Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Flawless Sesame Chicken (Restaurant Style) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Flawless Sesame Chicken (Restaurant Style)

    Average Rating:

    201 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 201

    Sort by:

    • on March 06, 2011

      This was GREAT! However, DO add 1/4 tsp onion powder and 1/8 tsp of garlic powder to the sauce. Other reviewers said they thought that something was missing and I think that was it. Thank you so much for this recipe, I've tried other highly rated chinese recipes from this site with huge disappointment. This was delicious and my kids and DH actually ate it all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      This was an excellent dish but i would make a few changes the next time i make this.. which is why i gave it 4 stars, instead of 5.
      i substituted half honey and half sugar for the sugar completely, but next time i will substitute all of honey for the sugar. Also, 2 tbsp of sesame oil was alot.. so next time i will only use 1 tbsp.
      The marinade was enough for only 2 breast pieces, but there was enough gravy for 3 breast pieces. So i'll be increasing the marinade to be enough for 3 pieces. i didnt have any chilli paste on hand so used chilli sauce instead.
      Thanks for the recipe Princess! This will be made often in our house!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      hells yeah, this recipe makes deliciousness happen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2012

      I have discovered something new and amazing about this recipe!
      When you add Balsamic Vinegar instead of white vinegar, and crushed red pepper instead of chili paste, you get GENERAL CHICKEN. Good general chicken, too. I love this recipe!


      It's amazing. My boyfriend thought a bit more vinegar was needed, but I loved it. It tasted a lot like the kind of "chinese" food you'd expect from an americanized restaurant, but sometimes that's what you're in the mood for, and it is definitely restaurant quality.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      Very yummy! I made some small changes. I halved this recipe for dinner tonight. I tossed the marinated chicken in flour after marinating 25 min for extra crispiness. I stir fried in about 2 tb vegetable oil (plenty of sesame flavor still). And I used a little less then a cup of honey instead of sugar but, next time I will start with 1/2 cup honey since I had to add a little white vinegar to make it less sweet. And I used 1/4 cup rice vinegar. DH and I both really enjoyed this meal and will be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      I don't love Chinese food but my husband and I really enjoyed this dish. I thought the flavor of the sauce was great! I took the advice of others and used red pepper flakes (1 tsp) and only did 1/2 c. sugar for the sauce and it was plenty sweet. Also, I didn't want to buy a whole thing of sesame oil for the 2 Tbs called for in this recipe so I just ground up some sesame seeds in a spice grinder and added the powder to vegetable oil. My only warning with this recipe is that your kitchen is kind of a mess afterwards:) Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      This recipe is really great. My family loves it and it is a new favorite. I don't deep fry the chicken. It makes a lower fat meal. Instead I coat the chicken with a little cornstarch and cook it in a pan with about 2 tbsp of olive oil.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      Today I made this for a church social, everyone loved it and wanted the recipe!!! I did a few little changes to make it my own. After it marinated for 2o minutes I then coated it in flour before frying. Made it a little more crispy. Also for the sauce I only added 1/2 cup sugar, added 1/4 cup brown sugar and added 1 1/2 tablespoons of chilli sauce instead of chilli paste (couldn't find it). Almost forgot... I added a little steamed broccolli to the chicken and sauce mix then served over rice and sprinkled with sesame seeds! I made alot of this (x5) and it was all eaten and they wanted more!!!! Big big hit!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      This tasted good, but not like what I get at the restaurant. Maybe if the chicken were tossed back in to cook with the sauce for a little while at the end? I also found it just a little too sweet (I used about 2/3 cup of sugar).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      This recipe is delicious. I didn't have any chili paste, so I used chili sauce instead. Also, I only had olive oil on hand, so I just fried them in a little olive oil. I ended up using the full cup of sugar. I tasted after adding only a half cup, and the flavor wasn't overly sweet, so I used the full cup. I also used slightly over 1/8 cup of the rice vinegar. I will definately be making this again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      Like you need another 5 star review of this recipe! :) This was excellent. Like a lot of reviewers I didn't have chili paste on hand so I subbed a decent squirt (about 1 1/2 tsp) of Sriracha. This was much sweeter than many other Sesame chicken recipes which was exactly what we were looking for. Also the recipe makes plenty of sauce so I would suggest not doubling the sauce till you try it once. Thanks for sharing this great recipe! Update 7-9-09 I have now made this several times with the listed ingredients and it's the bomb! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      Was excited to make this with all the good reviews. I love Sesame Chicken but this wasn't even close to the way I've had it...so it was quite a disappointment for me, but, my DH really liked it so I'm giving it 4 stars for him.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2014

      My family really liked this recipe. I added the onion and garlic powder as well as some red pepper flakes. My Husband wants me to add some citrus flavor to it next time, either pineapple chunks or a slash of orange juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2013

      Really, really great tasting recipe! I wish I could say I followed your recipe to a "T", but lacked a couple of ingredients. Did the marinade as instructed but added a little garlic powder, but let go for about 4 hours as we were watching a football game (sure didn't hurt the taste! lol). I put all ingredients together so as to make cooking a little easier (marinated meat separately, put sauce together, you know). I also coarsely chopped a large onion and sauteed till soft because I love onion, put aside and then fried my chicken. Made the sauce as instructed but didn't have the chili paste (had everything else), so used dried red pepper to taste and a couple of blops of ketchup. Also used honey & brown sugar to taste. I didn't think anything at all was missing in taste for this recipe and did not find it salty at all. My biggest problem was to quit eating the chicken pieces while my sauce cooked, it was that tasty! Poured the hot sauce over the chicken and reserved onions. Served with rice and green onion. Tender chicken, just the right sweet and hot taste. So glad I found your recipe, Thank you, Petite Mommy, I'll make this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2013

      My son, the picky eater, loved, loved, loved this. It is very delicious. The only thing that I did different was that I followed likeithot's advice and added the onion and garlic powders to the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2013

      This was great!! Very similar to the restaurant style sesame chicken. However, in the marinade I used water instead of the cooking wine/dry sherry. In the Sauce I used 1/4 cup rice wine vinegar, and not quite 1/2 cup sugar. I also added ground ginger to the sauce. It was a little sweeter than I like but perfect for my husband. I paired it with my own recipe for Lo Mein. My husband said this recipe is a definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2013

      I made it just now! I didnt put in the chili paste or sesame oil and i fried it in canola oil and it was still AMAZINGGGGG

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2012

      I'd rate the chicken marinade highly. Those taste-tested good right out of the oil. The sauce quantity comes no where near the proportions & the taste is a bit off. I'll just make the sauce with a different recipe next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2012

      Very good sesame chicken! It was a bit of an experiment as I did try and follow the advice of other reviewers as well as getting it to work with my pantry. I didn't have chile paste or sesame oil so I used chile oil instead which worked really well. In addition, I lightly fried this in a skillet with a couple tablespoons of olive oil which gave them a similar texture with a little more work. All in all, I recipe I will be hanging on to as everyone loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2012

      I've made this recipe many times, and it always comes out great! I also use 1/2 cup of sugar rather than a full cup, and I usually substitute red pepper flakes for the chili sauce; makes it kind of a cross between sesame chicken and general tso's. My husband and I love this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Flawless Sesame Chicken (Restaurant Style)

    Serving Size: 1 (437 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1051.4
     
    Calories from Fat 415
    39%
    Total Fat 46.1 g
    71%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 185.6 mg
    61%
    Sodium 1912.9 mg
    79%
    Total Carbohydrate 89.9 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 67.2 g
    269%
    Protein 66.8 g
    133%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes