14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My Kids Loved this! Talk about interesting but delicious. The batter creates a crust about the consistancy of batter used for 'fish and chips'. I cut the steak thin, don't cut too thin though. The batter keeps the meat moist and tender. My kids already asked me to make it again!

36 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wright July 30, 2002

Excellant... Everyone loved it. I added Franks Red Hot Sauce, Fresh Ground Pepper, and a dash of Lime juice. I used it for antelope tenderloin, and Halibut chunks. Deep Fried to a golden brown, lightly spicy and delicioso!!!!Easy, and not to messy. Served with Ceasar Salad and chocolate cheesecake. I paid no attention to the fat or calories. Yummy

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Deb January 10, 2003

Delicious recipe, I used rump steak in place of sirloin. Liked the addition of the garlic and onion powder to the batter. I used tongs to grab the meat from the batter and to turn, wasnt too messy. Thanks for posting.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* October 01, 2002

Another great recipe MizzNezz! It was messy, but well worth it. The kids gobbled it up.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacy34 November 03, 2003

Nummy, Nummy, Nummy!! This is a great recipe and I am sharing it with all my family members. I dip mine in BBQ sauce and my husband uses ranch dressing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oopie January 03, 2004

These were very good. They were easy to make and not that messy. Make sure you get the right cut of meat--mine were a little hard to chew b/c i skimped on the meat. Frying them was tricky b/c the 1st batch I deep-fried, then I pan-fried the rest.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gholsoti April 11, 2003

I made these again and loved them, I lowered the temperature and they turned out perfect! The coating stayed on and was perfect with horseradish dipping sauce!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nygalcooking January 10, 2009

This recipe is great! This is my second time making these and it's been well received both times. Some may think it's a little too juicy, but I think it's just right.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cllarsen November 30, 2006

This did nothing for me, but it isn't about me anymore. My kids and hubby gave it 5 stars. I will make it again, but not too often as they were a bit greasy, which I wasn't expecting ass I added them to HOT oil, expecting them not to absorb much, but they did. HA ... That is why the kids like them, all that fat! They had seconds, very unusual for my kids!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djmastermum September 28, 2005

this is escalope i think not steak any way i like both

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bany32 June 19, 2005
Finger Steak