57 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The Okra was wonderful! First time I've tried it. I mixed flour and cornmeal added a tbsp of Tony Chachere's Extra spice and let it get golden brown and crisp. I was surprised that it took about 20 minutes. I hummed 5 choruses of the Yellow Rose of Texas while cooking. Thanks Mark UPDATE: Mark you have made a true believer out of me! I have made this recipe about 4 times now and really enjoy it. We don't get super fresh Okra all the time but when I see it I buy it. I couldn't add another 5 stars but it sure deserves it. Thanks for adding another veggie to my dinner plate. Most important Mark I don't use 1/4" of oil I just spray the skillet with lite olive oil and then as needed spray again as they are cooking - I do this perhaps 3 times during the cooking

48 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy April 17, 2002

Having always loved fried okra, I never thought about using anything but cornmeal. The combination of flour and cornmeal, as well as the idea of using just flour, was a new idea to me. Thanks, Mark

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elizabeth Fullerton September 25, 2001

I liked using this cooking method with both cornmeal and flour. The okra turned out so crispy with no sliminess at all! I did use some cajun seasoning in my flour as well as the cornmeal to add extra flavor. A fantastic recipe! Thanks, Mark!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau March 26, 2003

We love fried Okra, Grew up in Oklahoma, Lived in Texas and Clovis, New Mexico. We grow Okra & I freeze it, I dip it in egg then the flour and corneal mixture. My mother also made it this way. YUM

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz March 03, 2003

I am a believer now!! We tried okra several times before and never liked it. There was no slime!!! The okra was lovely and crunchy using this coating. Used 1 lb fresh okra and some spicy seasoning. Thank you Mark!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pets'R'us March 03, 2003

Great recipe. Love fried okra. I mixed the flour and cornmeal together, worked really well and had a nice flavor.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl October 16, 2002

Just had to add my thumbs up to the fried okra. I grew up eating it and my family loves it. I use a mix of cornmeal and flour stirred together.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blueberry August 16, 2002

Mark after all the bad press Okra has gotten I just had to try your version of combining flour and cornmeal. I myself have always just used cornmeal but I really did like the texture and crispiness that the mixture produced. I also used a little Tony Charcheres for a little kick. Really GOOD STUFF Mark! And yes DH and Kids love it too! Keep an Open mind. Don't say EEEEEWWWWWWWW till you try this okra!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Cher August 15, 2002

No problems finding the fresh okra..Mark its very good!!...or was that with the help of the 1/2 bottle of wine I drank whilst preparing???...kidding!!..I enjoyed it...thanks for sharing..had it alongside Recipezaars fried chicken..which is also a 5* recipe IMHO...and NO slime!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* October 18, 2001

Ahhhh, it has been decades! Like...5 of them. :-) I had forgotten how wonderful fried okra is! What I had on hand was medium grind cornmeal, so I used that...but next time I shall use fine grind. (I didn't use flour.) Nevertheless...thank you! for posting this. I echo VenomousKate...a wonderful reminder of childhood!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbryT August 31, 2009
Fried Okra