Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / General Tso's Chicken (Tso Chung Gai) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    General Tso's Chicken (Tso Chung Gai)

    Average Rating:

    144 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 144

    Sort by:

    • on October 16, 2002

      FABULOUS. Worth the effort, though not as easy as a 20-min prep recipe may seem. Set your kitchen up like a kitchen show, with all the ingredients ready beforehand and you'll be ready to wok and roll! Doubel the sauce recipe and you'll be evn happier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2003

      What a fantastic recipe, this was so good my husband will not take me out to a Chinese restaurant anymore!!!! We had this in restaurants but I thought this was better. With many Chinese dishes I don't achieve "that restaurant taste" I did with this one!! Worth the effort, thank you so much for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2002

      We LOVED this dish. It is just as good as the General's Chicken we get from our favorite local Chinese restaurant. Yum! Yum! : ) mmm29

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2002

      I always have to at least double all my recipes, because I'm never sure how many teenage boys will be showing up to eat. There were three here tonight plus my husband and myself. Everyone raved. Easy recipe to put together, very easy to vary the amount of heat. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2003

      Restaurant quality! I have gone to a lot of different chinese restaurant and some dont even come close to this one. Family thought it was a take out and when they found out I made it, they were impress. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2003

      Oh my goodness, what a recipe!! It turned out wonderful, thank you Sue L!! I would recommend leaving out the salt in the first part- it was enough without. Highly recommend this recipe! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2003

      This is another one of those "wish I could give it more than 5-stars" recipes. Really great recipe, a little bit of effort to prepare, but so worth it. Honestly the best General Tso's chicken I've ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2002

      THANKS! My daughter and I love General's Chicken but I have never tried to make it (I thought it would be to hard). I can not wait to try this recipe (I will have to wait for hubby to be gone for the evening He does not like chinese!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2002

      This is delicious! My husband was so impressed. I can't wait to make it for company. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2002

      One of my favorite dishes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2003

      This is wonderful, except a bit time consuming. The other drawback is the huge quantity of peanut oil at $4/12 oz. I think the sauce (5 stars)is what makes it, and I will try stir frying the chicken next time rather than deep frying. The spicyness and the hoisin sauce set this above the rest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2003

      Amazing taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2003

      A little time consuming to make. But wow!!!! What a awesome dish!My teenager devoured it.Said it was just like a chinese resturant dish.Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2003

      Very good. Everyone ate every scrap, including my usually picky teenage daughters. And even better than the version from our favourite takeaway - I shall definitely be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      Firstly, it was good but with some changes. It is not really general tso's chicken but still ok. Add some szechuan pepper and chinese 5 spice to the slurry (cornstarch chicken marinade). Also for those complaining about it being too salty - you must use DARK soy which is not as salty as let's say kikkoman or light soy. Also if you quickly fry the garlic and ginger before adding the rest of the liquid ingredients it improves the flavour. Doubling the sauce is good but you need the cornstarch/water mix at the end to thicken. You don't need to deep fry -just keep batches small. It is all pretty quick - I don't understand people complaining about it being too much work. Also instead of broccoli would be good with red peppers added in to the stir fry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2003

      Absolutely fabulous Sue! I am never disappointed with your recipes! This takes a bit of work, but is SOO worth it! The flavor is out of this world. It's easy to prepare, just a little putsy. This will definately be company fare around here. Thanks for another awesome recipe Sue! We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2003

      Absolutely incredible, Sue! This was so much fun to make! I used sunflower oil, because I thought I had peanut oil, but was out. Otherwise, I prepared as suggested. Next time I will definitely make double the sauce, which is marvelous! And I will not add salt, the soy sauce was enough for me. Thanks for a lovely supper, Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2003

      Last night we had an OUTSTANDING meal! This dish is worth more than 5 stars. Here are a few changes I made to the recipe. We used the deep fryer for the chicken - with 80% peanut oil and 20% vegetable oil - only 'cuz I ran out of P.O. We divided the chicken into 3 batches and since our fryer doesn't maintain the temp as well (because we fry outside and it's winter) it took a few more minutes to cook. Dusting each piece of chicken would have taken WAY too long so I took a shallow dish - put corn starch in, topped with chicken and then sprinkled corn starch on top - rolling to coat. You will you use more than 1T of cornstarch but even with our heavier coated method it doesn't even come close to the heavily breaded chicken you will get in the restaurant. We are sauce people and after reading other reviews decided to double the sauce recipe - next time I will make 4X the recipe - we would have liked more sauce for our rice! The steamed broccoli was a perfect addition to this recipe. Try it! A note to someone who maybe hasn't cooked with the red peppers - they are for FLAVOR - don't eat - or you will be in pain - my dh knows this from a previous experience! This dish is going to be made regularly at this house - actually I'm already dreaming of eating it again. Thanks for such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2003

      Very good and easy to make. Will definitely make it again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2003

      This was delicious! I have tried many recipes but this was the very best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for General Tso's Chicken (Tso Chung Gai)

    Serving Size: 1 (236 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 235.7
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    23%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 141.1 mg
    47%
    Sodium 1040.5 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 27.8 g
    55%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rice wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites