Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Evergreen's Sesame Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Evergreen's Sesame Chicken

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on April 17, 2010

      Fine recipe. I used 1/2 cup sugar after reading the reviews and thought it worked well. Might try it with some red pepper next time to get a little kick. Perhaps there is a difference across the country in the type of sesame chicken available at Chinese restaurants, but this did not come out even remotely like the sesame chicken we get around here. The recipe is good, but it was not restaurant or take-out quality as suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      I imagine this would be a delicious recipe it it wasn't for the sweetness. I found this too, cheek suckingly sweet. I'm tempted to make it again and quarter the sugar. While tasting it during cooking and tasting the sweetness, I added worcestershire sauce and a little malt vinegar to help stave off the sweet and it added a nice savoury aspect to the dish :).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      I can't eat wheat and can't seem to find a chicken broth without it in this country, so for the sauce I had to use water instead (1 cup instead of 1.5 water + broth). I added some pepper and chili paste and reduced the sugar to about half a cup. It still came out pretty good! I've been craving some good, American-style Chinese food for a while and this hit the spot. I hope next time I can make it with the proper ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      Very tasty! I added a sliced onion and bell pepper to the sauce just before adding the chicken. I might try reducing the sugar to 3/4 cup at the suggestion of DH. This will definitely be a regular in my home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      Wow! I was extremely pleased with this dish! All my kids loved it. Will keep on my regular meal rotation! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      This was really good. I used toasted sesame oil in the sauce, and only added a few drops. This stuff is really stong, so I am guessing the sauce called for 2 TB of the light sesame oil. I cut down the sugar to a little over 1/2 cup, and that was plenty sweet. I added a pinch of ground ginger and red pepper flakes for some heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      We loved this! Didn't think it was too sweet at all. This is a great do-ahead meal for me. In the morning, I mixed up the marinade ingredients, added the chicken, and put it in the fridge along with a separate bowl with all of the sauce's wet ingredients. Mixed the sauce's dry ingredients in a plastic storage bowl. That night, I quickly fried the chicken then poured the two bowls of marinade ingredients in the skillet, added the chicken, and dinner was ready in a flash! Didn't have rice, but served with Diced Potatoes in Soy Sauce, and everyone loved the sesame chicken sauce on the potatoes. Didn't have sesame seeds, but it was great without them. Will definitely be making this again---thanks for posting! Made for 2008 All New Zaar Cookbooks Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      This was pretty good, though I really found it to be too sweet. I will definitely make it again but with less sugar and the addition of some ginger. Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      I love this so much! I have added some ginger and red pepper flakes because I love a little more heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      Awesome. I love cooking asian food and this is one of the best. I'm so glad I tried this one. Thanks.....Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

    • on July 05, 2007

      I got one thing to say...If I had to pick a favorite recipe of Amy's thus far, it would be this one! I served this over rice, and the sesame seeds did tone down the sweetness a bit. I know because I forgot to add them with my first helping. Still, I had reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup due to other reviews. It may be a little better with their suggestion of a half of cup. I do want to help another reviewer that has a problem with whether or not to put the chicken in the marinade. I struggled with that because it wasn't stated. I let common sense take the lead and did put them together for about 5 minutes before frying. It worked wonderfully. I think sometimes I will marinade the chicken and just cook it up and eat them as nuggets! Dh and I had a hard time staying out of the pan before it was served. Thanks to Amy for a WONDERFUL recipe!!! Always, Remembering Amy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      This is an awesome recipe and surprisingly easy! I have been banned from ordering from the chinese place. I cut the sugar in half, used rice vinegar, fresh ginger and a clove of garlic. Place on top of jasime rice and steamed broccoli. Voila! I will definitely use this recipe again in the near future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2006

      This dish was very good, and after reading anothers review I did cut back on the sugar alightly. After cutting up the chicken, the recipe came together rather quickly, and was delicious. Easy enough to put together on a weeknight! I served over rice and enjoyed this alot. Thank you RE, and I will be making this again. :) Hope you are feeling better soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2006

      I have made this many times, only instead of deep frying the chicken pieces, I just sautee or pan fry them on the stove top. If guests are coming, I bake a batch of egg rolls, or whip up a batch of Rice A Roni's Fried Rice, and serve everything with steamed veggies, and extra sesame sauce. Everyone thinks it took me hours to make this dinner, when the hardest part was cutting the chicken into bite sized pieces! The best part is that everything can be done ahead, and just reheated. We also made this recipe with shrimp and beef cubes, neither of which we fried. We just marinated them in the oils and sauces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2006

      I thought this was a good recipe, though I thought the sauce was more reminiscent of sweet and sour than a sesame chicken sauce. Making it again, I would cut the sugar a good bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2006

      We tried this and were amazed. I would be hard pressed to find a better chinese style sauce. Way better than anything you would get ina restuarant. We have also sevred this sauce with Pork (I did add about 1 1/2 tablespoon red pepper flakes to this) and Shrimp (added some pineapple chunks to this), was wonderful on both. This recipe has made it in to our regular rotation of dinners. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2006

      Dh's first comment when he sat down to dinner was a question; "Did you go get Chinese?" Once he tasted it he said, "This is better than take-out." I agree. I made half a base/chicken recipe with a full sauce recipe.In an attempt to make this wonderful dish a bit healthier, I did cut the sugar in the sauce in half and next time I'll probably use 1/4 of the called for amount. The sauce is beautiful, delicious and there's plenty of it. The extra half a recipe I made will be used as a dip later on this week or I'll freeze it for use on rice at a future time. I didn't deep-fry the chicken, I just sauteed it in about 1 1/2T olive oil. It still developed a nice crust and excellent flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Evergreen's Sesame Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (319 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 592.2
     
    Calories from Fat 210
    35%
    Total Fat 23.3 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 69.6 mg
    23%
    Sodium 1268.6 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.5 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 52.3 g
    209%
    Protein 27.1 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites