Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Crispy Fried Onion Strings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crispy Fried Onion Strings

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on February 13, 2014

      These are just absolutely wonderful. Everyone in my family raved about them. Can't wait to have them again. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2014

      I just stumbled across this web site and was viewing this recipe and my eyes caught the calories per serving as a whopping 2517 per serving! That sounded so insane I had to check the ingredients and see if I could figure it out. What I noticed is that the two cups of oil it calls for to fry these is listed fully in the nutrition breakdown. Big error. If you pulled your onion rings out of the pan and the pan was dry, then sure, all that two cups was soaked into the onion strings and you'd have to count it. But anyone who fries knows that when you remove what you are frying from the oil, most of the oil remains in the pan. Of the oil that sticks to what your frying, some of that is blotted off as you drain/blot for excess oil. Without doing a post-frying weigh-in of the remaining oil, I'm just guessing no more that a tablespoon is thinly spread over one serving. Just a guess, but much, MUCH closer than the whole cup being figured in the 2517 calories currently logged. If you subtract that 1807 calories, figuring for one tablespoon for a serving, you get a new total of 710 calories per serving. That matches much better with other online recipes for onion strings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2013

      I just made this and they are easy and amazing! I followed the recipe EXACTLY as written. I served them with ranch dressing for dipping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      Made an account just to let everyone know the 5 star rating is well deserved hell i would give it 10 stars if i could

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      I made buttermilk using milk and vinegar and let the slices soak. To the flour I added 1 teaspoon baking powder as well as other ingredients. I am hooked. I love onion rings but had not found anything yet I could make at home and love. That was blissfully changed today! YAY! YUM! In the coating technique I did something a little different. From the milk to the flour, then into a sifter over another bowl - sifted off the excess flour and then gently tipped them into the hot oil. Makes an extra few dishes but worth it getting all the excess flour off -- making it last longer - aka MORE flour for MORE onion strings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2008

      I love onion rings, but hate making them. It's so time consuming...breading the rings and frying them in batches. This...so easy! And great tasting! They reminded me of the canned french fried onions, which I have a habit of buying just for a snack ;) The kids devoured them and insisted that I make them again soon, and use more than one onion. I doubt I'll ever make them any other way. Thank you so much! Oh, just a hint for others...watch them closely. They cook very quickly and are easy to burn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      WOW WOW WOW. Like someone else said. Just like in the resturaunts. I didn't have a sweet onion so I used 2 medium yellow onions. These were so darn good and amazing. Thank you for posting Marie. You ROCK!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      OH MY GOD! These are just like in the restaurants. LOVED THEM! I served them with stuffed hamburgers and cherry limeade. I could eat these all day long....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2007

      Fantastic! I grilled filet mingon this evening and topped it with Port Wine Reduction Port Wine Reduction and these onions! DH went nuts!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2006

      Yummy! I used a red onion. My DH and I loved them! He had to have them with ketchup. I was so tired and hungry I didn't get a photo. Thank you Marie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2006

      Oh my, these were soooo good! I made the recipe as posted and fried them in my electric frypan set at 375ยบ. They melted in our mouths! Thank you so much for posting such a yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2005

      This has become my favorite recipe for onion rings! I loved the addition of the cayenne and I did add a bit more than the recipe called for. My son and I pigged out on these. Can't wait to make them again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crispy Fried Onion Strings

    Serving Size: 1 (240 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2517.6
     
    Calories from Fat 2266
    90%
    Total Fat 251.8 g
    387%
    Saturated Fat 34.5 g
    172%
    Cholesterol 28.3 mg
    9%
    Sodium 1853.5 mg
    77%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.4 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes