Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Deep Fried Tofu With Asian Plum Sauce or Thai Peanut Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Deep Fried Tofu With Asian Plum Sauce or Thai Peanut Sauce

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on May 20, 2010

      Love it. Easy to make and a great companion to many Asian sauces. I used the Hoisin-Peanut Sauce in my recipe "Thai Basil Rolls With Hoisin-Peanut Sauce". Made for ZWT #6 and I'm a Quisine Queen!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      This was okay. Nothing special, in my opinion, as far as tofu recipes go: There are more exciting things to do with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      wow...love it. I took the fried tofu cubes, added some steamfresh broccoli, poured on some bottled peanut sauce, mixed it together...yummy dinner in like 15 minutes :-) Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      quick easy and good way to use up leftover tofu! thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      This was great! I added crushed peppers to the dry marinade. The tofu could have been served on its own, but I put it on a plate with blanched broccoli and served it with the peanut butter sauce from #119671 as a dip. It was well received as an appetizer at a friend's New Year's Eve party. I recommend squeezing the tofu out using the instructions from Asian Style Savory Baked Tofu. Thanks a lot for this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      This was a Great Appetizer! Thanks for sharing! :))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

      These are tasty! I ate them with Thai Crystal Sauce. This recipe reminded me of deep fried stinky tofu that I used to eat in Taiwan, but was missing the pungent flavor and pickled veg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2008

      What a delicious way to make tofu! I didn't have firm tofu. I used med but it worked out well that way. My sesame seeds stuck just fine. That was probably because my tofu was fairly wet since it was med and not firm. I really liked the spicy peanut sauce but didn't try the other sauces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      Ooh this was fabulous! My sesame seeds didn't stick, tho. :( When the tofu came out of the frypan, i tossed it back in with the sesame seeds before serving. Everybody loved this! Made for the Asian Forum's Soy Tag 4/08.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      What a nice way to fry up tofu. The sesame seeds give it a very nice flavour. The tofu came out crispy on the outside and nice & soft inside. I served it with garlic plum sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      Excellent meatless recipe. After a week of Thanksgiving leftovers this was a welcomed change! We served these with your Thai Peanut Sauce as a dipping sauce. Be sure and use untoasted sesame seeds or they may brown too much and cook then in a deep fryer if possible to ensure uniformly browned cubes. Delicious and easy meal, Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      I LOVE this. I did make a couple of small changes to suit my tastes, though. I don't like ALL the flavor to come from the dipping sauce. I dipped the tofu in a soy sauce, rice vinegar, and mirin mixture before rolling in the dry mixture. I added some crushed panko crumbs to the dry mixture to make it a little crunchier. I fried it in peanut oil and served it with sweet and sour sauce, tasted just like sweet and sour chicken from chinese places. AWESOME! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      This is, quite simply, AMAZING. I used my own dipping sauce (a soy ginger with a little teriyaki marinade thrown in), and it is one of the most memorable homemade meals I've had! I will definitely, definitely be making this again. Though I was already a tofu lover, this brought tofu to new heights for me. Thank you so much for sharing this method!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2006

      This was fantastic- even my tofu haters tried this and liked it! Great recipe Rita! Loved the crunch the sesame seeds gave the tofu- great idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2006

      This was wonderful. I didn't have any sesame seeds, but it was really great without them. We used all of the dips and also used up some of the hoisin left in the fridge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2005

      MMmm, fried tofu! I only used 1/8 cup of peanut oil to fry the tofu and it turned out perfectly. (A trick I've learned to give the tofu more spongy texture is to remove the excess moisture from the tofu before frying. Place tofu on a cookie rack then set a heavy castiron skillet on top to weigh it down. Let stand for about 30 minutes. Proceed with recipe.) Chose the peanut sauce for the condiment. Great recipe for a quick snack, too. I want to try the plum sauce next time. cg ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2005

      Here is another 5 star rating! I made this with smoked tofu and served it with Rita's Asian Plum Sauce #99500. Mmmmmm, absolutely delicious! Half quantities is just right for serving as a main course for two.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2005

      This was great and simple to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2004

      Lovely, tasty, crispy little morsels! I loved the crunch from the sesame seeds! I served this with your Spicy Peanut Sauce #63211 and it was rich! Thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Deep Fried Tofu With Asian Plum Sauce or Thai Peanut Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (596 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 51.0
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    71%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.1 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes