Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Crispy Cheese Sticks Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crispy Cheese Sticks

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on April 15, 2007

      What a great alternative to buying the frozen cheese sticks. I used cheddar cheese and skipped the taco mix. I have to admit to making a couple of changes to speed things up and eliminate some of the oil. Instead of sticking the cheese into the fridge after the first coating for 30 minutes, I stuck them in the freezer for about 5 minutes. I also rolled them in the flour first on the second round just as I did in the first round. And, I fried the cheese in about 3 tbsp of canola oil just long enough to get them to slightly brown, and then baked them for about 10 minutes in a 350 degree oven to get the cheese melty. I didn't want to immerse them in oil or leave them in the oil so long, and found this totatlly effective at getting them crispy on the outside and melty on the inside.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      These were so good! I only had cheddar/mozz twists and they were good, but I think all mozz would be better. I don't have a deep fryer, so this is what I did: coat, freezer for 15 mins, coat again, freezer for 15, brown in olive oil in fry pay, then bake at 350 for 10 mins. I wish I would have checked them after 8 min, because my cheese ran out a little bit. They were so good, I don't need to order these out anymore! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2013

      I used panko and seasoned it with Penzey's Parisien Bonnes Herbes and salt. I prepared using Karen67's strategy. The panko might provide a less secure coating than bread crumbs, because they leaked quite a bit of cheese. But we ate every morsel and they were a huge hit with my friends.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2011

      These were so good and so much fun to make. DGSs are always ordering these when we go out to eat so decided to try them myself. They are so good and really not that hard. I followed the directions except for doubling it so there would be plenty and they LOVED them. I cooked them in my deep fryer and they were so much fun to watch them float to the top and start to turn brown. DGSs are already asking for a repeat. Now I just have to figure out the right dipping sauce to go with them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      These were great. I doubled the recipe but otherwise prepared as posted. Prepared for PAC Fall '08.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      These were great! I used Monterey Jack cheese this time, but next time will try cheddar or jalapeno jack. YUM! Thanks, Anme! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      These are yummy. I didn't use the taco seasoning, but I think it would be great to try when you are in a "spicy" mood. I did try baking them the first time without frying them in any oil, but they did not come out crisp. I then tried Karen67's method and that worked much better. Nice and crispy but not as much fat. These are a great alternative to buying the frozen cheese sticks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2007

      Very, very nice! I made this recipe as is, but another time MIGHT reduce the taco seasoning a bit! I followed the directions right down the line although I baked them rather than deep frying! Wonderful results & definitely a make-again recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crispy Cheese Sticks

    Serving Size: 1 (102 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 147.0
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    20%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 93.1 mg
    31%
    Sodium 285.5 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cheese sticks

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites