Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Grandma's Southern Fried Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma's Southern Fried Chicken

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on August 11, 2007

      Absolutely OUTSTANDING, hence the 5 stars! I would give it 10, if I could. This is, by far, the BEST chicken recipe out there. Great job, Wildflour, on your concoction. I made chicken breast strips for the family, prepared following your instructions for the cut-up broiler-fryer chickens. I marinted for just two hours and coated the strips in the dry ingredients and then put them back into the buttermilk/hot sauce and once again into the dry ingredients. The strips were nicely crisped. The chicken was moist. The seasonings were right-on. No dipping sauce needed. Thank you for giving us a new family-favorite way to prepare chicken strips. Try this one; you won't be sorry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      Wow, yum! This is great. The buttermilk really does marinate the chicken to create a really lovely moist and tender result. For us I used about 1 kilo of breast fillets cut into bite size pieces. Instead of one bag of flour mix I made up two and took the chicken from the marinade into the first bag, shook it off then into the drained off buttermilk then into the second bag of flour mix and onto the baking paper to sit. I served with baked potato gems and chicken gravox.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2012

      I used chicken tenders and they came out great! Breading is incredibly tasty. I used a little less garlic powder and cut seasoned salt down by half. My kids loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      Excellent recipe Wildflour. I didnt have the Italian seasoning so I substitute 1 teaspoon of thyme and increased the cayenne red pepper to 1 teaspoon. Everything else is the same. The chicken came out moist, tender and the crust is SO good!! Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      Yum yummmmmm!!! We loved it down to the last wing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      Exceptional Southern Fried Chicken! I threw away my other recipes and this is my standard recipe now! Because it was so moist and flavored so well, it went over like gangbusters with my family! Thanks for this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      This is a great recipe! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      Excellent chicken!!! Perfection all the way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      Great flavors in the crust and chicken with all these great ingredients. We loved it. Made as the recipe instructed and the chicken came out full of flavor, tender moist and not greasy. We absolutely loved it! Cindy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      LOVED IT! The flavor is perfect and the chicken was very moist. I had to double the flour and spices and used up every bit. The only problem I had was that the skin fell off the bottom part when I transferred the chicken to the plate. Thank you for a keeper Wildflour! Made for Comfort Food tag in the Photo Forum, please see my rating system.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      I followed to recipe exactly except for double dipping. The finished result was great! Well seasoned and a great taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2007

      I had some chicken strips and I wanted something besides the usual fried chicken recipe,and I came across this recipe.And,I'm glad I came across it.:)As I was reading the recipe,I thought that three teaspoons of seasoning salt was too much so I only used 1 1/2 teaspoons.I increased the chili powder to 1/2 teaspoon and increased the poultry seasoning to 1/2 teaspoon.This was really very good,thank you for posting."Keep Smiling:)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      I don't think I've ever had so much trouble deciding how to rate a recipe. So I'm wimping out and just offering a 'comment'.... I brined the chicken (a 'dry' brine of salt only for 2 hours) and then marinated in buttermilk overnight. If anything, this should have *improved* the results. After that, I followed the recipe and instructions exactly. The result was incredibly 'mixed' (which is why I am commenting instead of rating). Soggy, soggy crust! The texture was simply awful. BUT -- the taste was really fabulous! Yes, I do know how to fry chicken properly. The oil was hot enough. And I alternately left the lid on and took it off. I'm wondering if the problem was caused by the 'double dipping'? I've never done that before. I have another package of chicken, so I'm going to try again. The seasonings are perfection, so maybe it was my bad...? Will update.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      I used diced chicken breast.... This chicken tuend out lovely and crispy on the outside and moist and tende on the inside... my kids actually asked me where i bought it from lol.... this is definately a keeper... thankyou so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2007

      Oh boy is this recipe dangerous! I could have eaten all the chicken myself thank god my friends were over for lunch too! I used boneless skinless chicken breast and it worked just perfectly. This is my new go to recipe for when I make fried chicken. Made for ZWT 3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2005

      Excellent recipe. I had to cook slightly less time since I only used legs and thighs. Another keeper recipe, and it also gave me a reason to use the season salt that I had in the back of the pantry. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2005

      Absolutely perfect! Been looking for this ALL MY LIFE!!! The directions are so easy to follow (especially for someone like me, who isn't very good at deep-frying in a skillet yet)! I believe the buttermilk and the hot sauce marinade is the ticket! This is MY keeper -- the one I will impress my sisters with! Thank you so much for posting this, Kelly, and thanks more than anything for the easy to follow directions! (I needed that!) Stacy :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2005

      This is the same recipe that I have used for years...crispy outside and moist inside..there's none better!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma's Southern Fried Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (215 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 740.5
     
    Calories from Fat 388
    52%
    Total Fat 43.2 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 12.3 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 212.8 mg
    70%
    Sodium 296.2 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 56.6 g
    113%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites