Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Fried Calamari Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fried Calamari

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on December 18, 2002

      This an excellent recipe, CG. It's Calamari Fritti, the real thing and absolutely delicious. No calamari fan should miss this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2004

      The canary sings! A delicious recipe; I eliminated the egg and just used cornmeal to bread, and it worked wonderfully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2003

      We tried it last night and all liked it. It tasted so delicious yet very easy to make and simple to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2012

      We loved this recipe! It is very easy and delicious. The only change I made was to add some cajun spice to the plain breadcrumbs as well as a bit of salt. Served these with a marinara sauce and a sweet chili sauce for dipping, so it was quite an international meal!!! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2012

      I had trouble getting my oil hot enough on the stove to cook these properly but they were still delicious. I think part of the quality will be the type of bread crumbs though, so choose carefully the kind you like. We made this with http://www.food.com/recipe/chipotle-aioli-117297 and it was over the top delicious. The calamari was good without any dip as well, but I really like mine dipped in spicy aioli and this was the perfect recipe combo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2012

      My first time to cook calamari and using this recipe they turned out tasty and tender. I used panko breadcrumbs with good results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      Good recipe, but you should avoid salting the bread crumbs prior to frying. Salt breaks down the oil and much of it will end up being washed off by the oil. It's best to salt immediately after frying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      This is a good basic recipe. The kids loved them. Tom liked the batter, but thought it needed more spices. I wasn't a fan of the batter (but I prefer the tempura type). Overall, it was good, just needs a few little tweaks for us :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2008

      My grandson's( 11 & 6) loved them, as well as myself. Not to spicy- just perfect. The 6 year old helped in preparation and thinks he is "Bobby Flay". Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      I messed up the first batch. After that, they were perfect. Mine needed a bit more salt, Umph, maybe some cayenne, herbs, spices, will tweak, husband says, GREAT potential, kids looked and ran :) but they are small, and loved everything else.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2005

      Real good! I left out the garlic at hubby's request. This was part of our Fried Night Menu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2004

      Awesome recipe for all calamari fans out there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fried Calamari

    Serving Size: 1 (98 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 207.0
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    20%
    Total Fat 4.6 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 181.2 mg
    60%
    Sodium 252.7 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 13.3 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites