33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a great recipe. I do want to stress that it has the process backwards. In order to get the crispy crust of the Chili's Crispers you have:

FIRST DIP THE CHICKEN IN THE BATTER, THEN DIP IN THE FLOUR.

This will give you the perfect crispy chicken crispers, better than Chili's.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soulja March 03, 2012

Loved this recipe! Great suggestion to first dip the chicken in the batter then the flour; it made the chicken really crispy! Preparing it by flouring then dipping will make the crust turn out more like how you would get it at Chili's. Great either way though!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amateurchefNJ February 02, 2013

my husband loved it, but we gotta figure out a way to keep the batter from sticking to the fryer. It's not as puffy as the chili's crispers, but it does taste really good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bake Em N Take Em June 30, 2009

I am a HUGE fan of Chili's chicken crispers! This is EXACTLY like 'em if not better! I found this recipe about 6 weeks ago and have made it at least 4 or 5 times! I went exactly to the recipe and have even used 2% milk in a pinch and it turned out fine. I mixed together 2/3 cup light mayo, 2 TBS. dijon mustard, and 1/4 cup honey and it made a honey mustard that was EXACTLY like Chili's! LOVE IT! LOVE IT! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twinstimestwo March 26, 2008

I am a starter in the kitchen and this recipe was so easy! It came out delicious!!! Thank you so much for sharing, it was perfection!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mairaceja December 16, 2014

This recipe is excellent as is. If you want the chicken crispers to be similar to what you find at Chili's, do as the author says and dip the chicken in the dry flour first, THEN the wet batter. The other way works fine if you're looking for a harder crunch, but I tried both ways and definitely preferred their method that was much closer to the restaurant's, which was I chose this recipe in the first place!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RollTideFan October 10, 2014

Chili's chicken Crispers has been one of my favorites for years!! This was spot on and I followed the recipe to a T... I have been making a really good honey mustard recipe for years now ( 1/2 cup mayo, 2 Tbs Dijon mustard, 2 Tbs honey and 1 Tbs lemon juice it went so well with this... I served this with cinnamon apples. Corn and fries... Just like Chili's... I will make this again as my whole family really liked it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly.mctague_12693780 February 12, 2014

These were awesome. The only thing I changed was that I seasoned the flour and chicken tenders to my liking prior to dredging in the flour then wet mix. They turned out perfect. Will definitely make these again. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
T+4 January 23, 2014

Ok let me start off saying I am the WORLDS biggest fan of chilis chicken crispers! <br/>Second of all i read all of the reviews so I tried out both ways, batter then flour and flour then batter (as recipe states)! To get the chicken crispers like chilis you HAVE to do flour and then batter! But I have to make one tiny correction!! * in the recipe it says let some of the batter drip off and then place into oil. I tried my first batch like this and they were not fluffy and puffy like chilis, I was pretty disappointed! <br/>SOOO, to get the tenders JUST like chilis do not and let me repeat DO NOT let the batter drip straight from the batter bowl into the oil! They will be nice and fluffy just,like chilis!!!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Princessjle October 03, 2013

Wonderful! I bought a new deep fryer and this was my inaugural recipe! Tasted great! Had some extra batter left over so I battered some mushrooms and fried them also. Tasted great (just be sure to flour mushrooms first before batter like chicken or batter won't stick as well).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth in Tennessee September 29, 2013
Chili's Chicken Crispers