Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Churros / Fried Dough Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Churros / Fried Dough

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on May 27, 2013

      I do not fry, I do not do it well. However, I really fancied churros lately [my mother was from Madrid, Spain, and she would make these for us whilst we were growing up] and I found this recipe....I didn't use nutmeg, but dusted the finished churros with powdered sugar and dunked them into hot coffee ... so nostalgic! Tasted JUST like the ones my mother used to make!! I will definitely keep this recipe and make it again and again! Thank you so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2013

      Excellent! I thank you, and my kids both thank you for this recipe. I didn't make the dipping sauce, since we just tossed these with cinnamon and sugar donut style, but the dough is great. Used a thick freezer style zip bag in place of a pastry bag, and it worked great. The first 3 were made when I had cut the corner too large, but a mid cooking bag replacement worked great. My only problem was mixing the eggs all in at once. Tried and failed... Had to break out the Kitchen Aid and paddle to get this mixed while hoping I had no scrambled egg. Next time will just dump it in there in the first place, or beat the eggs in one after the other. Going to have to get a pastry bag and tips to make this correctly to have the crunchy edges we like so much. Thanks for sharing. This makes a ton, btw, so be prepared to share. I've only made half so far and we have about 10 of these as big around as my middle finger and about 8 inches long. Not sure how well the dough will keep, but will be making the rest in a couple hours when hubby gets home.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      Great, well written recipe that turned out great (not pretty) churros for my daughter's spanish class. The kids and the teacher enjoyed them and they didn't come home with any leftovers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      This was our first time eating churros, so I have no comparison. The kids loved them. Hubby & I thought they were good. I'll probably make them again sometime when we're having a mexican-style dinner. I didn't pay attention to how many it serves, next time I'll only make a half batch!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      So good... :) We skipped the chocolate and only made half a batch but still had plenty left over. My picky husband was very impressed and happy! We coated these with a cinnamon sugar mixture. Thank you!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      Haven't seen my star tip since last Christmas and now I know I have to search out another one. Made them last night when expecting friends for coffee. I used a plain round tip for piping into the hot oil, rolled them in cinnamon sugar and ate the first half while frying the second half, hahaha. I used one one cup of milk to one-and-a-half rounds of Ibarra and that was perfect for us. TFS!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2013

      I loved this and so did my family. I left out the 1/4c oil, baking powder and nutmeg and replaced it with an extra egg. Really by accident but these came out fluffy and moist so I was happy I left out the oil. I might try some brown sugar instead of powder next time like the ones in Mexico but this was great. I went from ingredients to churros in about 30 mins so that was nice. Because I'm so impatient . Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2012

      This is a really good recipe for Churros- they taste just like the ones we had in Spain. Will definitely make again. It is important to use a good quality piping bag though as the dough is quite dense so a thin bag could fall apart :) thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2011

      These were absolutely lovely! I don't have a piping bag so I tried to improvise and used a large ziploc style bag, not a good idea since it bust open after only piping out 3 churros. Undaunted I pulled out my cookie press, chose a disc that I thought would work and after a bit of messing around, voila, I had lovely twisty churros ready to fry. A definite hit with the kids, but I should have made half the recipe as it truly makes a lot of churros! Thanks for another keeper Rita! Made and enjoyed for team Mischief Makers - ZWT #7.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      These are great. I doubled the recipe because I needed a lot of them. I work in a restaurant as a cook and I do all the baking. On Wednesdays we have Mexican day which are our specials for the day. Our chef wanted to have so that if you ordered something Mexican you got dessert compliments of the chef- So I set off in search of a churro recipe and this is the one I chose and they were fantastic. Thanks for a great one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      Great dessert with a Mexican meal. I made half a recipe and it was more than enough for the two of us. Have lots of the chocolate caliente left over. May make the dough again real soon to use the sauce. Do make sure the rods are small so they cook all the way through. I cut the hole in the plastic bag too big.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      These were a delicious late night snack! I couldn't find mexican chocolate or corn oil at our Target so I subbed vegetable oil and some unsweetened chocolate with milk chocolate (semi-sweet together). I didn't have a pastry bag so I used a plastic sandwich bag which made nice rods. I didn't eat them all so I will have to experiment with how to heat them up as I am sure the microwave will make them soggy. A delicious snack all over! Made for ZWT5, A Storybook Meal, Dining Daredevils. UPDATE: ok so to reheat them I baked them in the oven and also did a batch in the leftover vegetable oil. The ones in the oven ended up being crunchier while the ones that I fried again ended up being softer (but not soggy). I was very happy with the results as I know that normally fried foods can harden or dry up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      Muy delicioso!! These were easy to make and fantastic to taste. I couldn't find any Mexican chocolate, so I subbed 4oz. semi-sweet chocolate and 2 tsp. Ceylon (Mexican) cinnamon. I also used freshly grated nutmeg. Made for the Epicurean Queens ZWT5: A Storybook Meal Spain/Portugual.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      These were absolutely delicious and were simply inhaled by everyone for dessert tonight. I couldn't find Mexican Chocolate though, so I improvised and used semi-sweet and added cinnamon to it :) Thanks for sharing this, loved it! Made this for the Rail Riding Rowdies ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      Super yummy! I made 1/4 batch for the 2 of us...gone in minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      I love churros and this is a great recipe. I tried making these using corn oil and vegetable oil for the frying and it was much better with the corn oil. For some reason, they were crispier and didn't bun as easily when I used the corn oil. Thanks for the easy and delicious recipe for a sweet treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      My son and I made this for his school report on Spain. We made a test batch the night before and found the flavor was perfect. However, I didn't have a star tip large enough, and I could not get the center to cook without burning the outside. I will definately try again, with the correct sized tip! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      I never made churros before..... I have been missing out on so much!! I couldnt find my piping bag so I just scooped them into little balls. I also scaled this down to use one egg since I did not want to make a whole lot.... wish I hadnt scaled it down now! Made for ZWT 3!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      We loved these. (Even though mine didn't turn out nearly so pretty.) No matter. We ate most of them as soon as they were cool enough to not burn. I dropped one, and the dog wouldn't stop begging after that, so I think she gives it five stars (paws?), too. Made for ZWT III

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Churros / Fried Dough

    Serving Size: 1 (164 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 383.7
     
    Calories from Fat 183
    47%
    Total Fat 20.4 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 9.3 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 105.6 mg
    35%
    Sodium 406.5 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 15.9 g
    63%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes