Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Crispy Fish and Chips Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crispy Fish and Chips

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on August 16, 2012

      After experiencing the same issues with another Fish and Chips recipe, we made two adjustments to this: first, we rolled the fish pieces (cod) in dry flour before the batter dip, which helped it cling; second, we blanched the fries: partially cooked them and left them to stand before deep-frying again. We enjoyed these with tartar sauce and malt vinegar; the final result was terrific! Nice crispy crust and great flavor. Made for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      Good fish and chips. I didn't have any problems with the batter and they were really good with lots of malt vinegar and tartar on the side. Thanks Rita for a nice meal. Made for ZWT8 - Great Britain.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2003

      Great batter! It clings nicely to the fish and produces a nice crispy coating. I actually cut my fish into cubes for the kids, and they loved it. We served it with garlic mayo. Thanks for a definate keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      This recipe didn't work out for me. The batter was way too thick so I ended up using almost double the liquid. It was the perfect amount of batter for the fish, but I had a lot of trouble getting it to stick to the fish. The fries never really browned, so I pulled them out and fried them again about 10 minutes later - they were amazing! Not sure what happened with the fish, but I will try it again later in a different pot with different oil to see if that makes a difference since the flavor was great. For ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      I halved the recipe and didn't have any problems. I loved the batter on the fish....very good. I soaked my potatoes in water with a bit of sugar added to it for an hour before cooking, then drained and patted them dry. Served this with a hearty dousing of malt vinegar and cooked up some hushpuppies to go with it. Delicious. Made for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2012

      Very yummy! I made as written, except that I blanched the fries before frying them. I really liked how light the batter was; just a thin coat on the fish instead of a thick and heavy layer. This was about the fish, not about breading :) I really enjoyed this meal, and I'm sure I'll make it again. Made for ZWT8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      This was my first time making fish and chips and this was a good recipe to start with! I used cod and made as directed. The batter was very tasty! Made for ZWT6 Great Britian.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      The whole family loved this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      I used haddock for the fish and let me tell you, the crust was delicious and the fish was tender and so flavorful. The chips were a great addition, and we sprinkled Malt vinegar on them then dipped in ketchup. Kids went nuts over them both, and it was a great meal for us! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      Awesome, Awesome, Awesome and Awesome! This is the most crisp fish and fry I have ever tasted. Haven't tried a fish or fry like this in any restaurant! This is just perfect. You want be disappointed to try this. Thanks for sharing this outstanding recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      AWESOME, awesome, awesome!!!! Just plain perfect!! GREAT recipe!! It did take a whole 6 oz. beer, and a bit longer to cook, but it came out fantastic!!! I used Sharon123's recipe for Old Bay seasoning, since I didn't have any, and it all turned out, well, better than ANY restaurant that's for sure!! And I'm not a fish eater, and I LOVED it!! Thanks so very much!!! Made for the ZWT4 :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      I made the fish but not the potatoes. This was very good! Thanks Rita! Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      We tried this recently and loved it! The batter was perfect. The only change we made was to the chips. We added some McCormick's Garlic Pepper to them before serving. Fantastic recipe! Thanks for posting Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

      Did not like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2006

      The kids loved these. Used cod cut into cubes. Batter coated really well,it was nice and crispy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      Just the most delicious fish, we totally loved this batter recipe! I actually did not make the Chips, but opted for a salad instead. Thanks for a great new favourite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crispy Fish and Chips

    Serving Size: 1 (874 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2574.1
     
    Calories from Fat 1988
    77%
    Total Fat 220.9 g
    339%
    Saturated Fat 28.8 g
    144%
    Cholesterol 124.6 mg
    41%
    Sodium 278.4 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 89.1 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 9.6 g
    38%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 62.1 g
    124%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Old Bay Seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites