Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Fried Okra Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Fried Okra

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on April 17, 2002

      The Okra was wonderful! First time I've tried it. I mixed flour and cornmeal added a tbsp of Tony Chachere's Extra spice and let it get golden brown and crisp. I was surprised that it took about 20 minutes. I hummed 5 choruses of the Yellow Rose of Texas while cooking. Thanks Mark UPDATE: Mark you have made a true believer out of me! I have made this recipe about 4 times now and really enjoy it. We don't get super fresh Okra all the time but when I see it I buy it. I couldn't add another 5 stars but it sure deserves it. Thanks for adding another veggie to my dinner plate. Most important Mark I don't use 1/4" of oil I just spray the skillet with lite olive oil and then as needed spray again as they are cooking - I do this perhaps 3 times during the cooking

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2001

      Having always loved fried okra, I never thought about using anything but cornmeal. The combination of flour and cornmeal, as well as the idea of using just flour, was a new idea to me. Thanks, Mark

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2003

      I liked using this cooking method with both cornmeal and flour. The okra turned out so crispy with no sliminess at all! I did use some cajun seasoning in my flour as well as the cornmeal to add extra flavor. A fantastic recipe! Thanks, Mark!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2003

      We love fried Okra, Grew up in Oklahoma, Lived in Texas and Clovis, New Mexico. We grow Okra & I freeze it, I dip it in egg then the flour and corneal mixture. My mother also made it this way. YUM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2003

      I am a believer now!! We tried okra several times before and never liked it. There was no slime!!! The okra was lovely and crunchy using this coating. Used 1 lb fresh okra and some spicy seasoning. Thank you Mark!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2002

      Great recipe. Love fried okra. I mixed the flour and cornmeal together, worked really well and had a nice flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2002

      Just had to add my thumbs up to the fried okra. I grew up eating it and my family loves it. I use a mix of cornmeal and flour stirred together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2002

      Mark after all the bad press Okra has gotten I just had to try your version of combining flour and cornmeal. I myself have always just used cornmeal but I really did like the texture and crispiness that the mixture produced. I also used a little Tony Charcheres for a little kick. Really GOOD STUFF Mark! And yes DH and Kids love it too! Keep an Open mind. Don't say EEEEEWWWWWWWW till you try this okra!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2001

      No problems finding the fresh okra..Mark its very good!!...or was that with the help of the 1/2 bottle of wine I drank whilst preparing???...kidding!!..I enjoyed it...thanks for sharing..had it alongside Recipezaars fried chicken..which is also a 5* recipe IMHO...and NO slime!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      Ahhhh, it has been decades! Like...5 of them. :-) I had forgotten how wonderful fried okra is! What I had on hand was medium grind cornmeal, so I used that...but next time I shall use fine grind. (I didn't use flour.) Nevertheless...thank you! for posting this. I echo VenomousKate...a wonderful reminder of childhood!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      I just use cornmeal but I know this is exactly like my grandmother made and its FANTASTIC. Even hubby who's a devout okra hater likes it cooked this way - not to slimy and it has a really good flavour. We like it served with Tabasco or other hot suace.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      Thanks for the recipe! We'd never tried Okra before (its not that popular in Sydney) and an American friend of ours suggested frying it. So I searched, found your recipe and it was very good, thanks. I look forward to sharing this with my vegetarian sister-in-law!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      Excellent. I'm not sure how one could improve on this recipe. Simple and delicious. I did add some seasonings to the flour/cornmeal mixture, but being Southern, that's to be expected.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      This was very good. The consistency of the batter was great. The reason I'm not giving it five stars is because we felt it needed something extra - some seasoning salt, perhaps. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      This was great! Picky hubby gave it a 5. He said it's better than a lot of restaurants. I used frozen okra, thawed and patted dry a bit. I added Lawry's to beaten egg and more to the corn/flr mixture (combined them in one bowl), and some pepper. I cooked in a wok, which made it easier to brown. All I had to do was jiggle the wok, since it's curved, no muss! I did notice I had to cook higher than med. heat, closer to 7/8 on my electric stove. Once done, I sprinked a bit of table salt over them, and served immediately. Bet it's even better w/fresh okra. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2003

      I just have to add my 5* to the list. I made this several days ago, made as directed except added a touch of crushed red pepper. This is the best.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2003

      i used frozen okra and mixed the flour and corn meal together. this was simple and delicious - even my dog liked the okra! (he was looking for me to accidently drop some more on the floor the rest of the time i was cooking!) i kept the fried okra warm and crisp in the oven (real low) while making other batches. i'm not a big salt fan, but tend to garnish my fried okra with it quite a bit. note: leftover fried okra doesn't reheat well and never tastes as good as it does fresh out of the oil/oven (in my opinion of course).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2014

      Very good. Followed the recipe. Used fresh okra picked this morning and also took out some frozen I had from my garden. The fresh picked was perfect. The frozen was good. I'll try some Tony Chachere next time around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2014

      I love fried okra but don't do it myself and I moved some place where they don't sell them already made. These are easy and I should have done this a long time ago. I dredged them in flour, egg, and cornmeal. That worked out well. I didn't read the reviews but I wonder if I couldn't just put them in a bag with cornmeal at the end and shake 'em. It was really easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2013

      Was a bit bland...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Fried Okra

    Serving Size: 1 (82 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 209.0
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    21%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 155.0 mg
    51%
    Sodium 66.7 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    okra

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes