13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

OMG!!!! This recipe was amazing.. the only thing that I did to change it was added some honey to it. It was perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JamieLee1214 August 27, 2009

The only complaint I had about this recipe is that it does not make enough lol. I ended up making 3 batches so that I could freeze some and then just pull them out of the freezer later and heat them in the toaster oven at 350 for 10 to 15 minutes. I did roll my hot dogs in flour before dipping in the batter. I made mini corn dogs and used a toothpick to roll them in the batter then removed toothpick as I was placing them in the deep fryer. Thanks for a great recipe. I will never buy another corn dog!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red in US March 11, 2009

This was great! We had lots of salad and other stuff with it and had a great comfortable dinner. I followed the recipe exactly but i did not deep fry the dogs but grilled them in the oven at 320° for about 20 minutes. Thank you for giving as the chance to get to know this dish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iceland August 17, 2008

Hint--if your batter won't stick, try rolling the hot dog in flour first, then the batter--works like a charm! Very tasty batter-thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmirish October 22, 2007

Worked perfectly. I made these last night without the sticks. We loved them. The corn batter was perfect. I did roll the hot dogs in some flour before battering and thats what I do with all my fried foods. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour September 07, 2011

Pretty bad corn dogs. My boyfriend grew up on them and swears they are the worst he's had. Batter fell off the hot dogs as soon as they got in the oil, and the method for getting the batter evenly on does not work. Are there more directions or more specifics to make the correct recipe? Not for my ruined meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gentleman_gourmand May 30, 2011

it was great. i don't know why everyone didn't give it 5 stars

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef warren September 11, 2008

Made this with my 6 yr old grandson and he was exuberant about the whole experience. My suggestion is to make sure the frankfurters are totally dry and let them air out for about 5 minutes. the batter will stick like you expect it and it will look like something out of the county fair. My only suggestion is to make a bit more batter because trying to put batter on the sixth dog is a bit of bear. Finicky two tear old grandson ate a whole dog. Really surprised us. It's a nostalgic keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicoisa July 09, 2008

It was pretty good, but the batter could stick to the hot dogs better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shasha October 21, 2007
Corn Dogs