15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are great! I've never had crab cakes before, let alone the ones from Joe's Crab Shack so I have nothing to compare them to but they are quite tasty. I had to make some changes based on the ingredients I had in the cupboards. I used about 1/2 cup of dry stove-top mix as I ran out of breadcrumbs, substituted a couple dashes of hot sauce for the pepper flakes and omitted the Old Bay seasoning completely as they don't seem to sell it at any of the stores here. I also didn't bother coating them in flour, and I pan-fried mine in olive oil as I'm trying to watch my weight. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie Lou Who May 19, 2008

As a life long maryland resident and crab cake lover I have to say this recipe has great flavor and tatste and really easy to make. I used Jumbo Lump Backfin Blue Crab meat of course. I also grilled them to help reduce the fat content and they were GREAT. They would work well broiled and for those not concerned with their diet I bet they are wonderful fried. The best part is they were even better the next day. We had cooked too many. I know hard to beleive and had to refrigerate some till the next day. I usually don't like left over reheated crab cakes. The wife and I both agreed these were even better the second day. Next time we will cook them and refrigerate them, and eat them the second day. Thanks for a GREAT recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TEJx3 February 24, 2008

Good, but way too spicy for me. I would cut the black pepper down to 1/4 Teasponn, omit the red pepper, and offer a spicy sauce on the side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trohren April 13, 2008

these were sooooo good!!! i'm planning on making again but as a main course (crab cake burgers.....yum!)i had a similar recipe that i had lost....i don't remember mine having the old bay seasoning, so i used my regular seasoned salt, but will try again with the old bay seasoning. i would have used it in the first place but i didn't have any on hand. thank you! update: 02/11/08 tried these as burgers on toasted sourdough with tarter sauce, tomatoes, arugula and onions and they were so yummy. made them a little larger than if they were apps. to fill the bread. will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brisket in Roses February 12, 2008

Absolutely Delicious!! DH wants me to make again soon. I made these as the main course with broccoli and a salad. Very fulfilling. We've never been to Joe's Crab Shack so I can't say that they are similar but I can vouche that they are mighty tastey! Thanks for a wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barefootmommawv January 21, 2008

Have eaten at Joe's, but never had the crab cakes & not sure I would w/these babies around. I made the recipe exactly as written except that I shallow-fried them in olive oil. My crab mixture was fairly loose & I doubt it would have held up for deep frying. They were nicely crisped & well-seasoned w/the crab taste shining through. Thx for sharing this keeper w/us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis March 26, 2007

These crab cakes had waaaaay too much bread. I couldn't even taste the crab. The seasoning was fine. I would recommend that when making these, cut back on the bread crumbs by 1/4. I'm not sure what that would do to the rest of the wet ingredients (egg/mayonaise).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ginagustin September 19, 2006

These were a little dry and not close to Joe's in our opinion. They did have a good flavor though. I will say that we used imitation crab meat because Tom is allergic to the real thing, so perhaps that dried it out?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CandyTX August 18, 2006

These were wonderful. Made as directed and they weren perfect!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 148068 July 23, 2006

I made these for my son-in-law. This is his rating and he is a crab cake connoisseur! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Reynolds July 22, 2006
Crab Cakes Like Joe's Crab Shack