delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      I think the egroll wrapper idea is GENIOUS.I made a few small changes.I used fresh poblanos,instead of canned chiles.I sauteed the poblanos with tomatoes,onion and cilantro,and seasoned them with Goya Sazon.I used over-sized spring roll wrappers.I used 2 spring rolls at a time (to keep all of the juicy peppers inside),I put 1 slice of muenster cheese on the wrapper,added a heaping spoon of the pepper filling,added a slice of cheese on top,and rolled it up tightly.I sealed it with a small dab of flour-water paste,so it stayed sealed while frying.These were so quick to put together and everyone DEVOURED them.Whoever made up this idea of putting them inside a wrapper was brilliant.Authentic Chile Rellenos are a pain to make,and these have all of the flavor without the aggravion of peeling the peppers,whipping the egg batter and so on.Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2005

      I just started posting reviews but I should have a long time ago for this recipe. I have made these at least 5 times. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2005

      Wow, so easy and really great! After the first two, we didn't roll them in the cornstarch, and really couldn't tell any difference. We also started thinking about what we could add to give them more zip and what else we could put in egg roll wrappers. My 17 year old son kept eating and eating them! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2005

      As coincidence would have it, I am certain that I know what restaurant this recipe is referring to, as I frequented the place for many years and always ordered the chilis rellenos. I was sad to see the restaurant close its doors as it was a common hang-out for my group of friends, but I have tried this recipe and it does a great job of duplicating those crispy "gringo" style rellenos. Be sure to eat them while they are crispy- if you let them sit they will get soggy. They are especially great when served with a smothering of green chile!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2004

      How easy and yummy! I am always looking for a do ahead recipe. My DH and I ate them for supper but what a fabulous appetizer to share. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Cheese Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for "Chile Rellenos"

    Serving Size: 1 (28 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 94.0
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    66%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 18.1 mg
    6%
    Sodium 274.3 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.3 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    egg roll wraps

    whole green chilies

    cornstarch

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites