Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Corn Dogs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Corn Dogs

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2002

      Tasty and easy to make what more could a busy mom ask for?!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      I added 1 t dry mustard, paprika, a dash of cayenne and also used 1/2 polenta and 1/2 corn 'flour' for the cornmeal component. I cut 'village keilbasa' (selsko kolbacitz) in half, blotted them with paper towels and lightly dusted them with flour before dunking them in the batter. They held together just fine in my deep fryer. My guests said they were great, but I am coming down with cold, so unfortunately, nothing tasted good to me last night :-(. I used the excess batter to make some impromptu onion wedges. Everything got eaten! Will try again and update the review to reflect a non-illness influenced personal opinion!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      I added a few T of sugar to the batter- we wanted a sweeter taste, like they serve at the fair here. Floured the hot dog and put batter in a glass- very easy- batter stuck on great. Kids enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2003

      What a treat, especially with cheese-filled hot dogs. I picked up a couple tips from other reicpes on this site: (1) Pat the dogs dry with a paper towel before dipping, and (2) Put the batter in a tall glass to dip. We put them on wooden skewers for frying, and also put a bit of hot pepper in the batter for more flavor. Quick and easy, and practically no dishes to wash!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2013

      My family and I really enjoyed these corn dogs. They were a lot of fun to make. I did have to add about 1/2 cup more of milk as the batter was a bit thick. We poured the batter in a 20 oz. styrofoam cup and it worked great for dipping then just threw it away for easy clean up. The corn dogs turned out brown and crunchy. Just delicious !! Will be making again. Thank you for the recipe !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2012

      These fried up beautifully. I did thin my batter a bit, it seemed to stick to the dog better. I can't believe how simpe these were. And so much cheaper then buying corn dogs. Thank you so much for this recipe, as my family loves corndogs. I can make this alot more for them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2011

      Thank you for a really good recipe! I made these tonight for my kids and they thought they were great. I had to add about a quarter of a cup more milk as the batter was just too thick. Excellent idea to dip them in a tall glass! WIll use this one again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2011

      Very easy and very good! I had to make with water because we were out of milk. I found that as long as the dogs were rolled in flour first the batter stuck perfectly! I made a double batch and 3 pkgs of hot dogs. GONE in less than 30 minutes! Thank you for the recipe =]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2011

      The key for success is to thoroughly dry the hot dogs and then dust them with flour so that the batter will adhere easily. Also, BYOC (Be Your Own Chef) by trying to add other ingredients to the batter..ie cayenne pepper, smoked paprika, dry mustard or even sugar or a few.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2006

      What I could salvage was good. The batter doesn't stick to the hot dog and the dog sticks in the deep fryer when you try to take it out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2004

      This was an easy recipe to make, I needed to add about an extra tablespoon of milk and dusting the hotdogs with flour helps keep the batter on the dogs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2004

      I followed directions to the letter, and wound up with naked cooked hotdogs, and a bunch of cornmeal swimming around them. I did put it all in a bowl, put some mustard in it and it tasted good, it just didn't stick to the dogs at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2003

      This turned out pretty good! We made them without sticks, which turned out just as easy to do. Our oil had gotten hotter than 375, so they only took about 2 minutes to cook. We had leftover batter, which we dropped into the oil to fry too, and they turned out as delicious little pastries!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2001

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Corn Dogs

    Serving Size: 1 (85 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 290.2
     
    Calories from Fat 142
    48%
    Total Fat 15.7 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 58.6 mg
    19%
    Sodium 701.1 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.9 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    6%
    Protein 9.8 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites