11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very tasty. I was thinking that a little soy sauce and/or chili sauce would help it out a lot, though. Next time I'll try it out that way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ManglinYourRecipes September 20, 2009

THE SAUCE IS EXCELLENT, so double it! I made my own batter, but copied the sauce recipe exactly (except doubled) and it was the perfect amount to feed two hungry people. Next time I think I will use half sugar and half honey to make it even more "honey-ish"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lchaim7 March 19, 2009

This was very tasty. I used honey instead of sugar at the request of my roommate, and it turned out nicely. Thanks a lot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kyene June 12, 2008

My kids LOVED this chicken. Frying it twice is a bit more work, but definitely worth it as the chicken was really crispy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj April 23, 2008

This was as close to the restaraunts honey chicken I've ever tasted. Was def a hit with the family. Only thing I changed is I actually added a 1 tbs of honey to the sauce and left out the salt. Will def make this again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma of 4 #795827 April 18, 2008

wow! This is an incredible recipe. We frequent a chinese buffet up the road and this is by far, WAYY better than their honey chicken. When you drizzle the sauce on the chicken, the chicken just glistens, looks lovely on the table served with a big bowl of white rice and some stir fried vegetables. Your kids will love it. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryhhug September 10, 2007

DUDE .....DUDE....DUDE You have steped on a gold mine im shocked this has the low reviews it does if MCDonalds marketed this there wouldnt be a burger king i substitutied white meat for dark though being as its more tender and i doubled sauce ( hands down ) (spot on) PS ..... my wife made me make it ..... and now im thanking her

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hotwingcooker March 14, 2007

my 7 year old who loves the 'bought' chinese honey chicken says its just like the real thing only better! But definately leave out the extra 2 tabs of salt. What is that doing there?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bush Potato January 02, 2007

My kids and I loved this! I must have missed reading the two tablespoons of salt, and only used 1/2. It was "labour intensive" as I don't have a deep fryer,and could only cook small batches of chicken, but the kids loved it, and there were no leftovers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Watto1 July 06, 2005

I need to amend my review - I naturally omit or adjust the salt in every recipie which I failed to mention in my orginal review. I think I only added a teaspoon or so to this recipie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate Joiner April 11, 2005
Chinese Honey Chicken