Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Chili's Chicken Crispers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chili's Chicken Crispers

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on March 03, 2012

      This is a great recipe. I do want to stress that it has the process backwards. In order to get the crispy crust of the Chili's Crispers you have:

      FIRST DIP THE CHICKEN IN THE BATTER, THEN DIP IN THE FLOUR.

      This will give you the perfect crispy chicken crispers, better than Chili's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2013

      Loved this recipe! Great suggestion to first dip the chicken in the batter then the flour; it made the chicken really crispy! Preparing it by flouring then dipping will make the crust turn out more like how you would get it at Chili's. Great either way though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      my husband loved it, but we gotta figure out a way to keep the batter from sticking to the fryer. It's not as puffy as the chili's crispers, but it does taste really good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      I am a HUGE fan of Chili's chicken crispers! This is EXACTLY like 'em if not better! I found this recipe about 6 weeks ago and have made it at least 4 or 5 times! I went exactly to the recipe and have even used 2% milk in a pinch and it turned out fine. I mixed together 2/3 cup light mayo, 2 TBS. dijon mustard, and 1/4 cup honey and it made a honey mustard that was EXACTLY like Chili's! LOVE IT! LOVE IT! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2014

      I am a starter in the kitchen and this recipe was so easy! It came out delicious!!! Thank you so much for sharing, it was perfection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2014

      This recipe is excellent as is. If you want the chicken crispers to be similar to what you find at Chili's, do as the author says and dip the chicken in the dry flour first, THEN the wet batter. The other way works fine if you're looking for a harder crunch, but I tried both ways and definitely preferred their method that was much closer to the restaurant's, which was I chose this recipe in the first place!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2014

      Chili's chicken Crispers has been one of my favorites for years!! This was spot on and I followed the recipe to a T... I have been making a really good honey mustard recipe for years now ( 1/2 cup mayo, 2 Tbs Dijon mustard, 2 Tbs honey and 1 Tbs lemon juice it went so well with this... I served this with cinnamon apples. Corn and fries... Just like Chili's... I will make this again as my whole family really liked it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2014

      These were awesome. The only thing I changed was that I seasoned the flour and chicken tenders to my liking prior to dredging in the flour then wet mix. They turned out perfect. Will definitely make these again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2013

      Ok let me start off saying I am the WORLDS biggest fan of chilis chicken crispers! <br/>Second of all i read all of the reviews so I tried out both ways, batter then flour and flour then batter (as recipe states)! To get the chicken crispers like chilis you HAVE to do flour and then batter! But I have to make one tiny correction!! * in the recipe it says let some of the batter drip off and then place into oil. I tried my first batch like this and they were not fluffy and puffy like chilis, I was pretty disappointed! <br/>SOOO, to get the tenders JUST like chilis do not and let me repeat DO NOT let the batter drip straight from the batter bowl into the oil! They will be nice and fluffy just,like chilis!!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2013

      Wonderful! I bought a new deep fryer and this was my inaugural recipe! Tasted great! Had some extra batter left over so I battered some mushrooms and fried them also. Tasted great (just be sure to flour mushrooms first before batter like chicken or batter won't stick as well).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2013

      This is a great recipe as is except for one MAJOR OMISSION - use SWANSON CHICKEN BROTH LIKE TODD'S RECIPE CALLS FOR, not just regular. This is imperative! On another note, I've used this more than ten times and never had any issue. Until tonight. Tried the suggestion to batter first and THEN dip in the flour. Just thought maybe I was missing something. Huge mistake. Not at all like Chilis and my dinner was well, not like Chili's. At all. Will definitely NOT be doing that again. Different, yes. Like Chili's? Oof. Not in the least. Maybe Canes...? Dip in flour first, people, then batter. And let me repeat: use Swanson Chicken Broth and this is the EXACT clone of the recipe. I cannot stress ENOUGH that this recipe does NOT "have the process wrong". Because you are absolutely wrong. Just trying to help.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      i loved this recipe !! i cooked it in both ways ... i coated each piece of chicken with dry flour, and then dunk the chicken into the batter, but i also dip the chicken in the batter then dip in the flour to make it more crispy .. my DH always ask for this recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2012

      Taste wise, super good. Don't use the wire basket in the fryer though, batter sticks right to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2011

      This recipe was created by Todd Wilbur for his book "Top Secret Restaurant Recipes 2" (Penguin/Putnam) and www.TopSecretRecipes.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      Thank you for posting! I don't have to waste my money on these any more when I go to Chili's (I can try other things to try to make at home now). I absolutely love them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      This was great. Does stick to the basket but the taste is awesome. I couldn't stop eating them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      Delicious, tastes very close to Chili's Chicken Crispers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      was good, but try using ice cold club soda instead of milk....the crust on Chili's tenders remind us of these old fried chicken places in california a long time ago called Pioneer...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      Very good. Almost like Chili's, but not quite. It seems like something is missing. No idea what though. I do suggest removing the basket from your fryer. I didn't have any tongs so I experimented with the two batches. If you have to leave the basket in have it already dropped into the oil when you put the chicken in. Use a fork to move them around so they don't stick to the bottom as much. Also, the fewer the better when your using the basket. No more than 4 at a time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      Very yummy! I've tried several recipies for chicken tenders and this was by far the best, my husband agreed. I used 2% milk instead of whole and used oil to fry in skillet instead of deep frying (I don't own a deep fryer).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chili's Chicken Crispers

    Serving Size: 1 (122 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 202.7
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    10%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 48.0 mg
    16%
    Sodium 1433.6 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken tenderloins

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes