14 Reviews

This dish is one of the best things I have ever eaten in my life! 10 stars, easy. When I reheated the scant leftovers in the toaster oven this morning, they were so incredibly crispy and delicious. The batter is magic, and works great on zucchini as well. The secret sauce compliments the other flavors perfectly. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jane Galt37 January 08, 2011

This recipe made it into book#234156! FABULOUS!! If I could give this 10 stars, I would. Some comments from my family: "This is delicious" ; "I LOVE it" ; and a two thumbs up because someone was too busy eating to talk. In my opinion, I did not think the recipe was at all difficult or time-consuming to put together. I recommend putting together the sauce and prepping the topping ingredients before starting on the fish. Don't skimp on any of the suggested toppings - the combination is what really makes this whole recipe stand out. The sauce is EXCELLENT...love it. I used plain greek yogurt (low fat) along with the mayo, jarred chopped garlic & fresh cilantro. Other notes: 1. For 4 people, I halved the fish & batter amts. but left the sauce amt. the same - it was perfect. 2. We tried it with both corn and flour tortillas and everyone here voted for the flour tortillas (the corn tasted too dry and was too crumbly for us). 3. Cutting the cod into "index finger size pcs" is a great recommendation. It seems too small at first, but once dipped in the batter and fried they are plenty big. 4. I used Killians Irish Red beer and loved it. 5. I didn't have Mexican oregano so I used Italian and it was fine. 6. I used canola oil for frying to make it as healthy as possible. This recipe will be made again and again. So yummy. Thank you! ~Made for Aussie/NZ Swap~

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood December 30, 2008

Just like a big fish, this recipe is a "keeper". I live near the bay in S. Texas and we fish a lot. In the summer months, we have a constant stream of visitors every weekend who want to fish, and of course we have to cook the day's catch when we get back. This is one way to cook fish that everyone that has visited loves.(We usually catch Speckled Trout which is a more delicate fish, but I have no problems with it.) I love it because it's easy to make most of it ahead of time so I spend little time when we come back tired and hungry. Just heat the oil, batter the fish and done!<br/>We have lots of seafood restaurants here and I have tried the fish tacos at all of them. This is by far the best I have eaten. The 'secret sauce' is so refreshing and pairs perfectly. Thank you cookiedog for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoneStar*Lori June 07, 2013

I have made this a half a dozen times and never remembered to rate it!! I would give it 10 stars if I could! My kids love to eat fish this way, much healthier than fish n chips, as is the 'norm' here is Australia. The secret sauce is THE BEST and I've put it on spicy chicken tacos too! You must try, this will surely tempt your taste buds!! SO YUMMY!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Madonna 66 June 22, 2010

I made these for my son's birthday party since I had invited over a group of huge fish lovers and we were doing a Mexican theme. I prepped these the night before and re-fried the next night so they were hot. I was afraid no one would touch them since everyone had had so many appetizers, but I couldn't believe how quickly all of them disappeared! Thank you so much for this recipe - it's certainly a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mona Sen April 26, 2009

I made these today. Since the recipe said it could be done ahead of time, I figured I'd get a jump on dinner. I couldn't help myself...I had to try one and it was lunch time. I will agree with everyone else....10 stars! Monday is our try " Something New " day. My family always cringes when I announce a new dish, but usually loves the outcome. We have never tried fish tacos. I can honestly say I can't wait for them to come home for dinner tonight! These were fantastic! I used my own cayenne pepper I grew last summer and had dried. I wish I would have added a bit more of it because mine were not very hot. Next time I will double all of the spices in the batter. Maybe even add some peppers to the secret sauce. I used tilapia because I had plenty of it. I did cut the fish a bit too big but that will be a easy fix at dinner time after the second frying. Overall FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!! I already know what my family will say at the end of dinner tonight....DO OVER!!!! That is the code for " WAY TO GO MOM "!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aweebitsilly February 09, 2009

Incredible! I agree this one is a 10-star recipe. It tasted just like the fried fish tacos we get at taco shops here in Southern California. We served on corn tortillas - corn is more authentic, and the trick is to get fresh ones (made that day), and use two for each taco so it doesn't get soggy. We used NA beer, and tilapia for the fish. We were all surprised at how simple the sauce was, but how tasty! It was a lot of work, but fun to make.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
appleydapply February 08, 2009

Just finished these for dinner....all I can say is that everyone else is right....these are SO SO GOOD ! I think I did everything according to the directions except I added a sprinkle of cayenne to the sauce. I will put this recipe on the top of the list from now on.......and I encourage everyone to try it. Donna I am adding to my review to say that I reheated the left-over fish the next day (just put them under the broiler until they were hot). They were just as crispy as when first made, and I am going to use this batter for fried fish from now on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnie27 December 18, 2008

These are a really delicious fish taco! The batter was so light and airy, and all the suggested toppings went with it really well. I didn't have any beer so I used club soda, and I used sourcream in place of the yogurt. I also just added a little lime juice and taco seasoning to the secret sauce and it came out really good. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetcakes June 25, 2011

These were great, but I think I'll spice up the batter next time. You really do need to fry them twice. Also try adding a minced chipotle to the secret sauce, and serving with mango salsa - it takes it to another level. Thanks for the keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz June 21, 2011
Fish Tacos - Baja Style