Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Churros Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Churros

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on January 30, 2010

      Haven't made them,I just wanted to say that this is a Spanish recipe and very possible to be different from the Mexican version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      These were very fast & easy to make but tasted nothing like those we're used to from a local Mexican restaurant. They seemed too dense and eggy, like the inside didn't want to cook. I doubt we'll finish them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      Worked out great. I doubled it, but added 1/4 c of sugar to the water and butter as they boiled (don't use margarine, whatever you do!), because I don't like unsweetened batters. They were delicious plain, and even more so with the sugar and cinnamon. My only complaint - my star tip was too small! I'd love these to have been a little fatter & puffy; mine look like sweet french fries. For an easy "dip", I just melted a Cocoa Camino 71% bar with some condensed milk. Mmm... it's traditional to eat deep-fried foods at Chanukah, and this is sure to become a classic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      We loved these, however there's something *missing* to make them "real" churros as we're accustomed to here on the border. I used the frying pan method and had a very difficult time finding the right balance to make them lightly browned on the outside, but cooked all the way through inside.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      Very tasty treat. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      they were d-lish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      I made this recipe, and was delicious! (I added 1/2 tsp vanilla to eggs before mixing them into the dough). They are pretty quick to make too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2007

      I made these for my Mexican theme housewarming party and there were none left at the end of the night! They were great! I squeezed the dough out of a ziploc bag with the tip cut off because I couldn't find a large enough star tip and it worked just fine. They were crispy on the outside and nice and fluffy on the inside. I rolled them in a cinnamon, sugar mix and they were gobbled up. Thanks Mille for a great recipe! This has been put in my favorite binder!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2006

      Well, things were going fine until I had to squeeze the mixture into the pan. I don't have a cake decorator's tub so I thought I'd try and improvise with a zip-lock bag. Within seconds of actually trying to implement this, I realized it wasn't one of my better ideas. Still, I was not defeated and relying on my college-student-resourcefulnes instinct, I reached for an ice-cream scooper (the kind that shoots out nice, rounded balls) and set to work. This worked relatively well and I smooshed down the churro balls in the pan with a slotted spatula. In the end, I had delicious, cinnamon-sugar coated churro patties. Thanks for a great recipe. Next time I try these again I'll be sure to use the proper tools. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2005

      I got this same recipe off of food network. It is so very good! I made it for my husbands birthday (he loves mexican)and it was a hit!! the kids love it and the hot chocolate is like pudding. YUM. Definatly worth a try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2002

      Excellent! Everyone loved them. I didn;t make the dipping sauce, and they tasted great. They are best served while still warm, yet are still tasty even when cold. It doesn;t take long to make and is a great snack item.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Churros

    Serving Size: 1 (89 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 185.7
     
    Calories from Fat 110
    59%
    Total Fat 12.2 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 46.8 mg
    15%
    Sodium 141.9 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes