Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Fried Fish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fried Fish

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on June 30, 2011

      Ive tried several different batters and this one was the best. The fish is nice an crispy. I just added a little more beer to thin it out as I didn't want bready. Came out awesome. Thanx Chef!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      Lovely! I am not much of a fish lover, but my husband is, but amazingly enough, we BOTH loved this recipe. Please consider revising the ingredient list to: safflower oil (for frying, 1 gallon) so that the entire gallon's calories don't factor into the nutrition facts. This recipe is a keeper and worth cleaning the kitchen for!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      This is the 1st time I've tried fried fish, and let me say...it was a HIT!!! My in-laws were over and I was nervous about trying a new recipe, but it turned out great :) I used 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper, but next time I'll use 1 TBL because we LOVE the kick! I also used about a 1/4 a bottle of canola oil instead of safflower oil in a frying pan instead of a deep fryer. And, oh yeah, I also used a Hef bottle of beer instead of brown beer and it was great! Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      Honestly, we didn't really care for this fish. It puffed up to almost twice its size on frying. Just too much batter, and I let quite a bit drip off before frying. It made good onion rings though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      Absolutely perfect! A+ So yummy and not at all greasy! The beer gives the batter a nice flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      My husband and I made this with whiting filets, and it turned out great. The batter was light and crispy. Since we didn't have dark beer, we used American light beer, and it still tasted delicious. We will definitely be keeping this one around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      Steve, thank you for posting this Alton Brown recipe. Crispy, light and flavorful batter made the 2lbs of pollock I served to my BF and guests a delicious meal. I am using this recipe from now on. I threw away my other fried fish recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2006

      Made this last night with Alaskan Pollock. It tasted better than I thought. DW and I compared it to Long John's fish batter. It was messy but well worth it. I am keeping this one for when we go camping this summer in case anyone catches anything. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe. Oh yea, tried it with onions... ooo that was good to, DW made sure there were none of those left.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2006

      This is just a WONDERFUL recipe! I found some nice, fresh pollock fillets to use and WOW I think this turned out to be the best batter-fried fish I ever had! I even did some onion rings in the batter and they reminded me of tavern-style onion rings. You want to slice the onion rings a little on the thick side. OH--and I dredged the onion rings in the corn starch just like the fish -- both turned out perfect. (Note: I would make sure the fish is thawed completely and drained very well of too much excess water. Another note: I wouldn't use fish fillets that were too thin.) THIS RECIPE IS A KEEPER!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fried Fish

    Serving Size: 1 (330 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 842.7
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    11%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 228.5 mg
    76%
    Sodium 1962.6 mg
    81%
    Total Carbohydrate 103.5 g
    34%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 76.2 g
    152%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Old Bay Seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites