Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Crab Cakes Like Joe's Crab Shack Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crab Cakes Like Joe's Crab Shack

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on May 19, 2008

      These are great! I've never had crab cakes before, let alone the ones from Joe's Crab Shack so I have nothing to compare them to but they are quite tasty. I had to make some changes based on the ingredients I had in the cupboards. I used about 1/2 cup of dry stove-top mix as I ran out of breadcrumbs, substituted a couple dashes of hot sauce for the pepper flakes and omitted the Old Bay seasoning completely as they don't seem to sell it at any of the stores here. I also didn't bother coating them in flour, and I pan-fried mine in olive oil as I'm trying to watch my weight. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      As a life long maryland resident and crab cake lover I have to say this recipe has great flavor and tatste and really easy to make. I used Jumbo Lump Backfin Blue Crab meat of course. I also grilled them to help reduce the fat content and they were GREAT. They would work well broiled and for those not concerned with their diet I bet they are wonderful fried. The best part is they were even better the next day. We had cooked too many. I know hard to beleive and had to refrigerate some till the next day. I usually don't like left over reheated crab cakes. The wife and I both agreed these were even better the second day. Next time we will cook them and refrigerate them, and eat them the second day. Thanks for a GREAT recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      Good, but way too spicy for me. I would cut the black pepper down to 1/4 Teasponn, omit the red pepper, and offer a spicy sauce on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      these were sooooo good!!! i'm planning on making again but as a main course (crab cake burgers.....yum!)i had a similar recipe that i had lost....i don't remember mine having the old bay seasoning, so i used my regular seasoned salt, but will try again with the old bay seasoning. i would have used it in the first place but i didn't have any on hand. thank you! update: 02/11/08 tried these as burgers on toasted sourdough with tarter sauce, tomatoes, arugula and onions and they were so yummy. made them a little larger than if they were apps. to fill the bread. will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Absolutely Delicious!! DH wants me to make again soon. I made these as the main course with broccoli and a salad. Very fulfilling. We've never been to Joe's Crab Shack so I can't say that they are similar but I can vouche that they are mighty tastey! Thanks for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      Have eaten at Joe's, but never had the crab cakes & not sure I would w/these babies around. I made the recipe exactly as written except that I shallow-fried them in olive oil. My crab mixture was fairly loose & I doubt it would have held up for deep frying. They were nicely crisped & well-seasoned w/the crab taste shining through. Thx for sharing this keeper w/us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      These crab cakes had waaaaay too much bread. I couldn't even taste the crab. The seasoning was fine. I would recommend that when making these, cut back on the bread crumbs by 1/4. I'm not sure what that would do to the rest of the wet ingredients (egg/mayonaise).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2006

      These were a little dry and not close to Joe's in our opinion. They did have a good flavor though. I will say that we used imitation crab meat because Tom is allergic to the real thing, so perhaps that dried it out?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2006

      These were wonderful. Made as directed and they weren perfect!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2006

      I made these for my son-in-law. This is his rating and he is a crab cake connoisseur! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2006

      Pretty damn good crab cakes... and this is coming from someone from Maryland.. Home of the crab cake

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2006

      Quick and easy recipe. Just the right amount of spices. I only changed one thing. Instead of flower I covered the cakes with shredded potato and pan-fried them in peanut oil. This gives them a crispy browned crust on the outside and a moist tender crab cake in the middle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2006

      yeah baby, these were awesome! I also used the panko crumbs, and pan fried in a bit of olive oil...fabulous!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      YUM YUM YUM! I agree with the other review about the small recipe change. I tried this recipe two ways - as posted and as suggested by "Hey Jude". I preferred it with the panko breadcrumbs and pan fried. I've eaten at Joe's Crab and I must admit that these are just as tasty as the ones they have there! Thanks for the recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2005

      These are fantastic. I made them as written, but used Panko for the crumbs and I shallow-fried rather than deep fried. There was just enough egg/mayo/breadcrumbs to hold the cakes together but not overpower the crab. Thanks for posting this recipe homegirl....we LOVED these crab cakes!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crab Cakes Like Joe's Crab Shack

    Serving Size: 1 (125 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 221.5
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    28%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 70.3 mg
    23%
    Sodium 1022.1 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 18.2 g
    36%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Old Bay Seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes