Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Delicious Corn Dogs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Delicious Corn Dogs

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on August 14, 2009

    • on December 03, 2008

      These are great! I made them yesterday for my corn dog obsessed son, and he loved them. The batter is nice and thick and really stays on nicely in the fryer. These are way better than the boxed kind. The only change I made was to use regular skim milk, that's all I had, and I used organic beef hot dogs. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      I made these tonight for two twelve-year-old boys, my husband and myself. They had never had homemade corn dogs before and my husband was apprehensive. They gobbled them up and all three of them remarked on how good they were. Thanks for a great recipe that I'll be using over and over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      These were great! I normally make Alton Brown's corndogs. While they're delicious, the batter NEVER sticks to my hot dogs properly, and they're very messy looking. I made kitten's recipe, and they're so perfectly battered, they look like store bought! The flavor is excellent. The only substitution I made was that I used buttermilk instead of evaporated milk. (I had some to use before it went out of date.) Perfect!! I would have taken a picture, but we ate them all before I had a chance. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      Just like I remember getting at the State Fair! I also had to add some milk (about 1/2-3/4 Cup) to the batter. I borrowed a dipping method from Alton Brown: filling a tall glass with batter, I dipped each skewered hotdog up to the point where hotdog meets stick, then gave it a swirl to cover. Upon pulling corndog from batter I gently wiped off the excess, and laid into the hot oil. Worked great! Oh, I also used a wok; its wide open enough to allow you to lay each corndog in completely. This recipe was definitely a home-run!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      Great recipe! Easy and very tasty! I had to add more milk to make the batter thin enough to coat the sausages. Also, I used polish sausages for this. I don't have a good pot for deep frying, so I fried them in a 1/2 inch of oil in a deep frying pan. As a result, the skewers didn't fit well and I ended up making them without the skewers, but it worked just fine and they tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      These turned out great. I used a tall Tupperware container and dunked them. They came out perfectly round looking like store bought corn dogs. Next time I'll use a little more cornmeal and a little less flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2006

      Loved your recipe! I did make a couple of changes. I used buttermilk, since I had some to use up, and used cayenne instead of paprika...otherwise the same and came out good...also have to make sure dogs are very dry and Alton Browns hint of rolling in cornstarch first before dipping in batter might help to make the batter stick. I am Armenian and love the Greek and Middle Eastern stuff too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2006

      These Corn dogs were delicious and addictive.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2006

      These were great and so easy to put together...although I must say there was no way i could roll the dogs in the batter! LOL! I ended up patting it out on the palm of my hand and then wrapping the dog. I used milk on my fingers to smooth it out. I also cut the hot dogs in half and made them mini dogs since they were for a 4 year old! He loved them!!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      My husband and I really enjoyed these (and I am NOT a fan of corn dogs, until maybe now). I've always disliked the breading on the outside of the hotdog but this was perfect. I only tried this recipe because my husband loves corn dogs and he thought they were great. Just like the carnival or the theme park corndogs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Delicious Corn Dogs

    Serving Size: 1 (97 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 263.7
     
    Calories from Fat 144
    54%
    Total Fat 16.1 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 52.3 mg
    17%
    Sodium 832.4 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites