13 Reviews

I made this recipe this weekend and followed the recipe to the T. I gave the recipe 3 stars only because the chicken turned out very moist, which I find is the case any time I marinade in buttermilk. Unfortunately, we did not share the enthusiasm others had on this dish. My DH actually asked me If I had forgotten to season the chicken. We thought it to be bland. Sorry, maybe it's a Texas thing but we like our dishes seasoned and I thought it would be hot but we couldn't taste it. Ended up tossing it. Sorry, again obviously a difference of opinion and taste.

32 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Cher January 12, 2003

Let me start by saying that the smell of the marinade alone was enough to tease my senses and keep me up half the night thinking about eating this chicken the next day. Followed your instructions detail by detail and the end result was SUPERB!! Crunchy, thick, golden brown coating with just the PERFECT amount of "kick." Seasoning wasn't overpowering, but you knew it was there. The chicken itself was the juiciest, most flavorful fried chicken I have ever had!! For lack of better words...we "tore this bird up!" My son wanted me to tell you that KFC better watch out!! :) I have a feeling that this dish will be frequently requested from now on, which is just fine by me! Thanks again for this GREAT RECIPE!!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shae September 16, 2002

This chicken is wonderful! Word of caution: don't use your leftover flour mixture and buttermilk for pan gravy unless you like really spicy food!! I grew up having milk/pan gravy whenever we had fried chicken, so I figured I would use the leftover ingredients...Well whooooeee!! it was warm to the tastebuds!! Maybe if you want some of the flavor, just use some of each! Ah!! Live & learn!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EAT IN AK June 24, 2002

I made this whole recipe for only the 2 of us, because we like to have leftover fried chicken. They're aren't any leftovers!! I left the chicken in the buttermilk mix overnight, I cut the cayenne to 2 teaspoons, because I thought that might be TOO much. Letting the chicken stand in the flour mixture really helped it to adhere to the pieces. This is a very easy recipe to prepare. The flavor is outstanding!! It came out very crisp and juicy. The peanut oil was a nice touch, gave it a great taste! This is without a doubt going to be made a LOT here!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz April 18, 2002

I have always marinated by chicken in buttermilk before frying, but this recipe is awsome! I made this for my husband and his friend and they told everyone this was the best fried chicken they have ever had. I am giving this recipe to alot of wives now. It was the best fried chicken I have ever had!!!! Thank you Bev

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deb k November 10, 2002

It's true! This is the by far the best fried chicken recipe here on Zaar. It was alot of work, but well worth it. I used my deep fryer with 'pick of the chick' pack. Thanks for posting this recipe.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scott Keith October 29, 2002

Absolutely a winner! We made it a bit simpler by using the trusty old electric fry pan set at 350 degrees all the way through. Seemed to work just fine - maybe took a couple of minutes longer on the second half of the batch, but was easier that finding a frying thermometer, etc. Just pulled the leftovers out of the 'fridge and, ya know what, it really IS almost better cold!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doug2 November 03, 2002

I've been using this recipe for years. It's the best fried chicken EVER! I don't cut down on the cayenne. I know it sounds like alot.. but it's not too spicy for me. I've found that the chicken doesn't have to marinate very long to become tender and succulent. Great to take in a picnic lunch basket!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge April 20, 2002

I loved the idea of removing the skin on the chicken, though it was labor intensive using all drumsticks as I did. The chicken was juicy and flavorful, but I had too much breading on the chicken. I would try a thin coating of flour right before frying next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jules127 May 02, 2008

I came across this recipe about a year ago, and I started an account with Recipezaar just to let Bev and others know this recipe is beyond belief. I have cooked this for my family several times and they love it. The only thing I did different was use legs and thighs instead of the whole fryer chicken. Thank you for sharing a wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dopestra May 31, 2005
Deviled Fried Chicken