202 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was GREAT! However, DO add 1/4 tsp onion powder and 1/8 tsp of garlic powder to the sauce. Other reviewers said they thought that something was missing and I think that was it. Thank you so much for this recipe, I've tried other highly rated chinese recipes from this site with huge disappointment. This was delicious and my kids and DH actually ate it all!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
likeithot March 06, 2011

This was an excellent dish but i would make a few changes the next time i make this.. which is why i gave it 4 stars, instead of 5.
i substituted half honey and half sugar for the sugar completely, but next time i will substitute all of honey for the sugar. Also, 2 tbsp of sesame oil was alot.. so next time i will only use 1 tbsp.
The marinade was enough for only 2 breast pieces, but there was enough gravy for 3 breast pieces. So i'll be increasing the marinade to be enough for 3 pieces. i didnt have any chilli paste on hand so used chilli sauce instead.
Thanks for the recipe Princess! This will be made often in our house!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K's December 20, 2010

hells yeah, this recipe makes deliciousness happen

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bubonic Plague November 02, 2010

I have discovered something new and amazing about this recipe!
When you add Balsamic Vinegar instead of white vinegar, and crushed red pepper instead of chili paste, you get GENERAL CHICKEN. Good general chicken, too. I love this recipe!


It's amazing. My boyfriend thought a bit more vinegar was needed, but I loved it. It tasted a lot like the kind of "chinese" food you'd expect from an americanized restaurant, but sometimes that's what you're in the mood for, and it is definitely restaurant quality.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
corelila June 04, 2012

Very yummy! I made some small changes. I halved this recipe for dinner tonight. I tossed the marinated chicken in flour after marinating 25 min for extra crispiness. I stir fried in about 2 tb vegetable oil (plenty of sesame flavor still). And I used a little less then a cup of honey instead of sugar but, next time I will start with 1/2 cup honey since I had to add a little white vinegar to make it less sweet. And I used 1/4 cup rice vinegar. DH and I both really enjoyed this meal and will be making this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coreybro1 January 17, 2011

I don't love Chinese food but my husband and I really enjoyed this dish. I thought the flavor of the sauce was great! I took the advice of others and used red pepper flakes (1 tsp) and only did 1/2 c. sugar for the sauce and it was plenty sweet. Also, I didn't want to buy a whole thing of sesame oil for the 2 Tbs called for in this recipe so I just ground up some sesame seeds in a spice grinder and added the powder to vegetable oil. My only warning with this recipe is that your kitchen is kind of a mess afterwards:) Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
run for your life June 16, 2010

This recipe is really great. My family loves it and it is a new favorite. I don't deep fry the chicken. It makes a lower fat meal. Instead I coat the chicken with a little cornstarch and cook it in a pan with about 2 tbsp of olive oil.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cinamonlips June 07, 2010

Today I made this for a church social, everyone loved it and wanted the recipe!!! I did a few little changes to make it my own. After it marinated for 2o minutes I then coated it in flour before frying. Made it a little more crispy. Also for the sauce I only added 1/2 cup sugar, added 1/4 cup brown sugar and added 1 1/2 tablespoons of chilli sauce instead of chilli paste (couldn't find it). Almost forgot... I added a little steamed broccolli to the chicken and sauce mix then served over rice and sprinkled with sesame seeds! I made alot of this (x5) and it was all eaten and they wanted more!!!! Big big hit!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
9-rotties March 28, 2010

This tasted good, but not like what I get at the restaurant. Maybe if the chicken were tossed back in to cook with the sauce for a little while at the end? I also found it just a little too sweet (I used about 2/3 cup of sugar).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pedspeech March 16, 2010

This recipe is delicious. I didn't have any chili paste, so I used chili sauce instead. Also, I only had olive oil on hand, so I just fried them in a little olive oil. I ended up using the full cup of sugar. I tasted after adding only a half cup, and the flavor wasn't overly sweet, so I used the full cup. I also used slightly over 1/8 cup of the rice vinegar. I will definately be making this again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheila36 October 04, 2009
Flawless Sesame Chicken (Restaurant Style)