17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

MMMMMMMMM! Sinfully delish!!! We are unfortunately addicted to these now. We also tried this with Oreos (very tasty) Reeses Cups (so-so) and York Peppermint Patties (not so good). Next we will try Snickers and 3 Muskateers. Milky Way is by far the best. I had seen a Food Network show (Top Five) that had a segment on these and I had been craving ever since then, and this recipe satisfied that craving ten-fold. Thanks for sharing!!! Now if I could only find a copycat recipe for Chili's Chicken Crispers, I could die happy!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbe467 June 06, 2003

Whew! I'm glad I had 30 minitues alone to do this. Was just as delish as the one I had while tralveing in the U.K. Now I have the recipe! Yay! I ate the whole sinful thing all by myself, cleaned up, and opened all the windows so no one would smell it when they came home and asked what was cooking. I will of course be making this again - when I am alone that it. This is a selfish recipe - I recomend making this when you are alone so you don't have to share it!!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mimi Bobeck February 10, 2003

wow !!
this was a real winner!
mom and everyone loved it.. =)
it tastes good wen really hot or even cold frm the fridge !!
thnx a mill
one recipe ill be using for a long time to come XXD
=)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smaiysuhu February 24, 2011

I checked out the history of this recipe on Wikipedia and the original had coconut in the batter. I added 1/4 cup sweetened flaked coconut to the batter. For the batter I adjusted the recipe a bit and used 1/2 cup corn starch (for crispiness) 1/2 cup corn flour and 1/2 cup white flour. Added a healthy pinch of baking powder too. I deep fried 8 Mars bars and they came out crisp on the outside with a nice airy batter, served with a generous dollop of Baileys Irish Creme flavoured whipped cream. We all had taste bud orgasms. So of course we made more. Wow.

I like the skewer idea and will try that next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
green-eggs-and-ham December 14, 2010

I used a candy bar I got from Cracker Barrel, kind of chocolate and caramel and crispies. I added a splash of real Vanilla and 1 Tbsp sugar and I used butter milk for the liquid. Wow, was it awesome. I am going to use if for meats with salt, pepper, onion and garlic powder instead of sugar and Vanilla. Oh, I used the extra batter and made scones, Awesome again. I can't wait to do it when the kids come home using their favorite candy bars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mel Hewitt October 25, 2009

These are one delicious heart attack!! I used 3 Musketeers and they worked well. If you're only making 1 or 2 you'll want to at least half the recipe. I made 4 and had batter left. I also put the bars on a skewer and it made the frying SO much easier!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D_quartet October 13, 2009

These were awesome! I like mars bars and I like deep fried things, so I figured they would be great when combined - I wasn't disappointed. I made 3 tonight to share with the family, which they all enjoyed but thought was pretty weird. I fried them in canola oil at around 360-400 degrees Fahrenheit until they were golden, this seemed to work out well. I have enough batter to make a few more at a later date if I feel inclined to (it might be worth scaling the recipe down if you only want 1 or 2).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kieftheman September 07, 2008

You call this a recipe? Deep fried Mars bars are great, but if you want to know how to do it, look elsewhere. Followed the vague directions as closely as possible and all the batter bubbled off instantly and the chocolate all melted into my oil so I now have to chuck it. My guess is the batter needs to be a lot thicker, and "so bread browns in a few seconds" is not a valid way to measure temperature... I was so disappointed with this half arsed recipe that i signed up just to write this :/

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
someguy546 June 28, 2015

Dear Sackville,<br/><br/>I followed this recipe tonight and was truly disappointed with the results, especially considering the amount of positive feedback. I can only see two possibilities, either we misinterpreted the vague and subjective measurements or the reviewers are completely deluded. <br/><br/>For a start the amount of batter is equated to about 50 times more than is required, the batter was barley crispy, their was no indication of temperatures to fry in, and also no warning that my oil would be left in a state that it could never be used again!<br/><br/>If I were you I would suggest looking in the mirror and taking a long hard look at yourself, because the 100 % 5 star reviews really doesn't mean you amount to anything.<br/><br/>Thanks for nothing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Azdog2006 January 03, 2014

This is a treat sent down from Baby Jesus, it is so yummy and very easy to make!! The batter is really good & I suggest the Beer for a milder flavour and the milk for a richer taste, on a seperate note this batter is the recipe i use and have for years for our Christmas Eve fondue, I add a pinch of nutmeg or cinnimon either or and you can dip pretty much anything in it and fondue, cheese, bread, mushrooms meat ect I also cut up The mars Bars in pieces, dip and fondue them at that time its a family favorite, I use the whole bars during the rest of the year

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kyla1979 July 24, 2011
Deep Fried Mars Bars