14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Tasty and easy to make what more could a busy mom ask for?!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim3 January 10, 2002

I added 1 t dry mustard, paprika, a dash of cayenne and also used 1/2 polenta and 1/2 corn 'flour' for the cornmeal component. I cut 'village keilbasa' (selsko kolbacitz) in half, blotted them with paper towels and lightly dusted them with flour before dunking them in the batter. They held together just fine in my deep fryer. My guests said they were great, but I am coming down with cold, so unfortunately, nothing tasted good to me last night :-(. I used the excess batter to make some impromptu onion wedges. Everything got eaten! Will try again and update the review to reflect a non-illness influenced personal opinion!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KWB September 27, 2007

I added a few T of sugar to the batter- we wanted a sweeter taste, like they serve at the fair here. Floured the hot dog and put batter in a glass- very easy- batter stuck on great. Kids enjoyed.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
staceyelee September 21, 2008

What a treat, especially with cheese-filled hot dogs. I picked up a couple tips from other reicpes on this site: (1) Pat the dogs dry with a paper towel before dipping, and (2) Put the batter in a tall glass to dip. We put them on wooden skewers for frying, and also put a bit of hot pepper in the batter for more flavor. Quick and easy, and practically no dishes to wash!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allison Williams August 29, 2003

My family and I really enjoyed these corn dogs. They were a lot of fun to make. I did have to add about 1/2 cup more of milk as the batter was a bit thick. We poured the batter in a 20 oz. styrofoam cup and it worked great for dipping then just threw it away for easy clean up. The corn dogs turned out brown and crunchy. Just delicious !! Will be making again. Thank you for the recipe !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherry & Carl October 02, 2013

These fried up beautifully. I did thin my batter a bit, it seemed to stick to the dog better. I can't believe how simpe these were. And so much cheaper then buying corn dogs. Thank you so much for this recipe, as my family loves corndogs. I can make this alot more for them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour August 09, 2012

Thank you for a really good recipe! I made these tonight for my kids and they thought they were great. I had to add about a quarter of a cup more milk as the batter was just too thick. Excellent idea to dip them in a tall glass! WIll use this one again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*christie November 11, 2011

Very easy and very good! I had to make with water because we were out of milk. I found that as long as the dogs were rolled in flour first the batter stuck perfectly! I made a double batch and 3 pkgs of hot dogs. GONE in less than 30 minutes! Thank you for the recipe =]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QZ Sioux September 02, 2011

The key for success is to thoroughly dry the hot dogs and then dust them with flour so that the batter will adhere easily. Also, BYOC (Be Your Own Chef) by trying to add other ingredients to the batter..ie cayenne pepper, smoked paprika, dry mustard or even sugar or a few.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mizjmassie August 18, 2011

What I could salvage was good. The batter doesn't stick to the hot dog and the dog sticks in the deep fryer when you try to take it out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oat57 March 06, 2006
Corn Dogs