Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Fortnum and Masons Authentic Scotch Eggs With Sausage and Herbs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fortnum and Masons Authentic Scotch Eggs With Sausage and Herbs

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2010

      Oh FT! Childhood memories brought to life. Marvellous. I made the recipe, exactly as written, and sat outside and snacked them up. Superb. I had this or a very similar egg over 50 years ago with my grandpop. My grandmama would fry them on the stove and then he and I would steal as many as we could carry and go to the garden to eat them, dipping in a hot yellow sauce which was no doubt Colemans. I became the owner of her cast iron pans and her huge fry pan is what I used to fry them; it added a lovely taste to the memory. Thank you so much for helping me relive a sweet bit of my childhood. Scotch Eggs rule!! BB

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

      These went over very well and were a great way to use up hardboiled Easter eggs. I had italian sausage, already seasoned, so I omitted all of the herbs but the onion. My husband is gluten-free, so I substituted sweet rice flour and gluten-free breadcrumbs.

      DO cook the sausage-d eggs for the full 8 minutes. I pulled some of mine early because the breading was looking too dark, and they were still pink on the inside. Oops!

      It is also MUCH easier to form the sausage jacket if you wet your hands first. My sausage was really sticky, but a little water on my fingers kept it on the egg where it belonged.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      These Scotch Eggs are delicious. Served with garden salad and crusty loaf of French bread. I used all purpose flour, 1/2 lb. sausage meat, 1/2 cup Panko bread crumbs, and nutmeg. For the chopped fresh herbs I used 2 teaspoons each of parsley, sage, and thyme which equals the 2 Tablespoons chopped fresh herbs. Great directions and enjoyed reading the history of the recipe too. Another recipe for my favorite zaar recipes binder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2011

      These are wonderful. Prior to making them, I'd only tried them once,at an english pub in Florida ( yeah,yeah,I know). Those were just okay, but I knew they could be so much better. I was right-they could be, and these are. Thank you French Tart for not only posting this well written recipe, but also for the history of these wonderful eggs. Thanks too, to Barefoot Beachcomber for sharing your memory of having these with your grandfather. I almost felt that I was in that garden with you. Aren't food memories great?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      Yummy! These were so fun to make and really tasty! My hubby said, "Sausage, Egg... all we need now is cheese." That got me thinking... maybe next time I will wrap the egg in cheese and then put the sausage around that! Either way... this recipe is a keeper! Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      Oh, yum. Really, really good. I wanted to do a scotch eggs recipe using quail eggs and the fact that you suggested that very thing made me pick this one. I discovered that if you double the recipe you can do about 12-18 quail eggs. My brother had never tried scotch eggs before and after one bite was addicted (I warned him). This is a lovely, easy, straightforward recipe. I'm keeping it for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2014

      These eggs are absolutely delicious. Do yourself a favour and make them. This is the first time I have eaten a Scotch Egg, but it won't be the last.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2010

      this is by far the best scoch egg we have ever made and eaten.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      I love Scotch eggs! They were a mainstay when I was doing Atkins. I used the house brand sausage, but I have to admit that this is WAY better! I like the fact that the fresh herbs used are your own preference! And about 3 weeks ago, I started buying my eggs from a friend's ranch. I will probably be making these a lot in the future! Thnx, Tart, for sharing your great recipe! Made for the Voracious Vagabonds and ZWT 6.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Terrific just terrific, haven't had these for years. LThanks for the reminder and the great classic recipe.. ralph

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

    • on April 16, 2012

      mine fell apart haha. but i am a novice!! and i will keep practising ! they still tasted great, my 5 year old loved them! x

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      Great flavors in the eggs. I made four but two of the four eggs fell apart so had to use much more meat to keep them together but everything came out fine in the end. Served with a spinach, romaine salad with mustard dressing. Lovely on this very warm day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      Had to make this, I have loved these since I was a child but had not made them in years. Excellent recipe. SO very happy to find it again, I wont loose it again. ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fortnum and Masons Authentic Scotch Eggs With Sausage and Herbs

    Serving Size: 1 (135 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 314.6
     
    Calories from Fat 187
    59%
    Total Fat 20.8 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 245.1 mg
    81%
    Sodium 532.1 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 17.2 g
    34%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh herbs

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes