Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Coconut Shrimp With a Kick - Baked or Fried Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coconut Shrimp With a Kick - Baked or Fried

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2010

      Amazing! We managed to get our oil too hot and burn the first two so we switched oil, cooled the pan, and improvised. We fried until almost done then out of the oil, onto a cookie sheet, and into the oven for a bit. They still had that fried taste without the greasy texture. Very fabulous, thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      I made this tonight.......it was really very good.....but I used the baking method, and the shrimp were rather bland looking. The edges of the coconut were almost burned and the rest of it stayed white. It just didn't have the color of fried shrimp that I expected. I did spray it with olive oil before baking, but it never got a good color. I certainly will try this again.......the shrimp were really good, but the next time I think I will fry them. I will review again when I do, although I don't think the recipe is the problem.......just that we are so used to eating shrimp fried and the color was very different. Also, the cayenne at first seemed not to be there, but after the first one, the flavor started building up and they had more spice than I expected. Very easy and like I said, I'll make these again. Donna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      Great coconut shrimp! Great directions. I baked the shrimp and served them with Coconut Lime Rice. Great dinner! Made for ZWT 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      Delicious! Was very surprised how yummy this turned out to be. Since I only had shredded coconut, that's what I used and they had a great texture not to mention looked verey pretty :) Also, with 15 large shrimp there were some egg whites left over, next time I will use 2. Can't wait to cook again, keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      We absolutely loved this dish! I baked them and they couldn't have turned out better. Served with Thai sweet-sour (and spicy) sauce! Thanks Hope for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      A great light coating for baked shrimp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      Fantastic recipe, I did half baked and half fried. My picky boyfriend loves O'Charley's coconut shrimp and said these were equally as good!! I used a tropical chipotle salsa for dipping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      These were so yummy! Frying is really the best way to go..I rarely fry anything so when I do it's a treat. I agree, though, that a sauce would enhance it, but I loved them alone, also!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      Awesome dipped in Sweet Thai chili sauce! A toast to our ZWT3 host!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      Great taste. Hubby and me really liked it. We baked them, but would make a dip sauce with it next time. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2007

      Fabulous Shrimp! Absolutely loved these! I baked some and pan fried the rest. Although both were wonderful, we found that we preferred the ones that were pan fried as it kind of carmelized the coconut. This is going into my best of the best cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2006

      Yes, this was really yummy! I did not really notice the spice, but the flavor was outstanding. I used coarse sweetened coconut, and along with the beaten egg white, it was like a shrimp surrounded by a coconut macaroon! I baked these and it took about 15 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2006

      Lovely! Might spice it a touch more next time but I served with a sweet chili sauce. The lightness of the coating is outstanding! To be honest, when I read the recipe I thought 3 whipped egg whites was too many, but I was wrong! I had very large eggs and used 2 of the egg whites and it made a lot! I had 16 prawns and I just about had enough..coated the last few thinner. The coconut flavor is very subtle and for next time I like to get a more coarse coconut (just for the looks), what I used was very fine. I did not use the oven method, I fried them. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coconut Shrimp With a Kick - Baked or Fried

    Serving Size: 1 (141 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 338.7
     
    Calories from Fat 146
    43%
    Total Fat 16.3 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 14.1 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 64.3 mg
    21%
    Sodium 837.7 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.8 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 21.6 g
    86%
    Protein 12.1 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes