Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Classic Fried Catfish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Classic Fried Catfish

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2002

      This is a great recipe. This one is a keeper. It was absolutly delicious. I added the salt to taste to the coating. We will be making this one for good. Thank you for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2002

      I have used this recipe for years! My only modification is that I use 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper and 1/2 teaspoon ground red pepper instead of the 1 teaspoon red pepper. Also, because where we live in SE Texas, we are usually cooking fresh catfish, I soak the fish in buttermilk about 30 minutes before frying. This method may be used for catfish filets or frying whole, pansized catfish. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2002

      This recipe was easy & delicious. I have never eaten or prepared catfish before, but I was impressed with this recipe. *** I dipped in milk first.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2002

      Used this to coat catfish DH and I caught while camping. Took the coating with us in a ziploc, breaded fresh catfish fillets (that I had soaked in buttermilk for a few hours) and cooked them in a cast iron skillet over a fire! Yummy! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      My husband and I love this recipe! We catch out own catfish and this is our favorite way to prepare it.The only changes that we make are that we increase the Ground Red Pepper to at least 2 teaspoons. We like it with a kick! This recipe is way better than any store bought coating you can buy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2011

      This classic fried catfish was just delicious. So simple and easy to fix. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      This came out pretty good and husband liked it.When I bread something I usually used only flour but the cornmeal on this gave it a nice crunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      Delicious. I fixed this for our family of 5 and for my sister and brother in law. It was really good. I had to double the recipe, of course. The ground red pepper gives this fish a really nice kick. I think frying it in the cast iron is the trick. Thanks so much for sharing. Made for Zaar Cookbook tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      This recipe was delicious! Very easy to make and tastes like I bought it from a restaurant. I doubled the red pepper and garlic powder for an extra kick of flavor. We like to eat our fried catfish on French bread with coleslaw and pickles. Thanks for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      Boy did these hit the spot! The one that made me rub my tummy, smile and go for more :) We loved these and my DS has asked me to make them again soon, so this is headed to our favorites to be made again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      I use pond-raised catfish. Don't use red pepper, but what we love in cooking in butter-flavored Crisco. Original one is in Southern Living.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      I didn't think the coating would stick to the fish without eggs, but it did. I added a little black pepper instead of red due to allergy and only used a couple of tablespoons of olive oil. Served with homemade tartar sauce and lemon wedges, peas, and scalloped potatoes. In the summer, I would do coleslaw or salad, plus steamed veggies and couscous. This was really simple and good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      Made as written with the exception of using 1/2 tsp ground black pepper instead of red pepper and fried in deep fryer. Just the right amount of coating on the fillets with wonderful flavor. This will be my go to recipe for catfish. Served with Hush Puppies (Made Easy). Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      We loved this batter! I didn't add the pepper flakes but otherwise followed the recipe. I will use this often when I make my fish from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      Who knew it was so easy to fry catfish?!?!?!? And get great results to boot? This was perfect. The coating was light and crispy and beautifully golden!! Loved it! Thanks for posting. ***I also used the mixture to fry up some green tomatoes....just sliced the tomatoes, sprinkled a little sugar on them and then dredged them through the cornmeal mixture and fried along with the catfish.....DELICIOUS!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      Catfish always hits the spot at my house and these turned out great! I added a little lemon over the top of mine, but otherwise made like the recipe states. Very easy to put together and dinner was on the table in no time. Had with sweet cornbread and coleslaw for a delicious meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      We liked it. Very easy and yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      Everyone in my house loves this! I make catfish probably once per month, but will never use another batter recipe after this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2012

      Southern Living... how can you ever go wrong with a Southern Living recipe?? The only substitution I made was to replace the wheat flour with gluten-free flour to suit my gluten sensitivity. The fillets I had from the grocery store were thicker than I usually prefer, and ended up frying them for 10 minutes in my Fry Daddy. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly, and they turned out fabulous. My 9 year old said "Mmmm! This tastes just like at a restaurant!" Thanks Bev.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      Excellent recipe. I added a little extra red pepper for some zing. Made Deely's Hush Puppies to go along with the fish. I used striper fish because the neighbor had given me a huge bag of filets. Doubled the recipe as I had a lot of fish to fry. Will use again. Thanks, Bev!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Classic Fried Catfish

    Serving Size: 1 (136 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.4
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    31%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 62.3 mg
    20%
    Sodium 988.7 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 19.0 g
    38%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes