Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Crabby Cream Cheese Wontons (Crab Rangoon) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crabby Cream Cheese Wontons (Crab Rangoon)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on May 23, 2002

      these were a hit with me and BF! some preperation involved, but not overwhelming. and it tasted like authentic crab rangoon. i made a half batch because there were just the 2 of us...there were only a 3-4 left. these were really great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2002

      These were great. I had to half the amount of worchestershire sauce and sesame oil for my family's taste, but I made a double batch and there were only 3 left.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      The worcestershir sauce and soy sauce gave this recipe a taste that was a little too strong for me. The mix was alot. I recomend cutting it in half. Other than that they were great. Different but edible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      Wow I just mixed up the the insides, the Worcestershire is a lot but I love it so I only put in two tablespoons because that is all I had and wished I would have tasted it after only one Tablespoon. After tasting it thought HOLY COW! this is getting another 8oz of cream cheese this calmed it down some but I am thinking that perhaps the 3Tablespoons are indeed suppose to be 3tespoons. I love all the garlic and onion. In about three hours I will fry them up and get back to you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      First time I ever made wontons and family loved them!!!! Directions are very easy to follow and well written. Hubby said a big bowl of these and a football game and he's happy. I served with a Thai dipping sauce really set of the flavors

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      I'm not a fan of crab anything. However, my husband is. So, as a treat, I made these for him. I lowered the amount of worcestershire sauce and sesame oil. We added more cream cheese and pepper. I used one clove of garlic and that wasn't quite enough. We also added about a cup of rice. This is enough to probably do 2 packages of 12 oz wonton wrappers. I didn't have peanut oil as I normally use for oriental food. But, I had TONS of olive oil. So, I fried them in it. I am not sure if that effected the taste, but my husband liked it. I also only had 1/2 bunch of onions. The package of wrappers I bought said to use warm water to seal. That's how I do my eggrolls too, and it worked very nicely. http://www.homemade-chinese-soups.com/how-to-fold-wontons.html There is a video on this site that shows you how to wrap them. Watched it twice and just started folding them. They looked professional! It was great! Will be making this again! Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      I didn't make the wontons, just the mixture, and it came out pretty well! I will admit, it didn't taste as much like the crab rangoon we'd get from the local Chinese places, but it *did* come out tasting like a delicious crab dip. We served it as is with a bunch of Triscuits, and it was devoured. When next I make it, instead of a 4:3 ratio of cram cheese to crab, I'll try 2:1, as well as cutting back on some of the soy & worcestershire sauce. Excellent recipe, and one that's real easy to tweak for different folks' tastes -- thanks, melismak!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      I blew it!! I couldn't find wonton wrappers so I used softened lasagna pasta and it didn't work!!! Hopefully I'm the only dummy who thought this would work. I'll try to find wonton wrappers soon so i can make this correctly! Love -michelle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2005

      These are fantastic! Definitely do not overcook them or use lowfat cream cheese - the filling will run out of the wontons while cooking!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2005

      We fell in love with some crab wantons at a local restaurant and were paying big money for them. This recipe created just as good a wontan and it will save us a lot of money. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2005

      TY so much!!!! We love these and have been looking for a recipe... you are an angel..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2005

      These where really good and pretty easy to make! Went great with my veggie fried rice. Will make again. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2004

      The kids loved dipping these in the red La Choy sweet and sour sauce. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2003

      These tasted pretty close to crab rangoon found in restaurants. I couldn't find sesame oil and don't like onions so I omitted the oil and just added a little onion salt in place of actual onions, but they still turned out pretty good and were pretty simple to make. I will definitely make these again! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crabby Cream Cheese Wontons (Crab Rangoon)

    Serving Size: 1 (156 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 734.2
     
    Calories from Fat 630
    85%
    Total Fat 70.0 g
    107%
    Saturated Fat 14.3 g
    71%
    Cholesterol 40.1 mg
    13%
    Sodium 607.3 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 8.5 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes