8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yes, I've actually tried it, and it comes out just like the ones I love at a local sports bar! Perhaps we're weird down here in Louisiana - but you can eat them with one of two things - ketchup or ranch dressing topped with a little bit of Tony's Creole Seasonings. :)

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mika_vumner September 09, 2002

I made this for a party today and they were a big hit! Most people had never tried them before but really liked them. I had never made these before and they were really simple. I also fried a few pepperocinis and they were great. The coating didn't stick well to the peppers but they were crispy and good. I got several requests for the recipe. Thanks for sharing it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rhondaadunn January 24, 2010

I used the recipe this 4th of July for about 40 people. The review that I recieved was large, the thought was that they were better than the "Chain Stores.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WTR July 06, 2008

My husband really liked them, I was looking for a different texture. It still made a good fried pickle, well, LOTS...I would half or quarter the recipe next time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JiliBean June 04, 2007

I love fried pickles! But for me, this recipe wasn't "restaurant quality". I followed the directions exactly, so I don't know what happened. I really tried to like it, but I couldn't. Thanks anyways!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eCCAbOO September 13, 2006

These were wonderful. Taste better than the ones I've had in the restaurants. Anyone that hasn't tried these is missing out. Thanks Julesong for such a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn February 05, 2005

I had been wanting deep-fried pickles, and did'nt want to drive the hour and a half to our favorite restaurant that makes them, so we tried this recipe. It came out beautifully. We did half-sours because I wanted a more flavorful pickle under the batter, and it worked well. Since we didn't want to just do pickles we used the same batter for jalapeno peppers, cut in half and seeds removed. They were also excellent, sweet and spicy under a cruchy, savory coating. Then we put strips of chicken in, and those were wonderful, very crunchy and tasty. We served with a dip my husband had made with sour cream, mustard, worstershire, a little bourbon, and garlic powder. He didn't measure (he cooks to taste) so good luck replicating it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cedar November 01, 2004

I really don't like pickels, but my girlfriend does. I decided to make these as a surprise for her one nite and she couldn't say enough wonderful things about them. She also kept telling me that she would have never known they were pickels had I not told her. So I decided that I may as well try one as they were a bit of work to make. WOW!!!!!!! I loved them. I highly recomend this recipie to evryone who ever does snacky-platters!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theorox September 30, 2004
Deep Fried Pickles