11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Haven't made them,I just wanted to say that this is a Spanish recipe and very possible to be different from the Mexican version.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia January 30, 2010

These were very fast & easy to make but tasted nothing like those we're used to from a local Mexican restaurant. They seemed too dense and eggy, like the inside didn't want to cook. I doubt we'll finish them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feisty Redhead May 27, 2009

Worked out great. I doubled it, but added 1/4 c of sugar to the water and butter as they boiled (don't use margarine, whatever you do!), because I don't like unsweetened batters. They were delicious plain, and even more so with the sugar and cinnamon. My only complaint - my star tip was too small! I'd love these to have been a little fatter & puffy; mine look like sweet french fries. For an easy "dip", I just melted a Cocoa Camino 71% bar with some condensed milk. Mmm... it's traditional to eat deep-fried foods at Chanukah, and this is sure to become a classic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jay3fer December 21, 2008

We loved these, however there's something *missing* to make them "real" churros as we're accustomed to here on the border. I used the frying pan method and had a very difficult time finding the right balance to make them lightly browned on the outside, but cooked all the way through inside.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JESMom March 02, 2008

Very tasty treat. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rebturley February 02, 2008

they were d-lish

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
g.williams72 January 04, 2008

I made this recipe, and was delicious! (I added 1/2 tsp vanilla to eggs before mixing them into the dough). They are pretty quick to make too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jazibe November 01, 2007

I made these for my Mexican theme housewarming party and there were none left at the end of the night! They were great! I squeezed the dough out of a ziploc bag with the tip cut off because I couldn't find a large enough star tip and it worked just fine. They were crispy on the outside and nice and fluffy on the inside. I rolled them in a cinnamon, sugar mix and they were gobbled up. Thanks Mille for a great recipe! This has been put in my favorite binder!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wkdml_3 September 29, 2007

Well, things were going fine until I had to squeeze the mixture into the pan. I don't have a cake decorator's tub so I thought I'd try and improvise with a zip-lock bag. Within seconds of actually trying to implement this, I realized it wasn't one of my better ideas. Still, I was not defeated and relying on my college-student-resourcefulnes instinct, I reached for an ice-cream scooper (the kind that shoots out nice, rounded balls) and set to work. This worked relatively well and I smooshed down the churro balls in the pan with a slotted spatula. In the end, I had delicious, cinnamon-sugar coated churro patties. Thanks for a great recipe. Next time I try these again I'll be sure to use the proper tools. ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Salmon of Doubt April 30, 2006

I got this same recipe off of food network. It is so very good! I made it for my husbands birthday (he loves mexican)and it was a hit!! the kids love it and the hot chocolate is like pudding. YUM. Definatly worth a try!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
startnover June 11, 2005
Churros